DVD HOME CINEMA SYSTEM

Product Reviews

RRP

€ 170.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
44

3.7 based on 44 customer reviews

15
15
6
4
4
Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sehr kompakt

DAV-TZ140 01/25/2015 by Jan 17 (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Für den Preis kann man nicht meckern.....Sehr gute Ton Qualität und sieht auch noch schön aus.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

BRAVIA sync. sollte es sein

DAV-TZ140 12/01/2014  (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Die Anlage hat einige Mängel. BRAVIA Sync wird scheinbar sehr weitläufig ausgelegt. Hier sind viele Funktionen nicht mit dem Fernsehgerät machbar. Bedienanleitung GLEICH NULL:

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

44 Customer Reviews

0

great product

DAVTZ140 06/22/2022 by atena64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the sound the unot has and the picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Il fait le job depuis 7ans.

DAV-TZ140 03/20/2021 by MartialOnVtr (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Acheté il y a 7 ans, ce petit home cinéma filaire fonctionne toujours bien. Audio pour les films et les jeux, lecture de CD Audios (oui, j'en ai encore...). À son âge, il ne lit pas les blueray et n'est pas connecté (pas de wifi, pas de bt), mais il a la radio ! Aujourd'hui, d'autres produits Sony le remplace.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

0

0

Good but not Great ....

DAVTZ140 09/05/2020 by ARNOB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good but not Great ....Sound Quality not match my expectation

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice Sound Clarity

DAVTZ140 04/07/2020 by mrsJGG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This unit came installed in a brand new camper that I purchased. I was so happy to see Sony, a name I am familiar with and a brand that has always seemed to surpass my expectations. This product so far has been just as great as all my previous Sony products. Super easy to use. The sound is nice and loud and provides plenty of bass from the sub for my likings. It definitley doesn't have too much bass and it doesn't distort. It is very pleasing to the ears, You can feel the music or feel like you are in the movie you are watching with the surround sound. The sound quality is nice and clear. I have no problems understanding the words to music or understanding what people are saying. It is great. I only wish it was a bit smaller of a DVD unit but that is just a personal preference. Thank you, Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/08/2020

Hi mrsJGG, Thank you for sharing your experience with your Sony DAVTZ140 audio system. We are glad to hear you are enjoying the product. Cheers! -Sam

0

good

DAV-TZ140 09/30/2018 by matunda (USA)

I bought this 5 yrs ago and am so happy to have it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Not bad

DAV-TZ140 07/18/2018  (USA)

Good products. Sounds Good. Base too DVD lagging. .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

thats cool

DAV-TZ140 09/17/2017 by Mangudai (USA)

Please guys help me. im using in my PC. but its not full connection. so what i do?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

21

0

Home Cinema System

DAV-TZ140 05/13/2017 by JohnFF (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this system because my old one was showing its age after 20 years of good service. Because I had recently bought a Sony TV, I decided to buy a Sony Surround Sound System to go with it. Both are excellent products and they work well with each other, setting up was simple and all I had to do was buy a cable to connect the two products together so that when the TV is turned on it activated the audio system on the Home Cinema System. Now we can enjoy music and DVD's, we can even take music and pictures from our PC's and play them through the TV and Home Cinema System. Brilliant.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Excellent, worth buying

DAVTZ140 03/17/2017 by LITU (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent performance, so easy to install compact, sound vibrant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Basic, but competent

DAV-TZ140 09/18/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a smart-looking, straightforward system that offers rich bass surround sound. Used a headphone jack to phono lead to connect with my optical only Sony TV. Not cutting edge, but seems fine to me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Home cinéma

DAV-TZ140 03/10/2016  (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Article acheté qui se présente idéalement avec d'autre produits Sony. Idéal pour usage de salon ou de jeux vidéo

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

3

0

0

Great product.

DAV-TZ140 01/26/2016 by Paulfh (Ireland) Verified Purchaser Verified

No optical cable so i had to use the headphone jack

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

very good system

DAV-TZ140 10/14/2015 by fab3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i brought this system to go with my sony tv and they work great together

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Adequate, with some niggles

DAV-TZ140 09/12/2015 by jeffas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has replaced a number of separate devices: CD player, DVD player, radio receiver, hifi amplifier, and to that extent has been successful. It has *not* replaced my very old, big, Celestion Ditton 130 speakers, as the sound quality was noticeably (although not dramatically) inferior with the Sony speakers. There is no balance control, which is annoying, as my TV is not central to the room, so I would like to be able to move the sound centre point. Volume control is good, with fine adjustment possible. Radio reception is not good. I am not in a good reception area, but there seems to be no facility for connecting a better aerial which could improve matters. The first unit I received had a very noisy CD/DVD drive, and also had audio time-lag when playing DVDs, so it was returned. The replacement did not have the time-lag. The CD/DVD drive is still rather noisy, but not as bad as the first one. Multiple inputs would be useful. I am using an external input switch which gets round the problem, but inbuilt inputs would (presumably) be remote controllable.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

