RRP

€ 1,020.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
114

4.4 based on 114 customer reviews

65
37
5
3
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 04/28/2016 by Jonnie1266

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 01/06/2019 by steambuff

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

114 Customer Reviews

0

Great 4K Handycam

FDR-AX53 08/30/2019 by JLT55

I brought this handycam a month ago mainly because it has a view finder, so far I'm very pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 08/24/2019 by RanaImage

I am really happy with this camcorder. It does what it says on the tin.Great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

slow motion

FDR-AX53 07/26/2019 by whatatodoo

Very disappointing as a casual videographer. The three second auto slow motion is very poor quality. High speed recording shows very poor frame rate despite choosing the recommended format I can only see MP4 files recorded. This is after hours of trying to figure it out from various instructions. What I wanted was a point and click at say half speed with a 100fps say but it requires a degree in videodigital photography to do what is shown in utube examples. I get better results with my £126 CANON legria hf r606 where I choose half speed and point and click but the wings on large sea birds flying show multiple positions, but at least its quick, simple and good resolution.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

focus ring

FDR-AX53 07/24/2019 by Jarapah

PExcellent pice of equipment great value for money I would also add that this camera could be used proffesionalally

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good compact camcorder

FDR-AX53 07/18/2019 by Vds1

I bought this because it had a viewfinder as I have struggled in the past to use screens when videoing in bright light. The image stabiliser works very well Sadly I was unable to edit the XAVC S HD and in with my Roxio NTX 7 software However, it did work ok with Windows Moviemaker and Windows 10

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, quality Sony product

FDR-AX53 07/01/2019 by lenzo

I chose this product after buying other Sony equipment and have not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well appointed easy to use

FDR-AX53 06/13/2019 by Stompanato

I bought this camera for general use but it has many features that would allow me to use it to make a real movie. It is not a Pro camera but it is close, considering it is a hand held "Point & Shoot" it is quite amazing & with the best Steady-cam type suspension I've come across. the only difference between this & a real pro camera is that on the pro model you can operate it manually, with this camera you can choose one manual setting for the video & put the audio into manual mode that's it everything else is automatic. that is the type of camera it is & it truly is excellent, playback the content on your 4K TV & it is as good as a broadcast picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Plane filming

FDR-AX53 06/10/2019 by nobbyt

Bought this camcorder for Aeoplane filming as the stabilizer is the best for the price out there.Would prefer the zoom rocker to be two finger rocked from front to back not side to side.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I needed

FDR-AX53 06/04/2019 by Arty 67

I haven't had it long but already I can see that it fixes a lot of my issues such as manual control of exposure and focus at the touch of a button along with the great stabilisation

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does almost everything that I wanted

FDR-AX53 05/23/2019 by Cornish Lad

I bought this last month in order to video family celebrations, holidays and for producing short videos for my YouTube channel. The camera is much smaller and lighter than my previous models which all date back to pre 2000! Optics are great, control is simple, results are fabulous either in 4K or HD. Does almost everything that I wanted except for two small niggles and that is why it only gets 4 stars instead of 5. On all previous purchases of Sony camcorders a remote control was included as standard but, for this one, I had to search the internet in order to find and buy one. There is no onboard memory so a SD card is necessary for the camera to operate and there was not even a basic card included in the package so, again, an additional item had to be purchased just to get it to work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful instrument

FDR-AX53 05/06/2019 by JMcN

Bought this Sony FDR AX53 a month ago and I have slowly begun exploring the many features of the camera . Having used 8 mm Handycam back in the 80s and then later Hi8 models for years I had left video in favour of still photography until now . And I chose to get back to this having used DSLRs for years as I prepare to go to Kenya on Safari in August . I can see the potential of this camera now even though I am struggling to familiarize myself with the in-camera Menu system . My only criticism is with relation to the Manual which I find to be basic at best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Detailed, dynamic colours, limited manual control

FDR-AX53 03/04/2019 by Jedster

Only used a couple of times, solid unit, lot's of YouTube views to get a shortcut to advised settings... Surprised Lens Hood not included (for sunlight), but I like the features and sockets

