RRP

€ 720.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
22

4.0 based on 22 customer reviews

8
9
2
2
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent unit overall.

STR-DN1060 01/18/2016 by Daniel M

Bought around two weeks ago, currently driving a Q Acoustics 7.2 system from a variety of sources. Amplification wise no distortion or issues and connections easily made. Menu system onboard is superb and the assignable input/outputs system is clever. Only weaknesses seem to be the lack of ability to install the Qobuz app onto the unit to stream music despite it coming with a voucher for their online service and the lack of a conventional coaxial aerial connector for the FM aerial, however this is easily solved by cutting down the provided antenna and connecting to a standard connector. Would possibly benefit from a rear USB port.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nice features, but seriously flawed.

STR-DN1060 02/18/2016 by rpc41

I got a new Sony 4k TV, so decided to upgrade from an older Sony AV receiver to the STR-DN1060 to take advantage of all the TV's features. My kids also got a PS4 at Christmas so it all seemed sensible. Everything worked reasonably well - but TV and receiver and PS4 all "benefited" from firmware updates a couple of weeks ago. Since then the TV loses its signal from the PS4 with increasing frequency the longer it's used.The only way to recover is to unplug the receiver from the wall and plug it back in again. (Note that everything worked fine prior to the firmware updates). I replaced HDMI cables, trying various settings, but it still keeps happening. If I bypass the receiver and plug the PS4 directly into the TV, it works just fine. So, while I really liked the receiver at the start, I don't any more. I'm hoping that some other update comes along that enables modern Sony devices to all work with each other. It would seem that the ability to make remote firmware updates has meant that products are shipped before they're ready because they can finish them off properly later.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

4

22 Customer Reviews

0

Great product and easy to set up

STR-DN1060 04/20/2017 by bhups

Great product. works well. but gets too hot. Sony should really have an app to let you control it remotely.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Love it!

STR-DN1060 03/27/2017 by Warky

Glad I upgraded to this product, does everything I need and more. User interface much improved and sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound, poor interface

STR-DN1060 02/24/2017 by koolkul

I got this Christmas 2016, and initially thought it was great. Great sound, good enough to retire my old Arcam Stereo Amp. Lots of cool features, Auto speaker set-up, Airplay, bluetooth, but most of all two HDMI outputs so I could send a picture to a second TV in my bedroom. However getting this to work requires accessing a number of menu's and sub menu's which make it difficult for my family to use. once you set-up the upstairs output, the downstairs output appears to automatically get messed up and HDMI based TV volume no longer controls the AMP volume. just a messy little set-up. The other failing is that it is advertised as streaming via chromecast but it does not stream video - nor does it appear to stream video from my media server. No Dolby Atmos, even though all other brands have it for the same price. Advertised as 4K upscaling - but ONLY 1 HDMI allows this, plus there is no 4K PASS THROUGH - big issue if you have multiple 4K sources. As soon as I had bought it the STR-DN1070 and now the STR-DN1080 have been announced... oh well that is progress!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

Great sound Shame about some features.

STR-DN1060 01/16/2017 by Neiltech

Bought this as a Christmas present for myself,after my Pioneer died.The amp sounds great better than the pioneer did. However some features are complicated to understand. Eg a hdmi audio signal can not be played in zone 2, so if a music programme is on the audio can not be played out in zone 2.Also while watching TV in the main zone, Chromecast will not work in zone 2 so audio can not be cast and enjoyed in zone 2. I have got round this with the use of a chomecast audio dongle. The FM radio antenna connection is poor, you can cast a radio app to the amplifier but if you really want to use good old FM pray you are in a good reception are (I am not). All that said though the amp's on screen menus make set up very easy,and sound quality is excellent. As long as you understand the amps limitations it's a great bit of kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Second HDMI Cuts Out

