14

4.6 based on 14 customer reviews

9
4
1
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

High Quality Sound - Easy to Use

XDR-S61D 12/08/2017 by jumpsuit

Superb radio. Excellent, high quality sound and great build quality. The radio is light and easily portable. The LCD display information is very clear and with the rubber feet the radio feels very secure on flat / glossy surfaces. The setup was simple, as soon as you power it on for the first time it auto tunes the DAB stations for you. It even found stations I had previously been unable to receive clearly due to my location on a PURE Oasis radio. The 5 preset stations are easy to set up too. You can power it either by the mains adapter or by 4 x AA batteries. The wake-up timer and sleep timer are great extra features too! I'm very happy with its performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

sound is not great but very easy to use and good

XDR-S61D 05/21/2018 by peterm3

The good bits - the design and appearance, is better than any other DAB radio I have seen. I have it in white and it looks like a classic with the silver power button and tuning knob bezel. It is very easy to use and changing channels on the same ensemble / multiplex is instantaneous. For other channels it takes a couple of seconds. You save a channel simply by pressing an holding on a preset button - couldn't be simpler. I have been running on rechargable AAs and it works really well. It seems to pick up a 100% signal with local stations and with the aerial up picks up the rest perfectly too. The bad things: the headphone jack doesn't output a useable line-level signal. It perhaps tuned for high impedance headphones and my hifi can only get anything out of it with the volume up very high. The socket is also extremely tight, it seems to be rather low quality on what is otherwise a high build quality item. The sound quality is surprisingly poor and not very loud given the size of the radio, the speaker is only 8 cm wide. My Sony SRS-BTM8 speakers the same size are louder and have better sound quality. It is not really loud enough to fill a toom - it is really a personal radio you carry to where you are, and listen from 1 to 2 metres away.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

14 Customer Reviews

0

Neat and compact

XDR-S61D 04/23/2019 by jsmj

Bought as our first DAB radio, it was easy to set up and delivers high quality sound from such a small unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Deep sound

XDR-S61D 04/18/2019 by Surrey18

Clear and deep sound on Radio 4 and Radio 3, although lacking a bit of punchiness, but for the price a paid £69 was a good purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

XDR-S61D 03/17/2019 by Winging

Just bought today. Was not looking forward to setting it up as I am not very good with new technology. Was very simple and quick.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Happy with Product

XDR-S61D 01/13/2019

My only quibble is to wonder whether the product could be physically somewhat smaller.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stylish, great sound, easy to use

XDR-S61D 12/29/2018 by Karmaqueen

Looks good and the sound is very dynamic and its very easy to tune.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect tuning and reception

XDR-S61D 12/15/2018 by liduskago

I am delighted with the radio. I enjoy seeing the title of the music played on ClassicFM on the screen. It is very simple to adjust the volume and change the preset channels.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great,easy to set up

XDR-S61D 08/29/2018 by Margy

only bought 2days ago but up to now highly delighted

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy tomes up, great sound!

XDR-S61D 07/17/2018 by David 349

I have had my Sony DAB?FM radio for about 2 weeks and I am very pleased with it. it was vey easy to set up for DAB and FM and the sound is really very good. This is a very good quality product and I highly recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good looks

XDR-S61D 07/05/2018 by Violet48

This radio has good looks, good quality and is easy to programme.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT DAB RADIO

XDR-S61D 06/12/2018 by BERNIE MELL

VERY EASY TO SET UP AND WOULD BE EVEN BETTER HAD IT HAD WI FI AS WELL

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sound is not great but very easy to use and good

XDR-S61D 05/21/2018 by peterm3

The good bits - the design and appearance, is better than any other DAB radio I have seen. I have it in white and it looks like a classic with the silver power button and tuning knob bezel. It is very easy to use and changing channels on the same ensemble / multiplex is instantaneous. For other channels it takes a couple of seconds. You save a channel simply by pressing an holding on a preset button - couldn't be simpler. I have been running on rechargable AAs and it works really well. It seems to pick up a 100% signal with local stations and with the aerial up picks up the rest perfectly too. The bad things: the headphone jack doesn't output a useable line-level signal. It perhaps tuned for high impedance headphones and my hifi can only get anything out of it with the volume up very high. The socket is also extremely tight, it seems to be rather low quality on what is otherwise a high build quality item. The sound quality is surprisingly poor and not very loud given the size of the radio, the speaker is only 8 cm wide. My Sony SRS-BTM8 speakers the same size are louder and have better sound quality. It is not really loud enough to fill a toom - it is really a personal radio you carry to where you are, and listen from 1 to 2 metres away.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Replacement radio required.

XDR-S61D 03/04/2018 by Beechgrove

Very satisfied with my recent purchase - Sony DAB portable radio.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A good, easily portable radio

XDR-S61D 02/14/2018 by BGACymru

This is a well-designed, good looking radio with good features and mostly good sound for music and the spoken word. The instruction booklet is clear and the radio is soon working. It is easy to tune to DAB and FM and to assign favourite stations to the five preset buttons. The back light display is large and easy to read and you can set sleep and wake-up timers. It runs on four AA batteries, which are readily available, or on the mains. Why not five stars? Sometimes the sound is ‘boomy’ and the radio lacks a treble/base equaliser to mitigate this effect. It also comes with a continental AC adaptor. There is no mention of this in the advertising and you only discover this when you open the box. You have to buy an adaptor to use it on the mains. A radio sold in the UK, by a company with Sony's reputation, should have a UK mains plug. It does not and that is very poor decision by Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

High Quality Sound - Easy to Use

XDR-S61D 12/08/2017 by jumpsuit

Superb radio. Excellent, high quality sound and great build quality. The radio is light and easily portable. The LCD display information is very clear and with the rubber feet the radio feels very secure on flat / glossy surfaces. The setup was simple, as soon as you power it on for the first time it auto tunes the DAB stations for you. It even found stations I had previously been unable to receive clearly due to my location on a PURE Oasis radio. The 5 preset stations are easy to set up too. You can power it either by the mains adapter or by 4 x AA batteries. The wake-up timer and sleep timer are great extra features too! I'm very happy with its performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

7

0