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Disappointment

FDR-AX53 02/20/2019 by Fudrus

This camera makes great videos, and the sound is fairly good. But it has a fatal flaw - it is tied to a particular region. If you buy it in a PAL region, such as Europe, it records only at 50/25 FPS (plus 24 FPS). There is no way to set it to 30/60 FPS. The same is true if you buy it in an NTSC region - it records only at 60/30 FPS (plus 24 FPS). Why hobble a great product with this limitation? I want to use it for online videos, and most monitors are 60 FPS. So It would be better to record in 60/30 FPS. But I can't get the camera to do this. The other main flaw with the cameras is the zoom control over the viewfinder - very awkwardly placed and hard to control. The rest of the camera is OK, though the sound quality could be better - tends to pick up sounds from the camera. Use an external mike.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Could do (even) better

FDR-AX53 02/17/2019 by nhm1

I have only had this camera a few weeks and Sony are already asking for a review, which I feel is premature. I bought it mainly because I wanted to move up at least to HD, with some headroom for 4K in the future. I wanted a dedicated video camera with a viewfinder, and the current options for that are limited without going to pro level. I tried out a couple thoroughly in store and the AX53 was the one I felt most comfortable with. So far I am very happy with the quality of the video produced under a variety of conditions. The auto-focus is generally good and the stabilisation excellent. For me the poorest feature is control of the motorised zoom, which I had already identified before purchase. It is impossible to start this really gently, and quite difficult to maintain a very slow smooth speed. If you switch to zoom via the lens ring, control is better but it is well nigh impossible to zoom the whole range unless you are on a tripod. Also if you are hand holding at the telephoto end of the zoom range it is difficult to stop recording without camera shake, so you'll probably need to trim every clip. I feel these are things Sony really need to address in their control system - they are surely basics. One other silly thing which could easily be fixed is that there is an external lens protection shutter, but it is incredibly fragile and could easily be damaged even by something in the camera bag, putting the unit out of action. The first thing I bought was a filter and a lens cap - you would think Sony would at least run to including the latter for a few pence! Finally the camera produces quite an elaborate structure of folders and files on the flash card, and so far as I can see Sony offer no explanation of this anywhere! Yes I found my videos and stills but I had to go on the Forum to try to discover what some of the other stuff might be for...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great features

FDR-AX53 02/11/2019

Has all the features that I want. Great picture quality at a good price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fine camera - with a few drawbacks

FDR-AX53 02/11/2019 by RB_59

I have owned this camera just over a week and I am thrilled with the picture quality but there are a few 'operating' issues I've got to overcome: - the wind noise when outdoors in even just a breeze necessitates the use of an external microphone, I expected this; - the built in monitor has a highly reflective finish which makes for VERY difficult viewing in sunlight. I'm short sighted and the adjustment on the EVF eyepiece is insufficient to correct for my vision so I have to struggle with glasses, again making it very difficult to use. It's a shame everything is menu driven (I understand that on screen buttons mean not having to pay for hardware and therefore keeps the cost and size down) so making changes always necessitates folding out the screen. I'm still getting used to navigating my way round the menu structure but the layout is quite logical. As I said at the start, I'm new to this camera and I'm sure I'll find ways to work around the problems I've encountered, I'm very pleased with the results I get and I will be keeping the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony AX53

FDR-AX53 02/06/2019 by AllCarsChannel

I bought a second AX53 because i droaped my first and i damege it (after two years of using). For 800 £ it is the best camcoder wichh you can buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great stabilisation

FDR-AX53 02/05/2019 by airshow22

I bought this on the promise of superb stabilising for the lens, to give smooth filming of aircraft in flight. And it delivers. The smoothest I have ever seen, I think the best possible. Optical Zoom is decent, at x20, with intelligent digital still good quality around x30. Focus can be set to my choice, to avoid autofocus switching from the subject to any post, tree, cloud, etc that the subject passes by. Microphone also has settings to suppress sound close to the camera and wind noise. All features that are important to my chosen subject. Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent pictures

FDR-AX53 01/25/2019 by Timbo55

Can't praiuse picture quality enough, sound is great using a remote mic plugged in, less brilliant from the internal one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, terrible software and support.