6

0

happy with unit

DAVTZ140 08/17/2015 by JimBay (USA)

Love the way it plays and sounds with a dvd. Surround is good for the price. Only thing can't get surround sound to play with a movie on tv

16

6

Response From Sony Support
08/21/2015

Hello JimBay! We would like to recommend to try the steps available, though the following link to be able to enjoy surround sound also with the content viewed through your television:

http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/tutorial-display.pl?tut_id=1003&mdl=DAVTZ140

0

not happy

DAVTZ140 07/27/2015 by russell120 (USA)

dvd works great cable stations have no volume 1 year old tv has no red and white audio out just opitical out which is not supported any help

8

12

Response From SonySupport
07/29/2015

Hi russell120, we regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectation. This unit has the following input and output ports:
- USB Port
- HDMI Output
- Composite Video Output
- Analog Audio Input.
To verify the supported connections of your television, please check out the manual or contact the manufacturer of the TV for further assistance.
We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback.

0

USB Port Isn't Working

DAVTZ140 06/18/2015 by Lyris (USA)

The USB port in my system doesn't recognize any USB port or flash drive that I put in it. It starts loading, then after a few seconds it says "stop". I can't listen to music that is on my drives and I'm disappointed.

30

13

Response From Sony Support
06/21/2015

Hello Lyris! We would like to recommend to make sure that the USB flash drive is formatted to FAT32 before attempting to connect it the USB port of this unit to allow the unit to detect the content properly:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/34223/p/46871,74233,74650/c/65,66/kw/USB

0

Not what I was expecting!

DAVTZ140 06/07/2015 by Franny56 (USA)

I just opened my new (and what I thought was a wireless system) and it's not at all what I want!! Sending it back tomorrow!!

3

50

Response From Sony Support
06/09/2015

Hello Franny56, thank you for your message. That is unfortunate the Home Theater System did not meet your expectations, but unfortunately the unit is not wireless.

0

Like it but disappointed

DAVTZ140 05/11/2015 by Mickey99 (USA)

My last Sony Theater System had the receiver stop working for not apparent reason so I went and bought a new system and I am a little dissappointed, or I don't know how to use it fully which I am hoping is the case. My previous system had a connection where I could play my ipod, iphone, android...anything with a speaker jack. This one has a usb but when I connect my phone it doesn't recognize it. Please tell me I am doing something wrong.

9

4

Response From Sony Support
05/13/2015

Hi Mickey99, we're sorry to disappoint you with this one. The use of the USB port is for USB devices like a flash drive loaded with music, etc., you can still use your apple/android devices using the headphone jack on the device and to the audio IN on the back of this unit. You will need an audio cable with an analog jack on one end and a headphone jack on the other end.

0

DVD Home Cinema

DAV-TZ140 05/07/2015 by chazzmonkey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just under a month ago and am very happy. The sound quality is very good, good bass and clear sound effects. i have mine connected to my PS4, which wasn't an easy task and required a digital optical cable, which I sourced and afterwards I had no issues. I would recommend the product however, it could be improved if it came with at least a HDMI cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

4

0

Spanish CC and no remote

DAVTZ140 05/01/2015 by ThisIsMyNicknameNow (USA)

A friend gave me this but it doesn't have a remote. I'm wondering if I can program a universal remote to be able to control the device? It has Spanish CC turned on and I can't figure out how to turn it off simply using the buttons on the front. Other than that it's great. I'm hoping Sony will see this and point me towards being able to buy a replacement remote.

0

5

Response From SonySupport
05/02/2015

Hi ThisIsMyNicknameNow,
Please visit the link below for further assistance.
https://sony.encompass.com/

0

weird coming from sony

DAVTZ140 04/17/2015  (USA)

speaker of the back makes an unusual noise and interference sometimes when I connect the audio output to the tv fm rather hear the sound of the movie . The volume is not very high but I find acceptable. The dvd reader began to fail recently, play some records and puts a message on the screen of something rare player. I have a time and with but I have used at most 20 times , he wore but my ps3 to see Bluerays . If I can help, can reset the device to factory work ?.

