RRP

€ 310.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
342

4.2 based on 342 customer reviews

165
117
30
15
15
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

HDRCX405/B 04/28/2015  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to work, little problems on the menu otherwise very functional

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Be cautious with the reviews!

HDR-CX405 05/21/2018 by Kel1203 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel I have been cheated by the reviews - the sound is rubbish and some say it's brilliant! Such a lie. I used it to interview people and you have to max the TV/PC volume to hear it, the camcorder is generally ok and easy to use, but this is a massive let down. And you can't even attached a mic. If you want it for anything closeup, then this is a winner. I bought this because it can film for a longer period than my max of 30 minute canon camera, but if you 'pause' enough it will be fine - I wish I used my camera instead and certainly will do so in the future.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

342 Customer Reviews

0

Easy to use

HDRCX405B 05/11/2022 by Teseract86 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camcorder is simple to use and lightweight, and has a couple of camera effects built in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Parfait

HDR-CX405 05/05/2022 by zouala66 (France)

Excellent appareil, facile à utiliser. Qualité parfaite même pour les photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Unbelievably Great Videos From A Compact Machine

HDRCX405B 05/03/2022 by Babalooo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was so light I wasn't expecting much from this camera when purchased but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the videos. This little, light camera has become my go to camera to carry with me at all times. Very happy with my purchase!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic!

HDRCX405B 04/26/2022 by Charles of the Ritz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very satisfied with purchase. Easy to operate. Compact size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Très Bien

HDR-CX405 03/21/2022 by JeanMimi84 (France)

Très bon produit, Son excellent, Qualité image excellente, Super Zoom !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Sony Sucks

HDRCX405B 03/07/2022 by Mellogrrl65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tried getting a hold of someone for help. Good luck getting help. Their camcorders are horrible. I bought mine 2018 and it's ruined one of my SD card. Another old camcorder of theirs stopped taking cassettes. All of these contain memories of all of my dogs who died. NEVER BUY ANY SONY PRODUCT!!!!

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Fine little camcorder

HDR-CX405 03/05/2022 by gbarac72 (United Kingdom)

This is fine little HD camera with great picture and sound quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony support team
03/07/2022

Hi gbarac72,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Leichte Handycam mit überzeugenden Eigenschaften

HDR-CX405 02/16/2022  (Germany)

Das Objektiv erlaubt Nahaufnahmen mit guter Tiefenschärfe, die mit einer herkömmlichen Kamera so nicht ohne weiteres erreicht wird (siehe Modellbahn-Aufnahme). Kleine Erschütterungen werden bei Video-Aufnahmen viel besser ausgeglichen. Die Handhabung ist denkbar einfach.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Not Happy

HDRCX405/B 02/14/2022 by Mellogrrl65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in 2018, used this maybe a few dozen times and I'm starting to have problems. It's been freezing and making memories I have on the card, skip or distorted. These cards I have are memories of three dogs that have passed on. I'm very upset considering I haven't used it much and it's already crapping out. This is the second Sony camcorder that has done this. I will NEVER buy Sony camcorder again. I have memories of my now deceased dogs where words are cut out and pictures distorted. And yes, I'm great at keep my things clean and away from moisture and heat.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Awesome starter camcorder

HDRCX405B 02/06/2022 by Shogun assasin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product for the price I’m more than pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

HDR-CX405 01/29/2022 by Stevie Q (United Kingdom)

Bought this camcorder as a replacement for a Panasonic V100 which I've had for 10+ years but was showing it's age, only recorded in HD 1080i at 25fps and the microphone had started to pick-up internal noise. Otherwise it has been an excellent camcorder. I chose the CX405 because the equivalent Panasonic was out-of-stock everywhere. I was expecting the Sony to give improved pictures over my old Panny as it could record in 1080p at 50fps, but am disappointed that the clarity is no better and the Panasonic gives smoother panning (no pun intended) than the Sony. I would be tempted to return it if it wasn't for the audio problem with the Panny and I need a camcorder. I have to say though that it hasn't reached my expectations. In some respects I feel I've wasted my money.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
02/01/2022

Hi Stevie,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with HDR-CX405.
You can check this link to learn more about the camera and get the best settings out of it based on your own preferences: https://bit.ly/3gc2QPY
Rest assured, we've raised your feedback to the relevant department for future considerations.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Good video camera and camcorder