FDR-AX53 01/20/2019 by Very disappointed user

I bought the camera to replace (update) an old Sony camcorder that I'd had for over ten years, which used old HD mini cassettes. I was very pleased with the new camera. However, when I downloaded the PlayMemories software it told me it was an update of the old Motion Picture Browser I was using and that it would remove the existing software. I already had 35 files uploaded onto my PC and assumed these would be readable by the new software (as it was said to be an "update"). However, once I loaded it, the new software refused to recognise these. I contacted their customer support who initially seemed not to understand the issue. Finally, after some chasing on my part and taking advice on theirs, they came back saying that I would have to reload all 35 tapes recorded on the previous camera, although they noted that if I did this they would only load as MP4 files, which would not maintain the quality of my original files. They specifically told me to "please be advised that these two cameras are from two different generations and it won’t be easy to transfer all the contents with the same quality." Fortunately, because I am always cautious when loading new software which removes existing software, I had backed up the old Motion Picture Browser. Once I reloaded this it sits alongside the PlayMemories software quite happily and continues to run the old files perfectly (although I can't run both programs at the same time). Sony should have been aware of this issue and I see it as very poor customer service that they remove Motion Picture Browser when their new software is incompatible with any existing files. Providing the ability to maintain usability between "different generations" is very basic customer support. So, great camera but appalling customer support. I did ask for my email exchange to be passed up to a higher level as a complaint but was told I could only do this by by writing to the European Head Office.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Great quality videos especially in low light.

FDR-AX53 01/16/2019 by Electric Phil

Had this for a couple of weeks and experimented with the settings to find out what works best for me videoing bands and artistes often in low light. I am delighted at the quality video results which look a great deal better than my previous Sony CX405. Even the built in mic give very good results but I will be buying the Sony ECMXYST1M.CE7 Stereo Microphone for better stereo seperation which isn't very good on the 53. Check out my youtube page Bands & Venues Burnley & Pendle for my recent vids taken using this Handycam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

almost a very good camcorder

FDR-AX53 01/09/2019 by pitney77

3 months old and used to record football games. Lack of full manual controls lets this cam down plus recently auto focus has been letting me down

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

3

0

Very impressed it has some fantastic features

FDR-AX53 01/06/2019 by Maltabus

It was a Christmas present although I haven’t had the opportunity to use it to its fullest I am very impress and after consulting the Sony help line because of a small problem which they rectified the next day I can only say thankyou sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 01/06/2019 by steambuff

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Fantastic

FDR-AX53 12/24/2018 by lawrence1952

I Ibought this a month ago so glad I did would recommend Sony to anyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very pleased

FDR-AX53 12/18/2018 by echo mike

Have this a month now and it is living up to expectations. best of all the batteries are the same type as my older model . it is a great idea that Sony keep using the same type of connection

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality product

FDR-AX53 11/12/2018 by bob 001

I was looking to upgrade my present camcorder to a 4k with viewfinder.This was the only model in stock with viewfinder which is essential for videoing motor sports.The quality of image is brilliant but the best feature is the stabilisation system,rock steady picture even at full zoom! Also i recorded the local firework display in fireworks display option,amazing picture and sound quality.So far very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Getting to grips with its many (Clear) features

FDR-AX53 11/09/2018 by Newtonairds

I have only begun to try my new AX53 but already find it so easy to operate. The still photographs are just so clear. For me - A worth-while buy

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

0

0

Hk sony

FDR-AX53 11/02/2018 by Ian37

I bought this a week ago and I am very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Better than the AX33

FDR-AX53 09/22/2018 by Toastandjam

They’ve managed to improve something that was already good. Like the extra zoom capacity and the active steady shot support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A perfect little video camera!

