20

4.1 based on 20 customer reviews

9
7
3
0
1
Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great for wireless

HVL-F43M 12/22/2014 by Nate

I bought the F43M flash mainly for wireless HSS (high speed sync) so I can photograph at higher shutter speeds outdoors whilst still retaining/combating natural light. Mainly used with my portable softbox and beauty dish and so far the F43M hasn't let me down. It kicks out enough power for my usage, although if you require something more powerfull I would have to recommend the F60. The unit is very simple to use with a generous sized LCD screen on the back displaying all the info. To access HSS, you just need to change your shutter speed above 1/250th (depending on your camera sync speed) and the flash will automatically turn on HSS which is very handy. The quick shift bounce is quite an intuitive design and makes it easier to get the flash positioned. Definitely recomended for those who want a wireless setup with some excellent features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Flash when it works

HVL-F43M 07/09/2014 by Steve114

The flash is really good when it works the few times Ive used it in anger in any great amount, Wedding and fashion show after a few shots about 10 it shuts down due to over heating. Ive seen no one else with this fault so it might be mine only but its really annoying and I have to open the battery compartment and allow a minute or so for cool down.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

8

20 Customer Reviews

0

Great flash but some features missing.

HVL-F43M 02/16/2019 by Cueball999

This flash does a fantastic job. I've used it to do a wedding, and various other tasks. Unfortunately it fail short when I had to photograph an evening party. The focus assist lamp will not work for mirrorless cameras. After a bit of research, the way it needs to focus, the lamp is not compatible with focus assist. This goes for all mirrorless cameras. This was such a big let down, so I had to rely on manual focusing. The in body focus asisst lamp was no good, not really up to the task. The other thing I noticed, I could not use a second flash gun with this Sony flash. If you want to use off camera flash. To trigger other flash guns I have had in the past, it would detect a flash from the camera or other flash gun, then trigger itself. This Sony flash cannot be triggered by another flash. This was also annoying, as I have a third party flash, cheaper as well, that can be triggered by flash as a remote. Why can't this flash be triggered from the pop up flash? When cheaper alternatives can.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost perfect!

HVL-F43M 01/03/2019 by JohnB2764

Having purchased a Sony Alpha 9 MkII I found only limited connectivity with my existing Metz flash units and consequently purchased the HVL F43M flash unit. As soon as the camera and flash were connected (an extremely simple locking mechanism makes it easy to mount and dismount) the pair worked as one fully integrated unit. For domestic photography the F43M is more than powerful enough for bounce flash and the swivel options make this suitable for landscape and portrait options. So far a perfect match! My one reservation, and hence "only" 4 stars is that I have been unable to configure the flash to be remotely fired by another (non-Sony) flash gun. It may be that I just haven't understood how to achieve this, in which case I will fully retract this crtitiscism, but this is a problem for me. Other than this I am delighted with the flashgun andcertainly recommend it.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Delusional HSS

HVL-F43M 11/22/2018 by Kiennixx

Not all happy to spend such an amount of money to find out ttl in hss flaws in certain situations and mostly in vertical positions. I would have preferred hvl f60rm

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

hvl-f43m

HVL-F43M 09/20/2018 by Chistone

So far used it a few times for family photo shoot with amazing results. Still confused getting flash to fire instantly

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very good buy

HVL-F43M 09/03/2018 by Trippy

Only negative would be its size, other than that quality build with excelent features.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A powerful flashgun, with some great features

HVL-F43M 09/02/2018 by Mitch54

Have used this for a couple of months now and am now starting to get used to the more advanced features. So far, it certainly meets, or even exceeds, my expectations. With the Sony cash back offer, it makes it pretty good value.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great flash

HVL-F43M 08/31/2018 by Pendo30

Recently joined a photography club and needed a flash. Used a couple of times now and it's been excellent. May need another flash if want to use wirelessly. Led light is also very useful!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

F43m

HVL-F43M 08/19/2018 by None999

Good neat product Easy to use Good quality and delivery

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Pretty good. Not great.

HVL-F43M 08/04/2018 by Emd Media

It’s a little clunky on top of the mirror less a7iii. I like the way the flash head rotates. Power output is consistent.