HDR-CX405 01/11/2022 by kenpopat (United Kingdom)

sorry no photos as I have not stored any photos just yet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
01/13/2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your HDR-CX405 and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

My review for HDRCX405

HDRCX405B 12/22/2021 by Doris Jean (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Love It. It is easy to use and it takes excellent photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

camera for Virginia Water art society for demos

HDR-CX405 11/26/2021 by macamera (United Kingdom)

We have a demonstration at our monthly meeting and so that everyone can see we project it on to large screen our old Sony action camera broke and found this to be ideal have not had a chance to use it properly yet but will let you know how we get on.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
11/29/2021


Hi,
Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your handy camera, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Amr@Sony Support

0

Prise en main très facile. Produit léger et facile

HDR-CX405 11/22/2021 by Gégé du 69 (France)

Trés bon produit acheté le 26 Novembre 2018. Superbes vidéos. Utilisation trés facile et maniement aisé. Très beau design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Fantastic Handycan

HDR-CX405 11/01/2021 by Highlander67 (United Kingdom)

Have wanted a cam for a wee while This is a fantastic cam, fairly easy to use, takes good photos as well as the video cam aspect. Reasonably priced ... would recommend the camera to friends and fam

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WOW !

HDRCX405B 10/15/2021 by sonyken (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super light, super easy to use and great movies and photos, for a great price !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bon produit

HDR-CX405 10/13/2021 by Nelly311 (France)

Bon caméscope pour une utilisation familiale. Le zoom est très satisfaisant, j'aurais aimé un écran tactile qui rendrait son utilisation plus simple et rapide. Dommage!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
01/19/2022

Bonjour Nelly,
Merci pour votre commentaire!
Nous sommes ravis d'entendre votre retour positif.
Votre commentaire a retenu toute notre attention.
Nous allons transmettre votre observation au département concerné.
Merci pour votre fidélité.
Inas@Sony FR

0

Nice little camcorder

HDR-CX405 08/10/2021 by Ess Eff Emm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice little camcorder, bought recently to take videos and pictures from visits to sites that I undertake, which it does very well. Photos transfer up to the computer but so far unable to upload videos, even with the video software at sony.net/pm.... Need to get that sorted somehow in order to upload and then it will fulfill all that I need it for.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
08/12/2021

Hi Ess,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
Having read your feedback, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sony Support UK

0

Cheap and Cheerful

HDR-CX405 07/14/2021 by user 25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought as a replacement for a Canon camera which had given up the ghost because Canon models that I was interested in were not available. The model is quite small and light and appears to be mainly built of plastic. Lens and picture quality appear on a par with my previous model. Access to features is by a button which appears not to be particularly robust. As with all such cameras there is no view finder these days which to my mind is a retrograde step. Seems reasonable for the price I paid

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support
07/16/2021

Hi user 25,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sony Support UK

0

Fair camera

HDRCX405B 07/13/2021 by Gofer303 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this cam for a general use always on hand unit. The first problem is the white balance when in auto mode really has bad results, manual WB only passable. Cant plug in power and record at the same time. No android compatable software, otherwise is a fair deal..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
09/16/2021

Hello Gofer303, Sony's commitment to customer satisfaction is our top priority. Thank you for your feedback regarding the HDR-CX405. You are able to power the HDR-CX405 from a wall outlet by using the USB connection support cable and the AC Adaptor. While we do have the Imaging Edge Mobile App for Android and iOS available for other cameras and camcorders, the HDR-CX405 specifically does not feature Wi-Fi to connect wirelessly to a smart phone. If you would like further assistance with your white balance settings, please contact our Support Team using the following link:
https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/support-contact?language=en_US&category=di

0

Parfait pour grand public

HDR-CX405 06/19/2021 by ThC1 (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Produit complet et très bon rapport qualité prix. Je recommande

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

No charging

HDRCX405/B 06/19/2021 by Jr9542 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less than a year ago and the battery no longer charges

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

My Review for HDRCX405B camera is a glowing one.