FDR-AX53 09/01/2018 by GordoTCG

This camera has replaced my DSLR and I use it everyday! Its my main vlogging camera and the stabilisation is unreal! Ive bought a wide angle lens and a variable ND filter on Amazon to go on the front and it has made it so much more versatile! :) For the price, this is on eof the best video cameras you can get! With an ND you can get really deep DOF and the zoom and stabilisation make it an amazing addition to a vloggers arsenal! Battery gives 5+ hours use and with a big card it means you can shoot all day with no worry! There is no sensor heating, no battery cutting out! Its menu system is easy to use and has a great 'common' button feature where you can choose the three menu items you use most to have on the main screen as well as auto focus, touch screen where you can pick brightness and other options! It also does really well in low light and paired with a ECM-GZ1M shotgun mic which attaches through the Mi Hotshoe mount, it will look and sound amazing and you never have to worry about batteries or not turning the mic on by accident! Flip out monitor is great quality and the camera is small and light and can go anywhere! It even has infrared so you can film in pitch darkness! Again, amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good camera but a couple of things to highlight.

FDR-AX53 08/30/2018 by Geek Street

I'm a YouTuber and was looking take my recordings to 4K and improve stability / quality. This camera is pretty good in terms of picture quality and has amazing zoom with optical and digital you get 250x zoom, but I was let down by a couple of points you can't select the intelligent stabilization in 4K and also recording in 5.1 Dolby surround in 4K which is a bit of a disappointment, but in general I'm still pleased with it. I've done a review of this camera including sample footage for YouTube you can find it by searching for ‘Geek Street Sony FDR-AX53’.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Disappointed it is only a 10X Zoom

FDR-AX53 08/22/2018 by PeteGirv

I am pleased with the AX53 but I am disappointed that it is advertised as having a 20X zoom and it is only actually has a 20X zoom, I do not count the 2X Macro facility as part of the zoom. Otherwise I am pleased with the camcorder, it produces good videos in the good light levels that I have used it in. The Sony software also works well with my Windows 10 computer, some reviews had mentioned problems but I have not had any with the recent software version.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Good camera picture quality is really good

FDR-AX53 08/11/2018 by chrisms

I purchased this product from John Lewis 5 weeks ago what a super camera, however John Lewis were offering a £50.00 cashback from Sony (not John Lewis) trying to claim the £50.00 cashback was not easy to say the least, and I am still awaiting the money back, I had to buy a external microphone for the camera, and set the audio to manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent use, having trouble with some features.

FDR-AX53 07/24/2018 by scaramouche54

This is my first digital camcorder, so I have nothing to compare it against. I found it pretty straightforward to get started, and the 4K video played back on my 2560 by 1440 PC HD monitor looked great. Haven't tried it on the TV yet. Transferring video to the PC is not very clear, I am not sure if I am transferring 4K or MP4. I have not been able to get the wi-fi transfer to work at all: although the network is recognised, the camera keeps insisting I connect with a USB, and the manual is no real help. That said, the wi-fi connection is hardly a problem to me. I don't much like the "Play Memories" software. I cannot seem to change the location of the transfers, from my Windows "Pictures" folder to a folder on one of my support drives (which have far more space). But I would not be surprised if most of this is just what I haven't yet found. The user guide download is very helpful, but I would really like more "help for dummies" such as myself. As a first such buy, I am overall very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Nice pictures but terrible App

FDR-AX53 07/18/2018 by MCole2460

I bought this one week ago and have now returned it to get my money back. The only way to transfer data, away from home, is the Wi-fi via an App which doesn’t work. SD card does not work with iPad or iPhone to transfer data. Imagine quality is fine but, unless the issues with the App are resolved, if the only other products in your home come from Apple, then this is not the product for you

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Like being at sea

FDR-AX53 07/17/2018 by Paul3780

Brought just over a month ago to film a wedding. The boss system when zooming is not good. It floats about horribly which really shows up in video. I'm going back to try and exchange this product today but fear I won't have any luck so will be stuck with it.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 07/13/2018 by ggstable

I needed needed needed needed to upgrade from CX760 fo 4k

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Well specified highly functional camcorder

FDR-AX53 07/11/2018 by AX53_Novice

I bought the AX53 just over a month ago and have really enjoyed using it. The BOSS (image stabilising) feature means hand held zoomed in shots are no longer all over the place. It really works well. The only very small issue is if the shot is a pan and the floating lens wobbles ever so slightly at the end, but it's not a big deal for me. I also like the manual override feature which allows me to compensate for dark interiors shot from outside etc. The camcorder itself is light, but heavy enough to keep the shot steady. It feels comfortable in the palm and all the necessary controls are easy to get at.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very nice bit of kit