STR-DN1060 08/21/2016 by NHVR

This AVR was easy to set up with great audio and visuals. The problem is the second HDMI output, which I send to a TV in the room above with sound, cuts out for a few seconds periodically. Probably happens once or twice every 10 minutes. So far haven't figured out why and obviously very frustrating!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

4

0

I like the preset Function

STR-DN1060 07/19/2016 by JonCat

I do like the product. Don't have much to compare it against. This is my second Sony AV amp. I do have very good speakers and they sound pretty good with this amp. Home cinema is always to complicated to use. Usually only one person in the house can use it. The three presets make it easy to switch between different sources and still have the correct sound channels selected. Worth buying just for this feature.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Easy to use

STR-DN1060 06/27/2016 by Dakar101

I'm running through my 20+ year old Mordaunt-Short (large) speakers giving me a superb crisp yet mellow sound. It was bought to replace my 25 year old Sony STR-D611 amplifier which, whilst still working wonderfully, lacks connectivity with modern devices. The remote control, being mainly menu driven, is simple to use once set up. My main criticism is the FM aerial. The supplied wire fed unit is not sensitive enough for my location. Why not fit a standard 75 ohm socket as in all the other Sony units I've owned/used? The Sony Help Desk suggested I don't use it for radio reception instead of offering a means of connecting a dipole antenna. Thanks a bundle. So saying, the machine is, in all other respects, superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Fantastic look and great features

STR-DN1060 05/16/2016 by Radiant1951

Bought this to compliment my Curved Screen TV and it certainly does the business.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Simply amazing!!

STR-DN1060 04/27/2016 by Florin D

I bought this monster in the middle of 2015,and I don't regret at all! It's such a powerful receiver, u just need proper speakers for it,I'm very happy and proud whit my purchase, totally recommended!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Excellent quality of sound

STR-DN1060 04/26/2016 by thedon

Had this product for a few weeks. Have paired it with 5.1 quad speakers . Really pleased with the quality of sound. Punchy, but also natural sounding. Could of bought a dolby atmos receiver for the same price, but preferred this SONY amp for the quality of sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Good amp but there is room for improvement

STR-DN1060 04/11/2016 by andy1l

I bought this a few weeks ago and am generally very pleased. The one issue I have is with the lack of features available with the Zone 2 outputs. I have ceiling speakers in a separate room and I was hoping to use the Zone 2 wires to drive those speakers. Unfortunately, this only works for 'audio' inputs and not the HDMI-fed ones. Other than that, an excellent amp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Poor build quality too much plastic used.

STR-DN1060 04/08/2016 by Philzie

This is the worst piece of Sony equipment I have every owned.You cannot read the front panel without using a torch to switch functions. The sound quality is very strange and it took me a long time for the sound too be just average in quality auto calibration set-up is useless and give a very dull uninteresting sound.I have always purchased Sony Av units and this one is far below the old ES and the old midrange quality units. Please do not buy this without seeing it.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

10

0

Brilliant investment

STR-DN1060 03/18/2016

I exchanged a yamaha amp I had recently bought, which claimed to have features that didn't work. I really like this Sony amp! It works well, with great sound. I had a minor issue with Bluetooth connectivity: 'Don't. Use' when trying to connect -Sony helped me on the phone and everything works 100% It's a quality amp, make no mistake. .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Nice features, but seriously flawed.

STR-DN1060 02/18/2016 by rpc41

I got a new Sony 4k TV, so decided to upgrade from an older Sony AV receiver to the STR-DN1060 to take advantage of all the TV's features. My kids also got a PS4 at Christmas so it all seemed sensible. Everything worked reasonably well - but TV and receiver and PS4 all "benefited" from firmware updates a couple of weeks ago. Since then the TV loses its signal from the PS4 with increasing frequency the longer it's used.The only way to recover is to unplug the receiver from the wall and plug it back in again. (Note that everything worked fine prior to the firmware updates). I replaced HDMI cables, trying various settings, but it still keeps happening. If I bypass the receiver and plug the PS4 directly into the TV, it works just fine. So, while I really liked the receiver at the start, I don't any more. I'm hoping that some other update comes along that enables modern Sony devices to all work with each other. It would seem that the ability to make remote firmware updates has meant that products are shipped before they're ready because they can finish them off properly later.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

4

0

An excellent unit overall.