HDRCX405B 06/16/2021 by amateur cook (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to make some Cooking videos for YouTube. I had not owned a video camera before so I did a lot of research before I purchased my Sony CX-405. My research led me to the right choice. The camera was affordable, compact to handle and use on the tripod I purchased along with it. It thinks for itself and gets me to the right settings automatically. It takes great shots even though I don't know much about photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The camera works great......

HDRCX405/B 06/06/2021 by tim4372 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

But the process to register it is extremely frustrating. I am at the step where you guys ask for a proof of purchase, the model and serial numbers. I have been taken in a continuous loop, after I upload the picture, provide the model number, serial number, purchase date and where I purchased the camcorder, I take back to the page asking if I want a warranty. This page precedes the model and serial number page. Then, I will start the process all over again. Other than that, the product works great!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

handy size and functions

HDR-CX405 05/27/2021 by chrissunbeam (United Kingdom)

good alround camera. wish it was easier to change from video to still, bit of a nightmare downloading data if you dont do it often an forget how.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer Support
05/31/2021

Hi Chrissunbeam,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Tres bon produit

HDR-CX405 04/28/2021 by Alger1960 (France)

ce caméscope me donne entier satisfaction, je l'utilise pour garder des souvenirs

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

I like the video it takes but there is a fault

HDR-CX405 04/26/2021 by DaveG77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the image quality and the weight of this camcorder. but there is a fault that it sometimes does not record. I tried resetting it as suggested but I havnt had the time to test it since. I do hope the fault is corrected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Customer Support
05/01/2021

Hi Dave,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Sony handy cam, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
You can also try to remove the battery and put it back.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL (copy and paste this link in your browser)

Sony Support UK

0

Camcorder

HDR-CX405 04/08/2021 by Marriott96 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this handy camcorder for about 5 years now and it's just as good when I received it as a present, I would highly recommend it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great thing will happen to you

HDRCX405/B 03/30/2021 by Seacaptain2021 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

HD cameras are the talk of the town. Buy a Sony CX405 and join the trend setters.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Doesn't Work Unless You Buy A Memory Card Separate

HDR-CX405 03/20/2021 by VeryVeryUnhappy (USA)

I can't rate the blasted thing, because it doesn't work as sold. It doesn't come with a memory card and it doesn't work without one. Now I have to figure out what card to buy and where, and what's an acceptable price. No warning of this anywhere in the marketing. Thought I was getting a working camcorder for the advertised price. Live and learn, I guess, but what an odd sales practice. If I ever order a car online, maybe it will be delivered without tires.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Probably the best basic camera on the markey

HDR-CX405 02/16/2021 by Adrian61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought 5 for streaming church services. The image quality it excellent, even in lighting conditions which are not the brightest. You can only get a clean hdmi output on 1080 and with hdmi ctrl off. It has basic facilities, no Wi-fi for example, but it is excellent for our purposes. If streaming, recommend the use of fibre optic cables.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

PARFAIT

HDR-CX405 01/11/2021 by Arequipa (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ce caméscope correspond parfaitement à mon usage. Très facile à utiliser de par son poids et sa maniabilité.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Hyper léger

HDR-CX405 01/07/2021 by Wxcnbv (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Très bon milieu de gamme.... Performant et hyper léger en main.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

super

HDR-CX405 01/07/2021 by nobru (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

j'ai acheter ce produit pour débuter en vidéo c'est parfait,et de plus il est petit donc on l'avoir dans la poche du blouson prêt à mitrailler

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

It's a camera...

HDR-CX405 01/04/2021 by StickMan11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this camera. It does camerary things......like a camera.

3

4

0

Mostly great. love the zoom, but no external mike

HDRCX405B 01/04/2021 by jim_W (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is very easy to use with all controls easy to use. I love the zoom range, it actually amazing. I wished I could connect a wireless make to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

takes excellent vixeos

HDRCX405B 12/21/2020 by Oregonian (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had it over a year and it is so compact and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

easy to use

HDRCX405/B 12/20/2020 by Family Cam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few years ago and it works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sehr intuitiv

HDR-CX405 12/05/2020 by VIDEO111Joschuah (Germany)

Benutze die Kamera sehr gerne zum erstellen von Familienfilmen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

No external Mic

HDRCX405/B 11/14/2020 by Zalva (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not really happy that I can not use an external mic.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

super Leicht

HDR-CX405 09/14/2020 by Wein5164 (Germany)

