21

4.9 based on 21 customer reviews

19
2
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21 Customer Reviews

0

Sharp lens

SEL70200GM 06/11/2019 by Topshotfoto

I have owned versions of both the Canon and Nikon 70-200 f2.8 lenses previously, but I jumped ship to Sony last year in an attempt to decrease the weight of equipment I lug around airshows. This lens is not significantly lighter than the above and it carries a price premium. The easy answer would have been to go for the Sony 70-200 F4 but I admit to being a "pixel peeper" and my 100-400 GM Sony lens is so sharp I decided to pull the trigger on the 70-200mm F2.8 GM. In the month since purchasing it I have used it in different situations and bravely in light rain! I am genuinely impressed with the sharpness of this lens. The central areas are stunningly sharp at all normal apertures and the edges likewise once shut down to F4. It is expensive but if I had bought a different lens I know I would always have regretted not paying the extra for the sharpness. I was tempted to only give four stars due to the cost but decided I was reviewing the lens not the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent image quality

SEL70200GM 05/13/2019 by ianwatt

Brilliant quality paired with my A7R3, it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 70-200GM For Equine Photography

SEL70200GM 03/12/2019 by Fletcher8

I have been using the 70-200GM for a year now for the majority of my equine work, it produces stunning images and it's auto focus on the A7lll, A9 & A7Rlll is a joy to use and just gets the job done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good lens rather expensive

SEL70200GM 02/19/2019 by BGeeGee

I've used the lens extensively. It is very sharp and focusses fairly quickly. I've tried using the Canon 70 200 2.8 with an adapter, really not worth it if you want reliable autofocus. The Sony lens is rather overpriced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good quality...£800 overpriced

SEL70200GM 02/10/2019

This is an excellent lens. Good image quality. Comparing to my old Nikon glass I’d say this should be a 1500-1700 lens. Does not feel as solid and weather sealed. Mount is not as solid. Don’t get me wrong great lens for system just overpriced for overall build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Outstanding Lens

SEL70200GM 01/23/2019 by Bonekicker

I have owned several zoom lens over my long years and not found one of them to be any good--until now--I changed from Fuji to Sony mirrorless system and just recently bought this FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS lens-- the range is perfect for me and Quality as got to be seen to believe--Just Stunning Results 10/10 -5Star

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Worth every penny!

SEL70200GM 01/10/2019 by 1slandgirl

I use this lens mainly for sports photography and it is just about perfect. It is fast, pin sharp, well balanced and I particularly like the 'internal' zoom, which keeps the lens balanced across the 70-200mm reach. Being able to zoom the full range in a single wrist action makes this lens perfect for shooting under poor conditions and using a rain cover. I have a number of Zeiss and G-Master Sony lenses (55mm, 90mm 24-70mm etc.) so I am used to quality glass but this is quite possibly the best! Very happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Unlock your photos

SEL70200GM 01/03/2019 by JohnandSue

I hesitated buying this lens ever since I moved to Sony mirrorless but took the plunge recently. The lens is fantastic. Its so fast and accurate and brings even the most lifeless pictures to life

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Pretty much perfect

SEL70200GM 10/22/2018 by Designic

After experimenting with using Zeiss Batis primes (which are superb, no complaints) as an alternative, I ended up getting the Sony FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS instead. It's like having a bag full of prime lenses. Yes, it is big and heavy, but for an event photographer like me, it makes perfect sense. I have previously owned the Can and Nikon equivalent lenses, both excellent, but this Sony lens is next level. The only thing I'd change in the colour of the barrel - it makes it very conspicuous compared to the all black of Nikon's lens. But overall, this lens is pretty much Perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent optics

SEL70200GM 02/28/2018 by David1000

I bought this lens to go with 16-35 and 24-70 GM lenses and specifically wanted excellent optical quality on an A7Riii and it doesn't disappoint. I also wanted excellent autofocus. I haven't had a chance to test this fully yet but it looks promising so far. The only matter that has put me off slightly was a LensRentals strip down of the lens that shows a comparatively soft metal joining ring at the centre of the lens construction and I imagined the lens splitting in half! I waited three months to see whether any reports of this happening before buying and there don't appear to be any such reports, so went ahead with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

The best 70-200

SEL70200GM 02/21/2018 by Paulinfocus

I have owned and used 70-200f2.8 lenses from all the major manufacturers but the Sony version is the best. Coupled with my a7r3 the results are nothing short of spectacular.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Lovely piece of kit

SEL70200GM 01/16/2018 by Spotteddog

Bought this for a job and I wasn’t disappointed, focusing was quick and precise and the images were great. Love using it with my new So y A9 R II

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Only buy the best

SEL70200GM 12/15/2017 by Dinky

Only buy the best The G master is a great lens but expensive not quite as sharp with the teleconverters on but overall great lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Outstanding product

SEL70200GM 12/07/2017 by Chris7W

Purchased this lens approximately 6 months ago and have used it on numerous occasions with my Alpha A9, main reason I bought the A9 and this lens was the weight, compared with the Canon 1DX and the Canon 70 to 200 its an excellent lens in all aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Lighning speed autofocus

SEL70200GM 12/07/2017 by dynot

Excellent product that suits my photographic needs perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL70200GM 08/30/2017 by MPount

I've done a few shoots with this lens so far, attached to the A7RII, fast AF producing clear, pin sharp images in low light conditions. Amazing lens, expensive, heavy but Great Quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Super sharp !

SEL70200GM 07/21/2017 by MPics

Expensive but top quality and can focus on moving subjects, delivers on all counts !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

White Wonder

SEL70200GM 05/14/2017 by kensom

Hardware - Sony FE 70-200 2.8 GM OSS and A7R2. Stunning results and coming from the Nikon (almost) equivalents! Colours, bokeh, sharpness and I am just speechless at how this combo performs. Nothing in this range of equipment, no matter what brand, can compare. Every penny spent on this lens will be repaid in your satisfaction at the end of the day. As they say; 'Forget the rest, buy the best' - and it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Amazing lens.

SEL70200GM 05/12/2017 by TomB11

Amazing sharp, great colours. Only hitch for me is that the tripod mount isn't completely removable collar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

A Great Lens

SEL70200GM 04/19/2017 by Freddyboy

I've only had this lens for a week but already I've had some amazing results using it on my A7RMk2 !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Winchester 73

SEL70200GM 03/17/2017 by Sydney2

This is my Winchester 73, because it's the Best of the Best. At times I use it with the 1.4 converter, and sometimes with the 2X. The image quality is just awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

40

3