15

4.8 based on 15 customer reviews

12
3
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15 Customer Reviews

0

superb compact camera

DSC-RX100M5A 09/14/2019 by picture this

I have had this camera just a couple weeks. It takes high quality photos. The build quality is also excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So many features

DSC-RX100M5A 09/11/2019 by Lads 8387150

Happy but W I P that are going to take time to but will persevere

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simplicity personified

DSC-RX100M5A 08/25/2019 by Peripatetic Scribe

At age 76, I decided to become "minimalist" in my photography whilst at the same time retaining those features of a DSLR that I felt to be important to me. Thus, I came to the SOny RX100 V and can say in all honesty that my choice has been 100% successful. It does all that I demand of it, producing some excellent results for example, over the last few days here in Dartmouth Devon we have had some wonderful "autumnal" morning with splendid layers of mist over the river and surrounding hills. My little Sony has been remarkably faithful when reproducing a feeling of "softness" inherent when photographing under such conditions especially in monochrome which I enjoy greatly. To summarise, I have nothing but praise for the all-round quality the camera gives me, and would not hesitate to encourage others to purchase.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pocket powerhouse

DSC-RX100M5A 07/11/2019 by Digital David

I've had an earlier model of the RX100 and was so impressed with it that I have upgraded to the VA model. The improvement in spec is certainly worth the higher price and I as looking forward to some even better photographs. When buying a camera I will always look for a viewfinder as I do not like using the screen when talking pictures, the VA viewfinder is a dramatic improvement on the M3 and is great in use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great pics

DSC-RX100M5A 06/30/2019 by Cooksolo

I am delighted with my purchase unfortunately I have had no luck in claiming the £100 cash back I was promised.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Useful at work and home

DSC-RX100M5A 05/19/2019 by sdey66

Excellent for family photos and video but also for my work. I work with museums and it's small size, low light capabilities, angled screen and SLR quality images mean it is very useful to me for imaging ancient artefacts and specimens. I take 100's of images of each object and turn them into 3d models using photogrammetry. These models are then 3d printed. The RX100v is now my first choice tool in this work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Fantastic little camera capable of so much

DSC-RX100M5A 05/11/2019 by Adz34

Having owned a few Sony’s in the past like the A7 and A72 it’s packed with so many features and the menu system is a lot more user friendly only wish it had the time lapse features of the earlier models.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Small, light, pocketable

DSC-RX100M5A 05/10/2019 by JimboGC

In a couple of months, started to get used to the camera, not yet explored its full capabilities. Decided to go small, after losing DSLR bag and kit, which was used largely for wildlife in South Africa. Back in UK, wanted a go anywhere, small light camera, better base image quality than my Pixel 2 phone. Challenging myself to take proper photos, to think about photography again, but without the paraphernalia. So far, so good. Went for the 5a rather than the 6, partly on price, but also on reviews, and size. Thought about the Lumix 100 LX100 II, which has some nice features, but was too big for my pockets. I'm still working on the menus and buttons, and the ring, but everything appears possible with practice, which has been limited. Only accessory so far is a case, LCJ-RXF, which works well, except I'd like to be able to detach the shoulder strap with clips, to put the camera in pocket. Like that you can detach most of the case, if required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Amazing little camera

DSC-RX100M5A 04/18/2019

I bought this little camera to go with my DSLR but to use this when carrying a big camera isnt an option and I’m afraid to say but this is now my go to camera over the dslr. The auto focus is super fast and the quality of the image is just amazing and you can just slip it in your pocket it’s crazy!! Also really love the portraits this camera can achieve :) I’m always have a RX100 in my pocket from now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Greta featres and a compact size

DSC-RX100M5A 04/08/2019 by mnra

I bought the camera over 3 weeks ago and so far I am really please with the resaults especially slow motion, 4k,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Sony RX100VA, a little gem!

DSC-RX100M5A 03/31/2019 by AlBG

I bought this camera three months ago after six months of agonising over which camera to buy. I watched loads of Youtube videos of this and other manufacturer's cameras and finally settled on the Sony RX100 Mk VA. I had to keep reminding myself that I wanted a quality camera that would slip in my pocket so that I am not always tempted to carry a heavy (Canon 5D Mkll) DSLR. This one fits the bill perfectly and now goes with me everywhere. It's great for street and travel photography and is so much more versatile than a phone camera. I chose the Mk VA rather than the Mk 6 because of the faster lens (f1.8 - f2.8) as I looked at most of my Photo subjects (people and landscapes) and decided that this one fell into the category of what I use most when using my DSLR. This doesn't mean I don't use the DSLR anymore, I now reserve that one for really serious photography when I don't mind walking around with a heavy backpack full of gear.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent Quality with Some Quirks

DSC-RX100M5A 03/21/2019 by GregTurnbull

My Sony RX100VA is an amazing camera, very small, great fast lens which can zoom from wide-angle (24mm) to portrait (70mm). Obviously no telephoto optical zoom for this size & speed which is OK by me, I just move closer to the subject if possible or crop the image if not. It does have some quirks though, no GPS chip to record my location on the images, which is a shame, the essential handgrip should be included & not an extra at this price. The battery does run out fast in cold weather so you need a couple of spares. However, the worst issue for a landscape photographer is the annoying overexposure by -0.3 to -0.7, which is a mistake that should be fixed by a firmware update to the sensor &/or the processing S/W. I hate having to set a general -0.3 compensation, because you can forget when shooting darker subjects. :-) Obviously with such an expensive camera you should be shooting in RAW so some of these issues can be fixed by post-processing in Lightroom, Photoshop, etc., but this should not be necessary. Sony, please listen to the reviews in this regard! Overall a great camera, but one that takes a little effort to think about your subject, lighting conditions, etc., and make adjustments in the camera before taking any pictures, but then this is not a bad thing. Be aware that you are going to spend some time later on fixing some of the issues in S/W on the computer, so budget for this accordingly...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Best little compact

DSC-RX100M5A 01/20/2019 by Happy m

I already had the rx 100 iii and knew from updates on the v model I could expect much mote from what I already had; what I had was the best of the best in compact cameras!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Loaded with quality but still fits in your pocket

DSC-RX100M5A 12/07/2018 by denso pemburthy01

Well built with an easy menu system.Takes good pictures in low light (for a compact) and great video. Loaded with quality and has all the features I need but still fits in my pocket.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Brilliant but complex

DSC-RX100M5A 09/27/2018 by Pauler

My initial reaction is that it will be highly suitable as a compact holiday camera instead of my Sony APS-C. In the early stages it seems very complex although versatile might be a fairer description. One seemingly mean feature is the obvious need to buy an (admittedly low cost) grip for such an expensive camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

3