RRP

€ 320.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
10

4.6 based on 10 customer reviews

7
2
1
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great value great features.

STR-DH550 06/18/2015 by TobyC

Bought this to replace an old receiver that died and I'm very pleased I did. Very simple to use and set up. My only gripe is the speaker connections, with so much blank space on the rear panel I would personally like the red/black connectors spaced a little further apart so as to make it easier to connect the speaker cables. Overall this is an excellent product and exceptional value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Value - Poor instructions.

STR-DH550 05/31/2015 by Bobcaller

The product is competitively priced and has all the features I need for home cinema. It is let down badly by the lack of printed handbook, I hate having to use a computer to read instructions. The on line Help Guide is not that great as it fails to describe the "sound fields " adequately, but goes into great length on simple things. However it is what I needed to go with my Bravia TV and blue ray player.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

10 Customer Reviews

0

Really good sound

STR-DH550 04/25/2016 by FossyB

Bought this to replace a theatre sound system that didn't decode DTS, therefore checked the specification carefully this time. Teamed up with Jamo speakers and Jamo sub woofer this unit sounds fantastic. Setup was easy. My only complaint is that no instruction book was provided, I know it is available online but when you just need to find out a small point it is a pain having to go online to look it up. If it was in PDF format at least it could be printed in full.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great A/V Receiver that belies its budget price

STR-DH550 01/17/2016 by Walnut Eater

Very impressed with the build quality and performance of this receiver. Does everything I need for my home viewing/listening. Particularly like the HDMI pass through that works in stand-by so I don't have to watch everything in booming surround sound and I can just use my TV's speakers. ARC has enabled me to cut down on the spaghetti of A/V leads too! The on-screen GUI is a bit "no frills" and plain but it's simple and easy to understand and navigate. I also like the USB port on front which can charge and "talk to" my Ipod. Overall I like the simplicity and ease-of-use and fact it does the basic and core things very well. It may be missing some of the more esoteric features of expensive models but this will do nicely for 95% of people I reckon.

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Easy to set=up

STR-DH550 11/02/2015 by PeterE1947

We have had this A/V unit for a week now. This is the second Sony A/V receiver and I have to say probably the easiest to set-up.The instruction manual is the usual (now anyway)as being a bit short although it does show how to connect up the speakers and connections to other peripherals. Pressing the home button places the menu on screen of the connected TV. This fairly uncomplicated and was quick to finish. It comes with a special microphone which sets up the speakers. Then sit back and enjoy!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent Amplifier

STR-DH550 09/13/2015 by Wesley949

Needed a new Sony Amplifier to replace my old unit. Looked on the Sony website, found this and was ideal for what I wanted. Needed an Amplifier that I could use on all my external devices (TiVo, Apple TV, Sony Blu-ray player). Four HDMI ports and one HDMI IN from the TV, making it easy to connect the above devices to the relevant HDMI ports so everything now is run through the Amplifier and I have now got away without using my separate TOSLINK Optical cables. I do miss the Blue DTS bar that illuminated on my old Amplifier, but I do love the design of this new Amplifier. Will always choose Sony. The USB port to charge and play music from my iPhone and iPad is also a great idea. Everything was so easy to set up. The speaker connections were a little fiddly as they are situated close together so the middle ones can be a pain, but have not let that spoil my purchase so I am more than happy. The auto-calibration also made things a lot easier with the set-up and even the onscreen HOME menu made navigation easier and even renamed the displayed outputs without the use of the manual booklet. 10/10 for me. Thanks Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Simple

STR-DH550 09/13/2015 by Rimmsy

Bought within last month and setup in minutes, So simple and audio quality is wonderful. This is a purchase for my bedroom and it quite inexpensive and easy to use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great value great features.

STR-DH550 06/18/2015 by TobyC

Bought this to replace an old receiver that died and I'm very pleased I did. Very simple to use and set up. My only gripe is the speaker connections, with so much blank space on the rear panel I would personally like the red/black connectors spaced a little further apart so as to make it easier to connect the speaker cables. Overall this is an excellent product and exceptional value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good Value - Poor instructions.

STR-DH550 05/31/2015 by Bobcaller

The product is competitively priced and has all the features I need for home cinema. It is let down badly by the lack of printed handbook, I hate having to use a computer to read instructions. The on line Help Guide is not that great as it fails to describe the "sound fields " adequately, but goes into great length on simple things. However it is what I needed to go with my Bravia TV and blue ray player.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Does everything it's supposed to very well!

STR-DH550 03/12/2015 by VP185

It is very well designed and well constructed. It's taken a few knocks and has survived all of them. In terms of sound quality, it performs very well and does everything it should. I have it hooked to Tannoy HTS101 speakers and they are well suited with this amp. I am not a professional and nor do I own a cinema, but for my living room the pair are perfect for my requirements.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Does the job perfectly

STR-DH550 02/10/2015 by Zebzmate

The system is certainly simple to set up and use. It's also good quality for the price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fantastic surround sound

STR-DH550 01/04/2015 by jimmy at 29

i bought a sony bravia KD55x8505 about 4 months ago and i am still loving it so i decided to match it with a surround amplifier after trying a couple of all in one surround sound dvd players,which i did not like the sound quality or the ease of use,i returned them and after having a good look for a separate amp i decided on the STR-DH550 and i am so glad i did the sound quality on a good film makes the film or action series so much better and because its bravia the syncronisation between blue ray,netflix and sky is so easy ,well worth the money. iwould definitely recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0