9

5.0 based on 9 customer reviews

9
0
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9 Customer Reviews

0

so easy to use

SEL20TC 07/27/2020 by mapy1

I wondered if this would have a big adverse impact on the quality of images that i get from my 100-400 gm lens. Clearly you do lose a lot of light, but the autofocus is still excellent and the the 800 mm reach that this can give me is fantastic for wildlife photography. It is very easy to insert between the camera and lens and hardly adds to the weight at all. Very please

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good purchase

SEL20TC 04/10/2020 by Sussex lad

I have not had this converter long. It is however proving to have been an excellent purchase. used with my FE 70-200 it really does the business and gets the shots that wold otherwise have been impracticable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

does not affect the quickness of focus

SEL20TC 12/24/2019 by quickklik

if you need that extra length for wildlife then this is the teleconverter for you amazing quality used with the 200mm x 600mm sony lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Fantastic Kit

SEL20TC 04/21/2019 by Grahedw321

Bought this for with my 70 to 200mm G Master - works a tear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great way to get more reach!

SEL20TC 03/03/2019

I wanted to extend the reach of my Sony A7iii and 70-200f2.8GM for occasional wildlife shots and couldn't justify the 100-400GM so turned to the 2x convertor. I have not been disappointed as the combination retains superb image quality and the fast autofocus/tracking that these camera achieve. The convertor is very well constructed and comes in its own soft case for protection. Its fit and go and is transparent in use, apart from dropping widest aperture to 5.6, but I figured I can compensate by ramping up the ISO. The purchase has been everything I was hoping for, allowing me much closer shots of wildlife (and anything else for that matter!), is fast and accurate to focus and IQ is excellent. For example, it locked onto a small swarm of flying insects, followed them and I was able to take a sharp shot of them. It also tracked a duck taking off and remained locked on the focus even though it flew beyond a tree. It has really expanded my interest and ability in wildlife and action shots without costing the earth. Would I recommend it? Yes, at the drop of a hat!.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

0

Great combination with 100-400 lens

SEL20TC 04/20/2018 by Chutch

I mainly use this with my 100-400 lens - an excellent combination for distance, wildlife & detail photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

2

0

Best 2x I have used

SEL20TC 06/02/2017 by MicroPete

Purchased to use with the 70-200 and results are excellent, there is a slight loss in quality but better than expected when adding more glass to a lens, I am looking forward to testing with the new 100-400 when released. However it is an expensive 2x converter, would I purchase again, absolutely..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

36

8

0

Good - even for handheld shooting

SEL20TC 02/11/2017 by SunRay

First impresion very good. Too early to give more deeper analysis

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Well worth the additional investment

SEL20TC 12/27/2016 by Jenninj

This review has a limited readership. I assume readers are either FE 70-200 F2.8 owners who will add this 2x specially designed converter or readers who are going to buy both the lens and the converter. I bought my 70/200 f2.8 a few months ago ,having previously used the 70/200 f4 with excellent results over the last couple of years. I thought long and hard about the change as the f4 not only delivered good results ,was a G lens but was light for travel. In any event I was blown away by the image quality of the 2.8 and decided to get the 2x converter. It cost me an additional 25% over the 2.8 RSP but I believe it is money very well spent and would advise 2.8 users to make the purchase. On the downside it does bring the aperture up from 2.8 to 5.6. I have read of slow focussing but didnt have this problem personally. Long lenses are more prone to "hunting "and manual focus or pre focus gets over this.also you can rachet up the ISO to ensure good shutter speeds. On the plus side there is lots to say! The focussing is excellent amd manual focus is helped by the magnification feature on my alpha 7r Mk 2. It is a wonderful and very light addition to the 70/200.f2.8 making it a 140/400 f5.6 It brings great fun back into my photography. It is beautifully constructed and comes in its own semi rigid case. I used a monopod to ensure stability but have also got good results with it hand held. From a kit point of view I am using 3 zooms ( Sony Zeiss FE 16/35 F4, Sony FE 24/70F2.8 GM ,Sony FE 70/200 f2.8 GM( plus 2x) and Sony Zeiss FE 55'f1.8 Prime lens. Also a Sony flash. Although it is heavier than my previous travel kit it is much better. I carry an RX100 mk 5 as well in case my shoulder gets tired! So my recomendation is that is is well worth the additional approx spend of 25% over the lens cost to get the 2 x converter. I will have a lot of fun with mine and I reckon so will you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0