Kamera seit 2018 in Benutzung, Die Bedienung ist Kinderleicht. Aufnahmen einfach Spitze. Preis Leistung stehen hier voll im Einklang.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

bon appareil

HDR-CX405 08/31/2020 by toto999 (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

légère, facile a manier, viseur clair, bon appareil pour démarrer la video

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Compact and easy to use

HDR-CX405 08/25/2020 by LindaJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small, handy (!) camcorder - easy to use. Still working on the editing side but like the quality of video produced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Klein, leicht, lange Laufzeit... Funktioniert!

HDR-CX405 08/02/2020 by Currock (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ich habe diese Kamera gebraucht gekauft. Der Vorbesitzer hat sie gut behandelt, sieht aus wie neu und funktioniert auch so. Ohne irgend etwas einzustellen nimmt sie im Auto-Modus auf, was soll man sagen? Die Darstellung im Display und auf den Videos und Fotos ist sehr gut. Der Zoombereich ist ebenfalls sehr groß, Steadyshot (Anti-Wackel-Funktion) arbeitet auch sehr gut. Die Bedienung über den Joystick ist etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig, aber an Kameras mag ich sowieso keine Touchscreens. Als "immer-dabei-Videokamera" sehr ordentlich. Eben eine SONY.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

rapport qualité prix incroyable

HDR-CX405 08/01/2020 by karamba26op (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Le CX405 fait beaucoup plus et mieux qu'il ne le laisse paraitre, un vrai coup de coeur

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

GREAT LITTLE CAMERA

HDRCX405/B 07/19/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

WE USE IT FOR FISHING / BEACH TRIPS. WORKS GREAT.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Like the curate's egg - good in parts

HDR-CX405 06/20/2020 by TJRS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The eternal problem for me is that I'm not at bright as the average customer. The amount of prior knowledge that I am assumed to have by the manufacturer before I take delivery of their product is completely baseless. And that means I am invariably struggling to get the best from the item - in this case my CX405 handicam. What is the most appropriate card to go out and buy to put in it. No clue in the instructions. What programme do I install on my laptop to edit the results. No clue in the instructions. How do I edit the results and trim it up and present something watchable to my family and friends. No clue. How do I use the refinements the camera claims to have. What do they do to the pictures. What mode does what. The list is endless. The result is the camera isn't used and can't be enjoyed. One day I may work it all out but in the meantime only buy this if you have owned and enjoyed having a handicam before. I expect its quite good. Four stars because the lip on the screen that you use to open the thing up is too small and it takes several goes before it stops slipping back shut having issued an infuriating little 'ping' each time you fail to open it. Oh, and it needs somewhere to attach a lanyard as I hang it round my neck whilst I out on my walks.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

4

Response From Customer support
06/25/2020

Hi TJRS

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to learn you're facing difficulties setting up your camera and would like to recommend checking the online Help Guide to get familiar with any of the features you want to use: https://bit.ly/3fNPNCa

You can always contact us if more assistance is needed: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

We've also passed your feedback about the exterior design of the camera through the proper channels for future consideration.

Sony support team

0

Whether you're an armature or Professional

HDRCX405B 06/16/2020 by Satisficed Customer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After having my Sony HD-CX405 video cam nearly a month, I have not stopped using it. The interface is extraordinary. The mobility feature makes using it easy in any situation. I use it to film many events, indoor and outdoor waterever the lighting situation you have to deal with, this handy cam has you covered. I use it to film my church services, the results are astounding in the picture quality. The ability to zoom in and out are smooth and with professional results. And taking still photos are easy and with high quality results. I only wish I had bought one sooner

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Bon rapport qualité/prix

HDR-CX405 06/13/2020 by Fatale focale (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pratique et peu encombrante. Bonne qualité d'image pour un prix assez modique. Le micro intégré est plutôt performant , ce qui n'est pas très fréquent sur ce type de caméra, même si on peut regretter l'absence d'entrée pour un micro externe. Simplicité d'utilisation. Correspond bien à ce que j'en attendais.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Leicht zu bedienende Kamera

HDR-CX405 06/09/2020  (Germany)

