Skip to Content

RRP

€ 520.99

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
14

4.5 based on 14 customer reviews

8
5
1
0
0
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14 Customer Reviews

0

Nice good quality deck

PS-HX500 10/13/2017 by pmc7070

Got this deck because of the reviews and found that it does the job really well. The deck is solidly built and doesn't take much effort to get it up and running. The downside is that the software, for Apple users is hopeless. No matter what I've tried to do after recording a track nothing will write to files. I have had to record and save using Audacity.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I wanted!

PS-HX500 09/26/2017 by Keeto45

Loving my re-entry to the world of vinyl! Thanks Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great looking deck

PS-HX500 07/19/2017 by Sumo64

I bought the HX500 a month ago, mainly so I could enjoy the resurgence in vinyl and also enjoy my vinyl collection from the 80's. I wanted a good quality product to go with my Technics SU-V500 amp (20 years old but still a top amp) without breaking the bank, so after some research I felt the HX500 ticked all the boxes and I'm happy to say I'm not disappointed. The deck is simple to set up and the the instruction manual is easy to follow. When first playing a LP I noticed the speed wasn't in sync, it was slightly faster than should be. The manual troubleshooting section didnt cover this but I found customer feedback information on the internet explaining there are adjustment screws on the underside of the deck. Its a bit tricky to do but I managed to make adjustments to the correct speed. I'm puzzled why Sony dont include this in the instruction manual, the adjustment screws are not in an obvious place and so easy to go unoticed. I've since noticed the odd record appears to 'slow down'. I'm not sure if this is a problem with the deck or a power supply issue, but I'll keep my eye on it and contact Sony if it persists. Apart from being a great looking deck, which should still look good in 10-20 years, the best feature is the excellent sound quality. Its crystal clear and plays the true quality of vinyl through my Bose soundlink mini speaker. The only negative is the the tonearm isnt automatic so at the end of play you need to manually lift the arm back to the rest. I havent yet used the recording feature so cant give any feedback on this. Overall I'm very happy with the product and I think its good value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So Far So great

PS-HX500 06/27/2017 by PaddyJ

Have this about two weeks now and so far it's lived up to the hype. Very very nice machine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mixed feelings - some great, others not.

PS-HX500 05/22/2017 by JohnL44

Having been into both vinyl and SACDs for many years, I jumped at the chance to digitise my vinyl collection to 96kHz 24 bit PCM via dsd for much more convenient listening. The quality is pretty good but, and it is a big BUT, the amplitude during record mode is too low, meaning that the final PCM wav files use way less than all of those 24 bits. The peak amplitude during recording rarely exceeds -12db meaning that at edit/write time the maximum 6db gain always has to be used and up to 6 more are really needed. So, amp volume during replay has to be very high just for a reasonable volume, but despite the wasted high bits, the quality is pretty good. I am having intermittent problems where one channel goes to zero volume, but too intermittent for repairs yet. I have put the question 'Is the low record mode peak amplitude a problem with my deck or intentional (the recording guide pdf shows much higher amplitudes in the screen shots)' to the Sony help desk, but they just ignored the question. They seem a waste of time. So, good, but could be fantastic!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Very slick and heavy

PS-HX500 02/01/2017 by DV5717

i bough this record player a couple of weeks ago and only started using it today. fist thought: Feels Solid and there is finesse about it that shows that the designers have done their job right. As for Sony's High Res recorder nothing but praise. Works better than any other app I have tried in the past 15 years, my only bugbear is that it has no automatic return at the end of the recording but other than that full marks

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Great for money!

PS-HX500 01/11/2017 by Arvy807

Simply for use. Nice look. Good sound. Worth every pounds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Hi-Res turntable

PS-HX500 01/07/2017 by willma

I would like to have seen a detchable headshell to use even better cartriges and stylus. Plus the switch from line to phono, nearer somewhere for easirer reach, and the arm lift better to see probably white.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Great looking

PS-HX500 01/04/2017 by Compaq

Best simply looking, great sound, easy to setup up...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for vinyl to digital

PS-HX500 01/01/2017 by Boris1

Excellent for transferring vinyl to digital, easy to insert breaks and to insert artist and track titles. The quality of the digital conversion is also very good. Easy to remove any noisy intervals between tracks too. Great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Plain but Stylish

PS-HX500 09/16/2016 by Chat123

Love it, but it needs the volume cranked up to really make it come alive but it's a joy to use. I was a little worried about the assembly, but I shouldn't have been, it was so straight forward. Personally I feel that the word, Sony, should have been placed on the front, opposite end to the Hi res logo. A little bit of Brand snobbery me thinks. I have played both new and old vVnyl with superb results from both. The old had taken some punishment back in the day, and I was really, and I mean really surprised how clean the sound quality was. I'm going to rip some High Res files, but not yet, I'm going to carry on using it for what it was made for, playing Vinyl.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5

0

Elegant minimalism, adequate sonics, solid build.