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

First Class

HVL-F43M 05/17/2018 by taintongary

Excellent Value, this flash is represents perfect compatibility with my Sony A7 mk 11

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice Flashgun

HVL-F43M 01/18/2018 by Wolff24

Good quality flashgun with through the lens metering which helps take some of the guesswork out of flash photography

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect Match For A7 Models.

HVL-F43M 01/16/2018 by PatsyD

Bought this to use with recently acquired A7S. Did quick test, straight out of the box with bounce flash and the results using TTL metering, were extremely accurate/faultless, colour was spot on/natural. Whilst the A7S is obviously extremely capable in low-light, there are obviously instances when to use flash. Put this flash on and the files simply 'pop'.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It does everything I need

HVL-F43M 01/13/2018 by clemb

I needed to replace an old flash and this has proved to be an excellent replacement.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good flash

HVL-F43M 07/06/2017 by R6zaya

I bought this flash half a year ago to shoot indoors. It displays great result when used normally, but tends to overheat if flashing in a series. Overall I am satisfyed with its performance. The flash is designed very well adding flexibility in use.

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overheated badly

HVL-F43M 12/05/2016 by Salti Sea Dog

I bought this a month ago when I switched systems from Nikon to Sony to go with my new A7R2. The first time I used it for a job it wasn't recognised by the A7R2 so I used it with my older A7. After about half an hour, of not continuous use, it over heated and kept overheating for the rest of the evening - making shooting impossible until it had cooled down enough. I never had this problem over many years of using my Nikon flash with my Nikon camera so hadn't even thought this might be an issue. Disappointed, sadly.

Performance

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

A wide array of sophisticated features.

HVL-F43M 04/04/2016 by Intereverything

This is a very sophisticated speed light with an embedded video light so you could double it as a steady light source on a tripod or stand if necessary. Its array of features within the menu compels me to understand how it works best, and when to use it wirelessly outdoors.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Lighter than I thought and great recycle speed

HVL-F43M 10/26/2015 by Andysonyfan

I wasn't sure what to get but the Sony f43m seemed to fit the photography I wanted to do, portraits etc. Ok, so The only down side is that you can't use it wirelessly right away with out another flash but you can always get a commander stick to do that as it not always everyone's cup of tea. over all it's been amazing and the things I've done with it have made my pictures that fraction better and more professional. Thanks Sony

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great for wireless

HVL-F43M 12/22/2014 by Nate

I bought the F43M flash mainly for wireless HSS (high speed sync) so I can photograph at higher shutter speeds outdoors whilst still retaining/combating natural light. Mainly used with my portable softbox and beauty dish and so far the F43M hasn't let me down. It kicks out enough power for my usage, although if you require something more powerfull I would have to recommend the F60. The unit is very simple to use with a generous sized LCD screen on the back displaying all the info. To access HSS, you just need to change your shutter speed above 1/250th (depending on your camera sync speed) and the flash will automatically turn on HSS which is very handy. The quick shift bounce is quite an intuitive design and makes it easier to get the flash positioned. Definitely recomended for those who want a wireless setup with some excellent features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

The Sony F43m Flash gun

HVL-F43M 09/19/2014 by Dinglydel

When I realised the dual potential of recording High Definition stills and video with my new Sony Alpha 7, this intelligent flash/video light seemed the obvious "must have" accessory. It's pocket size and versatile 'bounce' facility ensures the highest level of creative lighting control. Having trained as a photographer and with 49 years in broadcast television, (both as a film-editor and lighting cameraman), I strive for perfection in image control. The combination of the latest Alpha 7 camera range and this flash unit, make for the perfect professional kit (for a very attractive investment in quality). I have used my local independent high street dealers "The Hythe Camera Shop" for over 30 years. As Sony stockists their advice and recommendations have been enormously valued. Their enthusiasm and friendly advice is always matched by a willingness to offer a competitive price, together with a caring customer service, often lacking in nationwide dealerships.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Great Flash when it works

HVL-F43M 07/09/2014 by Steve114

The flash is really good when it works the few times Ive used it in anger in any great amount, Wedding and fashion show after a few shots about 10 it shuts down due to over heating. Ive seen no one else with this fault so it might be mine only but its really annoying and I have to open the battery compartment and allow a minute or so for cool down.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

8