RRP

€ 2,204.10

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
41

4.5 based on 41 customer reviews

27
10
3
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great in low light but beware the claims

ILCE-7SM2 01/01/2016 by Freekorps

Having played about with this camera for a couple of weeks, the stabilisation and low light features are great. However, the ISOs claimed by specs are misleading as beyond a certain limit he images are too noisy to be useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Excellent features but poor reliability

ILCE-7SM2 04/03/2019 by N12NJA

Love this cameras images and videos but unfortunately after the warranty period the camera developed problems with its image stabilisation system. This seems to be a very common issue (turn off and on again error but doesn't resolve it) and so it is unfortunate Sony will not fix it as a known fault with the build.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

41 Customer Reviews

0

Really good camera great quality but over heated

ILCE-7SM2 04/03/2020 by James L

I got it a while ago and it was getting hot while I was using it I thought it was normal until it got too hot while using it and i dropped it because it burned my fingers a little not enough to blister but enough to hurt so now I'm left with a broken ish camera (works but most buttons wont work and I dont even know what wrong with it cant record) that probably isn't covered by Warrenty will update if it is not happy with the purchase in general and cant find receipt so...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7S II

ILCE-7SM2 12/17/2019 by TomD93

I bought this camera over a month ago and I am so glad I have moved over to Sony. I previous filmed on a Canon 5D Mark iii. This camera is amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Purple cast on sensor at high ISO

ILCE-7SM2 11/02/2019 by Les41

Good quality video in normal light but when you push it to the limits with high ISO or slow shutter speeds mine exhibits a purple cast on the left hand side of the frame. This is very noticable when taking video of low light scenes such as the night sky. The attached frame grab from a 4k25p video shows it at the extreme with a shutter speed of 1/4 sec and ISO 102400. It is still visible with a more normal shutter speed of 1/25th. Could this be a faulty sensor? There are lots of others reporting it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Photos!? Yeah, photos!

ILCE-7SM2 09/12/2019

Alright I don't think the intention of this camera was directly aimed at photos, but it is a mirrorless and therefore its primary purpose should be photos. While I am a videogrpaher I'm primarily a photographer, the megapixle count isn't too high but with the amount od fetail the sensor picks up I've ad no issues at all with it. The low ligut performance has throoguhly blown my mind, it's allowed some serious creativity in the night time world. It takes everything to a whole new level, night looks so much cleaner and like I really can photograph in the dark.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A7sii

ILCE-7SM2 09/08/2019 by Howeuk

Great B camera for shooting interviews and using on a gimbal ! I use the A7sii camera (of which I own 2) alongside my Sony PMW F5 Main camera !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it love it love it

ILCE-7SM2 07/15/2019 by Doofee

Bought for my daughter who loves making films; it ticks all the boxes for her: quality of film, slow motion, zooming in, to name just a few. Not cheap but, worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Low light supremo

ILCE-7SM2 06/23/2019 by Sinc

I bought this camera for a specific job, which involved filming bioluminescent Dinoflagellate algae - the camera lived up to its reputation, with a maximum ISO of 409,600 it captured the brief flashes of light emitted by the algae. I then tried it for macro filming of insects in the wild and the results are gorgeous.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Knight owl

ILCE-7SM2 05/02/2019 by Abu Foysol

Most amazing piece of equipment I ever bought, I’ve shot amazing video with the Sony A7sii specially in low light, S log is brilliant, some of Sony A7sii footage I compared with Arrie camera and no one could tell the difference. amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent features but poor reliability

ILCE-7SM2 04/03/2019 by N12NJA

Love this cameras images and videos but unfortunately after the warranty period the camera developed problems with its image stabilisation system. This seems to be a very common issue (turn off and on again error but doesn't resolve it) and so it is unfortunate Sony will not fix it as a known fault with the build.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worth the move from Canon

ILCE-7SM2 02/15/2019 by DomSabinePro

So happy with my a7s2 for video, photos arent the best but the video is incredible! Which is why I bought it anyway.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Review RSM 7asII