0

4

Response From Sony Support
04/20/2015

Hi Leonel, Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you for your feedback. In the meantime, yes you can try resetting the device and also try disconnecting and reconnecting the speakers.

0

Quality of sound good but not loud enough at all

DAVTZ140 04/07/2015 by mo92 (USA)

I bought this system for my living room and it was not loud enough. On the dolby setting with max volume I have trouble hearing dialect in a movie. Packing it up and going to upgrade.

2

3

Response From SonySupport
04/10/2015

Hi mo92,
Well, that’s not what we like to hear. Let’s see how we can improve your experience. Please, contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com so that we could assist you. Thanks.

0

tuner + que décevant

DAV-TZ140 03/26/2015 by luckyluque (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

J'ai acheté ce produit au debut de ce mois.... La reception FM est quasi nulle! J'espèrais que la hotline me renseignerait pour le branchement d'une antenne extérieure .... Je ne sais où trouver une fiche compatible Sony non plus ?

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

2

0

Disappointing!

DAV-TZ140 03/22/2015 by ryangiggs567 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not compatible with anything, lack of features and any thing to make it special. Far better alternatives.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

4

0

Sehr kompakt

DAV-TZ140 01/25/2015 by Jan 17 (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Für den Preis kann man nicht meckern.....Sehr gute Ton Qualität und sieht auch noch schön aus.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

4

0

0

bon produit

DAV-TZ140 12/26/2014 by fredo63 (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

la notice est trop sommaire. j'ai du avoir recours à l'assistance Sony pour raccorder au téléviseur Bravia Sony déjà relié a la box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

5

2

0

Tolles Produkt

DAV-TZ140 12/22/2014 by roland1975 (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tolles Produkt, leicht zu bedienen und guter klang

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

4

0

0

BRAVIA sync. sollte es sein

DAV-TZ140 12/01/2014  (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Die Anlage hat einige Mängel. BRAVIA Sync wird scheinbar sehr weitläufig ausgelegt. Hier sind viele Funktionen nicht mit dem Fernsehgerät machbar. Bedienanleitung GLEICH NULL:

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

Good speakers for the price

DAVTZ140 09/15/2014 by andynaik (USA)

I bought these speakers along with my TV and got them for around 40 dollars less, I think they were on sale then. For the price, they deliver well. Some people complain about the low volume but I found it sufficient for a average sized room. My only complaint is the long wires. I wish I had bought wireless speakers since the wires look pretty ugly especially for the back speakers. I would suggest buying wireless speakers

4

1

Response From Sony support
09/19/2014

Thank you for your feedback. I will forward this to the proper department.

0

fantastic system

DAVTZ140 09/14/2014 by gofastdieyoung (USA)

this system, like all my sony products, has provided excellent sound for the price. a great value.

3

3

0

great

DAVTZ140 08/19/2014 by jimbo22 (USA)

great product for the money.

1

1

0

compact and solid features

DAV-TZ140 06/03/2014  (United Kingdom)

Happy with the product using it in a 4 x 6 meter room it has adequate power

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

3

0

cool

DAVTZ140 05/13/2014 by maitland (USA)

I Like it alot

4

5

0

super 5.1 home theater for price!

DAVTZ140 05/09/2014 by hipdog (USA)

This system is great for my apartment! I bought this online when they had sale over christmas in target stores wasn't quite sure of even buying it at first But then sony still had it on sale in they're online store with free shipping and since I recieved the 5.1 system in febuary it has been working great so far. volume has a little weakness in T.V. mode from cable hook-up,But when playing a movie the sound in dolby is alot louder and better!!! Also has good upscaling of dvd's to 1080p.

6

2

0

WILL GIVE SONY A SECOND THOUGHT BEFORE BUYING ANY

DAVTZ140 05/07/2014 by DREAMPRINCE (USA)

CHANGING CD s manually is outdated.the remote control is therefore useless

3

12

Response From Sony
05/13/2014

We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. I'll pass what you've said onto the proper department. Thank you.

0

Great sound Improvement-Great price

DAVTZ140 05/05/2014 by VVreview (USA)

Really enhances sound of otherwise tinny TV speakers. I was surprised how much better it made the sound experience.

16

1

0

Awesome Buy!

DAVTZ140 05/04/2014 by Seeker1777 (USA)

This is one of the best buys I've ever made! Great home theater system!!! Great sound! Awesome FM Tuner Plays CD, DVD's !!! Sony is the best name in sound!

5

3

0

Worth the Money

DAVTZ140 05/03/2014 by mtmorris7775 (USA)

Wish it had a Audio in for ear phone play

2

3