FDR-AX53 07/04/2018 by Download Dave

This does what it says on the can, very easy to use the and video quality is impressive at 4k. Battery life is good and menu is easy to get around . Image stabilisation is 2nd to none, really makes the shots very steady.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice but difficult to use

FDR-AX53 06/08/2018 by Nigi

The image quality and sound are second to none. So as a pick up and shoot camera it’s perfect. It also has many inbuilt options like a more professional camera but these can only be accessed via a touch menu on the screen making setup very awkward and frustrating. The instruction book supplied is also next to useless.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Super Sony

FDR-AX53 06/01/2018 by Mickieb

Good all round video camera great manual features easy to use nicely built cannot fault it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It is good ,but I still learning this

FDR-AX53 05/27/2018 by Revaro

I am very exited about this camera and looking forward to start make nice videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing quality movies and perfect sound

FDR-AX53 05/20/2018 by PENDZEL

I had a choice between Panasonic hc-vxf1 and Sony fdr-ax53. Maybe Panasonic is a newer model and has a bit more possibilities but for me the highest quality of movies is important and the image from the Sony camera suits me better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

New video camera

FDR-AX53 05/20/2018 by Steve 1000

I purchased this 4K camera as a replacement for my Sony Handycam bought sometime ago

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

First impression

FDR-AX53 05/17/2018 by Jwe123

I have made the step from hd to 4k with this camcorder and am not disappointed. The larger camcorder handles well, and the ring makes manual operation much easier than in my old sony camcorder. A big step up in image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very good - almost superb

FDR-AX53 05/16/2018 by MPkr

I bought this to replace my AX33 since the additional zoom range is valuable. On wildlife trips around the world I need a light camera. BOSS is superb (as in the AX33) which made me decide on this rather than the heavier AX700 with the larger sensor with faster focusing. Video quality at 4K and HD is superb. The one niggle I have is the same as with the AX33 - the viewfinder - too few pixels and brightness cannot be adjusted. Improving that and putting phase detection autofocusing on the sensor would make an unbeatable small camcorder. The design of the display could be improved. For example the fact that the manual ring is kept on zoom shows a sign in a white box in the display, in an important part of the field of view. I would willingly pay more for the additional features like a better viewfinder, full manual control and higher frame rate 4K.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Two week review

FDR-AX53 04/30/2018 by Manwithacamera

After some inital test usage, I used this camera to record an outdoor musical event. Good feedback from all the artists including a professional who comment on the good sound quality. Disappointed that seemingly no stock of spare batteries currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 04/26/2018 by Gasjkh2

Very happy with my purchase. I bought this model primarily for the excellent BOSS stabilisation system. Great camcorder.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera

FDR-AX53 04/21/2018 by mikesachs53

Excellent video camera with the amazing BOSS system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worth The Money!

FDR-AX53 03/23/2018 by darmstro64

This camera met all my expectations in terms of performance and build quality. I bought it to replace an ageing HDR-HC9E, and it certainly is a great improvement. I have not fully tested it yet, but initial results were very good. The stabilisation system works well and the menus are easy to navigate. The quality of the Full HD footage is excellent - I have not tested the 4K format yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Magnificent picture, poor sound

FDR-AX53 03/23/2018 by CLR1

Brilliant picture quality is marred by the mechanical noise of the camera picked up on the built-in microphone. I thought this was a fault with the camera I bought and contacted Menna at the Sony support team who suggested returning the camera to Pencoed for repair. Before doing so I checked with John Lewis from whom I bought the camera and listened to their demo example. It made identical mechanical noise thus indicating a design fault. To get round the problem I purchased an ECM-XYST1 microphone which when placed on the camera leaves the hinged cover of the accessory shoe flapping about as it does not appear to be removeable. Had I known all this before purchasing the camera I would not have bought it. I have considerable experience of both Sony consumer and Sony broadcast products - I worked for over forty years for the BBC. I welcome your comments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great video camera