STR-DN1060 01/18/2016 by Daniel M

Bought around two weeks ago, currently driving a Q Acoustics 7.2 system from a variety of sources. Amplification wise no distortion or issues and connections easily made. Menu system onboard is superb and the assignable input/outputs system is clever. Only weaknesses seem to be the lack of ability to install the Qobuz app onto the unit to stream music despite it coming with a voucher for their online service and the lack of a conventional coaxial aerial connector for the FM aerial, however this is easily solved by cutting down the provided antenna and connecting to a standard connector. Would possibly benefit from a rear USB port.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Excellent product at a sensible price

STR-DN1060 01/17/2016 by H8sye

A top product that does just about everything you want but boil the kettle. It takes a while to set up as there are so many settings but they are easy to do and totally worthwhile doing.The 4k up scaling works great. I recommend downloading and printing the user manual, makes setting up a lot easier. Once set up it is a very simple unit to use and is very user friendly. Looks great, works great, highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Great product

STR-DN1060 09/12/2015 by MarkyMark47

Bought this to replace my old DG 820 receiver after upgrading to a Sony 4K TV. So glad I did as there is a marked improvement in sound quality & it's packed with great features. The graphical user interface is a pleasure to use and the wireless/bluetooth features are very useful and work perfectly. Only slight annoyance is that occasionally it switches off by itself meaning my TV reverts back to using its internal speakers. It seems to do this when I pause a TV show on my TIVO BOX for a period of time. Loses one star for this. Not sure if this is a feature of the receiver and it switches off if no sound source is received for a set time, but regardless I find this inconvenient.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

I was not happy with the production

STR-DN1060 08/07/2015 by Mikey55

Was not happy with the production when I heard the sound coming from my speakers it sound horrible. And bearing in mind that I have got Bose speakers.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

37

0

Good receiver but Google Cast disappointing

STR-DN1060 06/21/2015 by ShayF

I needed a new receiver to support UHD (HDCP2.2), and the predecessor received good reviews. Sound is great, set up is easy very nice On Screen Display, Bluetooth works well as does AirPlay. It loses 1 star because I was keen to get Google Cast and unfortunately this feature does not work consistently and simple. But hopefully with will be rectified with a firmware upgrade.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound, potentially great features

STR-DN1060 06/12/2015 by UKviewer

I bought this product to update my home cinema but the first one had to be immediately returned faulty. The second gives great, clear sound. My reservations are the lack of instructions for setting up Bravia synch with other devices, the lack of AirPlay for video (even though video can go through it from other sources).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

A Superb Upgrade

STR-DN1060 05/10/2015 by pickard11

This amp is one heck of a box of tricks. I have upgraded as I want a 4K compatible amp for my next TV which will be the Sony x900c (I hope). The set up was simple as my previous amp was a Sony so I had some idea what to expect. Sound quality is very nice and through my home network I have access to most of my favorite music at the touch of a button. The Bluetooth option is also very useful as I can link my smartphone to the amp and play music that way too. Extremely pleased with this purchase and highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great sound but needed a bit more thought

STR-DN1060 05/09/2015 by Jace

Remote needs to be reprogrammable to work with tv etc come on it's 2015 my last amp had it and it came out in 2010 !! it also a bit slow switching between inputs and there's another minus it won't let you select certain sound fields using certain equipment ie: xbox, want to select stereo in all speakers but as it's a digital input you can only select 5.1 etc. again you could do this with my old amp !! on a plus, the sound is rich and clear and not over the top with bass and was easy to set up and looks great !! overall 3.5 out of 5

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4