PS-HX500 08/16/2016 by Mutthusio

Upon opening my Sony PS-HX500, my first impression was that this is a notably solid, sleek and premium feeling turntable. It fills a curious gap in a resurgent vinyl market: as either a top-end entry-level turntable or as the first steps into higher-end audiophile territory. If you’re looking for either then the PS-HX500 is likely to deliver exactly what you want. With no auto-play you have to manually cue records, but if you can slip a record out of its cover you can cue it up, so don’t be shy. Indeed, therein lies its more premium edge: you get to twiddle with a counterweight and fiddle with anti-skating, welcome elements which enhance playback, can improve the life of your records, and are not found on more basic record players. As such, the PS-HX500 is a little more tricky to initially set-up than less expensive preset models, but you’ll be up and running quickly enough. The balance between ease of use and being able to fine-tune your equipment is struck well. The instructions are clear and the operational dial, tone-arm, cueing lever, platter and dust cover are intuitive and well-made. I have my PS-HX500 set-up with the supplied internal preamp running to mid-range Hi-Fi speakers via the line-out and have no complaints. Of course the sound you get will depend on your set-up, system and speakers, but for me playback is clear and has body and presence. If you are a committed audiophile used to set-ups that roll well into serious expense then this is unlikely to tick all of your boxes, but it may well get an appreciative nod as a turntable that pulls its weight and delivers well for its class. The average listener (such as myself), I suspect, would not notice the difference between this and a much more expensive turntable (especially without additional premium peripherals). I have, however, noticed an improvement in sound and playback experience compared with more budget lines. The fitted moving-magnet cartridge serves well and the supplied rubber slip-mat, 45 adapter and cables are high quality. Visually this turntable is splendid modesty: a well proportioned geometric treat. If you are not open to minimalism then you are unlikely to be considering this turntable, and there are many other more exuberant and high-tech styled turntables out there. The plinth is solid MDF with a matt-black effect coating. There are speckles of gloss, as noticeable in some other photos, but the effect is actually (of course) rather subtle - personally, I was not disappointed at all. It is also worth noting that the PS-HX500 is rather heavy (at least compared to cheaper plastic models), hovering around 3.5-4kg, which adds to its gravitas. I can’t comment on the digital recording process - for me it is a redundant extra on a turntable I bought for competent analogue playback and modern subtle aesthetics. But I suppose it's nice to know it's there if I need it. I don’t have enough knowledge to comment on the potential for upgrading this unit either, save the cartridge or running to an external pre-amp, which should be easy. Some PS-HX500 components are less or more expensive than others, and some may wish to spend a little more on future upgrades, but as a whole this turntable is tight and I’m happy to stick with it as is. In terms of cost, this turntable has to be considered in comparison to similarly classed turntables. There are likely more affordable models, however the PS-HX500 comes with a beautifully understated design on top of a strong audio performance and a very solid build. Anyone will have to make a decision between these qualities and the price. If you want a reliable, good-quality turntable with more than adequate sonics, and are drawn to the PS-HX500 for it’s sublime visual simplicity, I would suggest you get on-board. It is a delight to use and a delight to own and I have yet to find anything else that delivers quite the same package.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

1

0

My Sony PS-HX500

PS-HX500 06/13/2016 by Boring Malc

First, the deck was quite easy to set up, but with one proviso. My amp has a photo input, and I spent nearly half an hour wondering why I was getting terrible sound. Then I noticed in the manual the output switch. Now I knew the deck had a switchable output, but I didn't expect it to be set to Line by default, I expected it to work out of the box with a phono input. Maybe this could be made clearer in the manual. Anyway, once I had the deck working, there was some hum that the earthing lead couldn't entirely cure. Eventually I gave in and (setting the switch first) plugged the deck into a Line input on my amp - hum gone, so quite possibly it was my amp had too sensitive a Phono input. Still, now I could audition the deck properly. I have a reasonable CD player, feeding through a highly respected external Digital to Audio Convertor (DAC), and I feel a little let down. I couldn't tell the difference in sound quality between the (supposedly) inferior CD and (supposedly) superior vinyl. The vinyl gave me clicks, some vinyl roar, short playing time and (only when I looked at the spec of the deck) a surprisingly poor Wow And Flutter of around 0.25% - I expected a figure of around 0.15%, so was a bit disappointed for the money. I don't know if this is clearly audible, but on long synth notes there is definately some variation in pitch, although watching the arm when playing there is some in-and-out movement, so it could be the record is not perfectly centred/pressed poorly. Anyway, on normal music this is not noticable. I've recorded a couple of LPs into my computer and am pretty satisfied with the results (I used 96KHz/24-bit as a compromise between quality and file size). This enabled me to edit out clicks and trim tracks, and although the recording level appears a bit low, on one of my singles the wick has been turned up and the track is recorded loud (Can/Silent Night 7"), so I can see why Sony made this recording level fixed - I've not gone into the red yet...! On the whole, despite my niggles, I am pleased with my new record deck, and am glad I bought it, even though I won't be using it for most day-to-day music listening (I have over 2000 CDs, and about 30-40 LPs/singles). It'll mainly be used for archiving LPs that aren't on CD, as well as listening to them. The way the hi-fi mags go on about superior sound from vinyl, well I just didn't hear it. I may even go so far as to say there not a lot in it, and certainly for day-to-day use the silence of CD (no clicks, no vinyl roar), the less of a hassle actually playing a disc, and the longer playing time without turning over/changing discs (80 mins on CD compared to a max of about 25-30 mins on LP), keep me firmly welded to the silver disc. Still, at least I have a record deck again, and it's available should the need arise one day...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

27

12

0

Breathing new life into vinyl

PS-HX500 05/16/2016 by iano

There are plenty of turntables on the market for ripping of vinyl but in most cases it's a question of quantity over quality when ripping and none use their own proprietary software so there is a learning curve when recording. The PS-HX500 addresses all those issues - it is badged as Hi-Res Audio and quite rightly so. Playing vinyl is a joy. The ripping software is exclusive for this deck and although at first it looks basic it does a fantastic job of recording vinyl and retaining the warmth and sound of vinyl, particularly if done in DSD. I'm sure it does a fine job with the lesser sound formats but to me this deck is to preserve my vinyl collection. Highly recommended and well done Sony for coming up with an evolutionary product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

36

23