FDR-AX53 02/18/2018 by Runner 55

Bought for a holiday to India and have been amazed at the quality of the videos taken. Zoom is brilliant and the graphics of fantastic. Have managed to take some superb videos of tiger and leopard which have made this purchase worth while. This video is easy to use ,light to carry and a good price. Very pleased with the purchase. It also takes excellent pictures a definite added plus. Overall a great buy and would recommend for a first purchase for novice video users.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb quality

FDR-AX53 02/17/2018 by Merlin7

I have only had it for over a seek but immediately the high quality of the camera was evident. I am thrilled with it and am enjoying the experience of getting to know all of its superb qualities..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

FDR-AX53 02/07/2018 by Champy

An excellent product in every way..... so impressed with the 4K ..brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality but not always instinctive to use

FDR-AX53 02/02/2018 by Worsley

Many features are an improvement on older models, but editing parts of shots for example was much easiere with tape model. Still trying to work out how to do 'in-camera' edits as I shoot with this digital version for example. Picture quality excellent compared to tapes, lighter and good lens etc. Happy on the whole so fa, will be very happy once I crack the code in the manual and work out what I'm supposed to do to access all but the most basic features. For the money a properly written manual in full should be included, not a skimpy one then an on-line poorly translated one lacking clarity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great stability/ Great zoom/ easy to use.

FDR-AX53 01/19/2018 by Stargeezer1947

I wanted a good video camera for videos of my granddaughter’s and the Sony AX53 4K just fitted the bill. It as a very good sensor and low- light feature and a long zoom that comes in handy for those far hard to reach places, it has a good steady shot feature it’s just like having a gimbal permanently fitted to it. It’s all automatic for people to use but if you want to get more creative you can use manual modes to better your understanding of video film photography “Would I recommend this camera to the biginer “ yes I would as you can leave it in automatic and it does it all for you and the film a still photo’s that it produces are excellent and very professional and it comes in at a very reasonable price and gives the compertision a run for it’s money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to use

FDR-AX53 01/12/2018 by jeddy

easy to use light weight good quality picture easy to handle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

4k camcorder

FDR-AX53 01/05/2018 by Brisals

I have had this camcorder now for couple of weeks, over all i am happy with it but there are some functions that i'm not happy about, like the lose of IS when on a tripod, and there is only 12 seconds of slow motion video,also you have to use a computer to put "together" time laps video whilst other camcorders do it while recording.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

An embarrassment of riches

FDR-AX53 01/02/2018 by Alek Hidell

This 4K camcorder proves that the format is far from extinct. It can double as a very competent stills camera and does so very successfully. The 30x optical zoom is very clean, and the ability to program the “focus” ring to other functions is very useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr

FDR-AX53 12/14/2017 by saab

Excellent Camera beautiful 4K Videos a proud owener love the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 12/14/2017 by HowH

Product does exactly what it is supposed to. Easy to use and set up. Excellent video and stabilsation works well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but needs more manual control

FDR-AX53 12/13/2017 by Demmy

The best camera I ever bought in my life, couldn't ask for more except full manual control over the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

ax53

FDR-AX53 11/26/2017

very convenient packed with clever features and great price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great value for money

FDR-AX53 11/20/2017 by chasjardine

I bought this about a month ago to replace my 12 year old HD Sony, This new AX53 4K is a great upgrade, Sony have always made great products. I use it to record speaking engagements and some outdoor activities, really good in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Value

FDR-AX53 11/19/2017 by Luccombe Lad

Good camera, which works great in Auto mode. I like the touch screen, and the fact you can turn it to face you, which is great for Vlogging. But, I would have liked S-log gamma control.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great quality video pictures, not such good sound

FDR-AX53 11/13/2017 by Gricerman

I bought this Handycam 3 months ago and thought the picture quality was, as expected, excellent. The image stabilisation is also excellent. However I find the microphone being located on top of the camcorder with only a small; aperture pointing forward, does not give the best quality sound recordings. I shall have to purchase a separate microphone to plug in to give me better sound recordings to go with the video I am also concerned that the microphone being on top and exposed may be damaged if there is any mist or drizzle when recording.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0