Schöne, gut in der Hand liegende Handycam, mit der man gut und schnell filmen oder fotografieren kann!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Great features but hard to understand instructions

HDRCX405/B 05/29/2020 by odb4god (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like ti but hard to understand instruction on all the features.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Une qualité pile dans mes attentes (Youtubeur)

HDR-CX405 05/25/2020 by Promo52 (France)

je viens de le recevoir et de le tester. Je me filme autant face cam qu'en exterieur et ai besooin de beaucoup de qualité notamment de zoom pour les courses moto que je filmes ou quand les autres me filme moi sur la piste. (utile pour travailler le pilotage). Après plusieurs articles d'autres marques acheté puis renvoyé car vraiment pas satisfait, je suis BLUFFÉ par celui-ci! Je possède déjà une sony de 2007 qualité SD enregistrement sur CD dont j'ai été très satisfait durant des années mais je n'avais pas les moyens de m'en acheter une récente. Celle-ci a un rapport qualité/prix exceptionnel. L'image est bonne, stable, caméra éxtremement légère, instinctive. le menu est compréhensible. L'USB est astucieuse, la micro SD rend l'enregistrement facile ainsi que les transfers. J'approuve! Seul point "noir" pour chipotter, j'aurai aimé avoir une prise pour monter un micro et une vue IR ou night shot . VRAIMENT POUR CHIPOTTER

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Facile à l'emploi,les fonctions sont claires

HDR-CX405 05/24/2020 by miguel1946 (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

J'ais acheté ce camescope il y a 15 jours,et suis très satisfais Je me film devant un tissus vert pour rajouter des fonds d'écran,et aucune bavure,le sujet ressort très bien,et très net Play memories home,je ne m'en sers pas,je copie direct sur pc,copier coller,et çà va très bien et rapide Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Für den Preis ein gutes Gerät

HDR-CX405 05/04/2020 by Weißbescheid (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bis jetzt zufrieden. Leichte Bedienung und gute Fotos und Videos. Die zoomfunktion finde ich toll.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

easily stored in pocket

HDR-CX405 04/02/2020 by CAIT2020 (Ireland)

Bought before I went on holidays and easy to use and carry. Difficult to obtain sandisk replacement whilst on holidays in Africa

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fehlkauf

HDR-CX405 03/18/2020 by Jgrtcju (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Leider total der Fehlkauf. War schon nach kurzer Zeit defekt. Viel Ärger mit Sony wegen der Reperatur obwohl Garantie. Absolut abzuraten !

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

Response From Customer Service
03/20/2020

Hi Jgrtcju,

es tut uns leid, das zu hören. Da wir mehr Informationen benötigen, empfehlen wir dir, uns direkt zu kontaktieren. Die Kontaktdaten findest du unter dem folgenden Link: http://clc.to/8iN1pw (kopiere den Link und füge ihn in ein neues Browserfenster ein).

Sony Support Team

0

Ma premiere experience

HDR-CX405 03/15/2020  (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

J'ai acheté ce caméscope le mois dernier et je suis content notamment de ses zoom, son et qualité image; mais mon problème est l'impossibilité, malgré le téléchargement du logiciel ad hoc PM Home, à copier mon film. Sans ce point, je serai déçu de mon choix. Les conseils de l'aide en ligne ne m'ont pas aidé et pas d'adresse contact pour exposer mon problème.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Slightly Disappointing

HDR-CX405 02/27/2020 by Peter214 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera to film a Village stage play, The first attempt the battery ran out half way through the second act. On the second attempt the the charging lead was used and the whole play (two hours long) captured successfully . The picture quality is reasonable but slow to focus and the camera was slow to respond to changes in light levels.Changing the camera settings seems to require a lot of practise as the menus are small and difficult to interpret and the selection button very fiddly. Downloading to Play Memories Home (PMH) took a long time and editing the film was not easy using PMH. A cut and paste facility on PMH would be very helpful. Adding captions also took time to master. Saving the film after editing took nearly two hours. I am sure this camera would be great for taking short clips.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

Response From Customer Support
03/01/2020

Hi,

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear this. The recording time may vary depending on the settings used. You can find more information about the expected recording time here: http://bit.ly/32G6eeh. We have embedded a search feature in the online Help Guide to facilitate the process of searching for various functions of the camera: http://bit.ly/3aloLz4. We have also created an online Help Guide for PlayMemories Home depending on each operating system, you can find a link showing how to use for Windows and Mac here: http://bit.ly/2uZFcie. If you require further assistance, you may contact us using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM.

