MULTIPOD

Product Reviews

RRP

€ 239.58

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
8

3.1 based on 8 customer reviews

3
1
0
2
2
Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Multipod

VCTMP1 01/06/2013  (USA)

After reading PixelsByPaul’s review I was a bit skeptical going for that product. PixelsByPaul have some valid points that may apply to some consumer but after testing and using the product for more than a month they do not apply to me. I like to travel. Go everywhere and I do not want to carry heavy equipment around and waste time assembling gear. It is why I was interested in a monopod solution. And then I found this product including a tripod solution. Considering the price tag, the flexibility, versatility, the build quality and how small and light this product is I concluded that there were simply no other product on the market that would match the SONY VCT-MP1. It assembles really quickly and will take no room into my/your DSLR bag. It actually fits perfectly into my TAMRAC VELOCITY 9 and it only takes me a minute to fully assemble the multipod and attach a D600 to it. The flexibility this multipod offers for the price it cost makes it to deserve my 5 stars. Go try it, that cost nothing ^^.

24

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sorry Sony but you got this so wrong.

VCT-MP1 05/27/2015 by ttyke32 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although light and ok in the monopod and desktop mode the tripod just does not cut it in my opinion. The legs appear to be too short and even extended does not give the stability you would hope for. The lowest part of the extension is too thin and even indoors the whole setup take time to settle and stop swaying. There is no way it is safe to take 2kg. I am no 7 stone weakling but I have trouble EVERY time I use it in loosening the locks to collapse the system. Nice idea but fails too often and is unreliable, certainly not worth anywhere near the price. I am sure others have positive views but in all honesty I have stopped taking it with me and it sits unused.

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

16

0

8 Customer Reviews

0

Not that great

VCTMP1 11/15/2017 by Myeagle69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

From day one the telescoping joints would stick but gave it a while thinking it was just new and needed breaking in. Worked fine after breaking in period but just as soon as warranty ended it continually sticks in open (locked) position and lost its usefulness since it won't fit into luggage or backpack.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sehr flexibel in der Handhabung!

VCT-MP1 07/06/2015 by shoppingmum2013 (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ich habe das Sony Multipod-Stativ als "Zweitstativ" gekauft - für alle Fälle, in denen ich mobil sein und häufiger den Standort wechseln muss. Ich habe es nicht bereut, das Stativ hält alle Versprechen. Es ist leicht, flexibel einsetzbar, einfach in der Handhabung und ermöglicht verschiedenste Kamerapositionen: klasse ist die Möglichkeit der Aufnahme über die Köpfe der Vordermänner hinweg! Ich würde es jederzeit wieder kaufen.

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Sorry Sony but you got this so wrong.

VCT-MP1 05/27/2015 by ttyke32 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although light and ok in the monopod and desktop mode the tripod just does not cut it in my opinion. The legs appear to be too short and even extended does not give the stability you would hope for. The lowest part of the extension is too thin and even indoors the whole setup take time to settle and stop swaying. There is no way it is safe to take 2kg. I am no 7 stone weakling but I have trouble EVERY time I use it in loosening the locks to collapse the system. Nice idea but fails too often and is unreliable, certainly not worth anywhere near the price. I am sure others have positive views but in all honesty I have stopped taking it with me and it sits unused.

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

16

0

0

instable

VCT-MP1 06/23/2014 by iSteev (France)

Impeccable avec ma caméra mais très instable avec mon A77. s'il n'était pas trop tard je l'aurais renvoyé.

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

4

0

Pratique style épurer, Beau et Pratique

VCT-MP1 06/04/2014 by Falldaron (France)

Franchement très bien, le mode perche est impeccable, par contre le mode trépied c'est limite, il ne faut pas trop de vent et de toute façon j'ai toujours l'impression que l'appareille va tomber, il faut un autre system pour le pied, sinon rien a redire.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

0

0

MY THIRD LEG

VCTMP1 10/01/2013 by BeJay (USA)

When I decided to upgrade from the Sony RX100 to the Sony RX100/M2 a couple of months ago, I also looked at monopods to improve camera stability for still and video shooting. My good experience with both Sony pocket cameras factored into my decision to buy the Sony VCT MP1, which is a sturdy and versatile accessory IMHO. I've found that most of my in-the-field shooting has been with the minitripod base removed, using the monopod alone as a "third leg" as I move around. It is particularly useful fully extended for normal, eye-level shooting, or partially extended to brace against a bleacher seat or even in the belt pouch. The weight of the monopod with or without the minitripod helps me to stabilize camera movement during video. Between Sony's in-camera image stabilization firmware and the support of this monopod system, I can detect improvements in my shots and in 180 degree automatic panoramas. I'd recommend this product for serious amateurs and enthusiasts who are looking for a cost-effective, sturdy and multi-functional accessory -- it will improve your images and has the added benefit of giving you the appearance of professionalism to subjects you may approach to shoot.

11

1

0

Great Multipod

VCTMP1 01/06/2013  (USA)

After reading PixelsByPaul’s review I was a bit skeptical going for that product. PixelsByPaul have some valid points that may apply to some consumer but after testing and using the product for more than a month they do not apply to me. I like to travel. Go everywhere and I do not want to carry heavy equipment around and waste time assembling gear. It is why I was interested in a monopod solution. And then I found this product including a tripod solution. Considering the price tag, the flexibility, versatility, the build quality and how small and light this product is I concluded that there were simply no other product on the market that would match the SONY VCT-MP1. It assembles really quickly and will take no room into my/your DSLR bag. It actually fits perfectly into my TAMRAC VELOCITY 9 and it only takes me a minute to fully assemble the multipod and attach a D600 to it. The flexibility this multipod offers for the price it cost makes it to deserve my 5 stars. Go try it, that cost nothing ^^.

24

0

0

Great concept. Poor execution.

VCTMP1 04/06/2012 by PixelsByPaul (USA)

This is a great idea - combining the versatility of a monopod with the stability of a mini-tripod, in an all-in-one package. However, the implementation has several major problems which render this product a non-starter. One of the extension monopod legs easily gets stuck, and you must attach the extra knob to its side to release it. The mini-tripod attaches to the monopod by screwing it in with the ball-head screw mount. When releasing the legs to "fold" them up. you wind up loosening the mini-tripod accidentally. These two facts make this multi-pod very clumsy to work with. When using such a mechanism in the field, one wants speed and ease of use - this offers neither. This multo-pod is also way to heavy. They need to make a much lighter weight version. For this weight, one might as well take a small carbon fiber tripod, which will be lighter. The carrying case (bag) accommodates the entire, assembled multi-pod, which is nice. But its top lid fastens with a flimsy velcro, and is easy to miss. Then, accidentally lift the symmetric back upside down, and your multi pod will come crashing down out of the bag, scratching up your ball-head.

52

13