Sony Support Team

0

Einfache Bedienung, gute HD Qualität

HDR-CX405 02/18/2020 by weSpe048 (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Endlich mal eine einfache Kamera, deren Menue sehr Bedienerfreundlich ist. Durch den Joystick am Monitor können Einstellungen sehr schnell und einfach geändert werden.Ebenfalls ist das Bedienermenue sehr übersichtlich gestaltet. Leider kann man mit dieser Kamera keine Zeitraffer Aufnahmen machen. Ansonsten stimmt das Preis Leistungsverhältnis. Eine gute Kamera auch für Einsteiger

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Great for beginner

HDRCX405/B 02/18/2020 by Ezwandy Ahmad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I. Love it.....love it.... really love....nice....godd

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/20/2020

Hi Ezwandy Ahmad,

Thank you for choosing Sony! Enjoy your camcorder.

Regards,
David

0

Great features great picture and easy to use

HDR-CX405 02/18/2020 by Tollie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy. Small light and very portable. Not sure about battery life yet because have only had for a month.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

HDR-CX405 02/16/2020 by DaveyB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this camera after researching various brands of similar priced ones. I have had Sony Handycams before over a good number of years and been satisfied. This camera has proved to be very good value, light in weight and easy to get used to. The simple functions and menus are intuitive so I took some minutes. The quality looks fine to me and transferring the video via the micro SD card to my PC proved so much more convenient with no wire connections to set up. I like this little camera a lot.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent appareil

HDR-CX405 02/13/2020 by jojo2a (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

On m'a offert cet article pour noël dernier. Après avoir fait quelques films avec depuis, j'en suis jusqu'à maintenant pleinement satisfait. je suis bluffé par la qualité d'image, le stabilisateur lors d'un zoom est très opérant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

super leger

HDR-CX405 01/24/2020 by STBF (France)

ACHETE RECEMMENT ET TRES LEGER, ZOOM ENORME, STABILISATEUR

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

light weight-easy to read instructions

HDRCX405/B 01/17/2020 by jimby (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this for Christmas to take pictures and videos of the hummingbirds in our backyard. It is way smarter then I am but fun to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
01/20/2020

Hello, jimby!

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

First bad Sony product I've owned

HDR-CX405 01/14/2020 by lawyer121212121 (USA)

It's already been sent for repair once and it's going back for the exact same issue. When recording videos, on playback, there is a blur/fuzzy/hazy area in the lower center of the images videotaped. Received it back from repair with the exact same issue. So, sending it back again and not expecting anything to change. Waste of money!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/17/2020

Hi, lawyer121212121!

This is not the experience we want you to have. If you continue to have this issue with the replacement unit, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Please include your case number so we can review your file.

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

bon materiel

HDR-CX405 01/13/2020 by tita56 (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

un cadeau pour Noel trés contente et je le conseil

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Great picture and great value

HDRCX405B 01/06/2020 by Jeff1964 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 months ago and used it to record my kids' hockey games. We re-watch "films" on 55" TV screens and have used the free SONY software on a desktop computer to store videos. Potential downsides: * Camera itself feels very lightweight so I wonder about durability. No problems yet. * Batteries that came with the camera (one original and one aftermarket) are small form factor and don't always last through an hour long event. * LCD screen is relatively small and using controls on screen is challenging for adult (aka old) eyes. I have to remove the memory card and insert it into a computer to delete media files.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

bon produit

HDR-CX405 12/30/2019 by auteur50100 (France)

reçu en cadeau cette année pour remplacer mon précèdent sony, je ravi de ce cadeau. bonne qualité d'image et de son. zoom exceptionnel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Bonne définition et bonne autonomie

HDR-CX405 12/29/2019 by jcgaston (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Premier test avec ce produit très concluant. Enregistrement très satisfaisant d'un concert personnel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Produit répondant à mes attentes

HDR-CX405 12/26/2019  (France)

Simple d'utilisation.Commandes très intuitives.Très légères

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0