ILCE-7SM2 01/28/2019 by CMMPRODUCTIONS

Bought this DSLR camera. Extremely clear sharp photography. Highly commendable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

low light amazing sharp

ILCE-7SM2 07/13/2018 by eduardo_g

perfect for budget low light professional filming. the only problem i found it is the limit of 25 fps on 4k

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Awesome in low light

ILCE-7SM2 06/10/2018 by Live Aurora Network

Used this camera and lens for the Aurora, it worked so well I bought some more of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect filming companion

ILCE-7SM2 06/09/2018 by HarryKnight

This sony A7Sii has been a great step up from my previous DSLR when it comes to video. I am loving the internal stablisation, the custom buttons and custom function menu. It is giving me a lot of control to make it my own. I'm still adjusting to using it for photos as I came from Canon. I have found it to be a little bit less intuitive but this may just be as I've only used Canon previously and need to get more comfortable with the feel of it. Although it's primarliy used for video so it's been the perfect upgrade and the build quality is also much better than my previous EOS 600D.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Absolutely Amazing

ILCE-7SM2 04/03/2018 by Zuka

It's one awesome camera, I love everything about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Professional low light tool

ILCE-7SM2 04/01/2018 by Dewar

Bought for low light video and photography, I was delighted with the overall quality. I have not yet used it in the field (wildlife) but local tests indicate it will deliver the quality required. I am impressed with the full range of features and capabilities for both stills (especially in RAW mode) and video. With use of converters, I can not only use my excellent full frame Sony A Mount lenses but also my huge range of superb Olympus OM lenses and also the Pentax K 1000mm f11.0. This camera has opened up new video and still options for me and I should have bought it earlier. The price was the main obstacle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

FANTASTICALLY INTUITIVE HANDLING, AMAZING QUALITY

ILCE-7SM2 02/11/2018 by Imogen

Just got back from filming in Dahab, Egypt, on my new A7S, bought just two weeks before to replace my kit stolen in a house burglary. I went from the Sony Z7 video (it had great qualities for the work I was doing, but I needed something more discrete, for the sometimes sensitive situations I film in). This camera is a beautiful little machine, it allowed me to film in every level of light down to deep night, with clean, fabulous quality. Couldn't be happier with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An incredible camera.

ILCE-7SM2 02/03/2018 by SiHaze

I've recently upgraded to Sony a7sii and have been blown away by the quality of this camera. I'm using it to shoot a variety of videos and so far everything has come out a thousand times better than I thought was possible under my control. I was a lil terrified of all the settings at first but after spending a few hours playing around the footage I can get is incredible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

See in the dark

ILCE-7SM2 01/15/2018 by Andy2754

Lovely full frame mirrorless camera. Nice build quality and ergonomics. The best thing about the camera is the sensor, which is incredible in low light conditions, enabling shooting in extremely low light without the need for longer exposures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Insane Camera

ILCE-7SM2 01/12/2018 by Billy18375

I purchased this camera for the quality and it is insane.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup -with great quality outcomes

ILCE-7SM2 01/07/2018 by NAmedia

I’m new to this camera, yet it feels so natural. The quality and focus is sharp, and it allows me to explore my creativity.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great images, brilliant for video

ILCE-7SM2 10/14/2017 by Jondle

I'm a professional filmmaker and editor and I was was looking a new camera for work. I chose the A7sii for the size, image quality and choice of control. However I was very impressed with the images in lower light conditions, when filming. I work with theatres and this camera is perfect for those conditions when you need to increase the ISO and still get great video. 4k is amazing too. Overall a great camera. Would recommend to anyone this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant but frustrating!

ILCE-7SM2 05/31/2017 by BuzzView

Unbelivable low-light full frame camera, which is very badly let down by poor design in several key areas. Battery life is frankly awful. Screen menu and internet access is terrible due to a lack of a touchscreen interface. No side flip out screen. The smartphone remote control app works reasonably well, but what a pain to set up initially. Sony, you should be doing better than this! If Panasonic can do it, so should you!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Brilliant with minor annoyances

ILCE-7SM2 05/20/2017 by JWfilm

Brilliant cinematic images and incredible dynamic range for the price. The Dynamic range is the main reason I still prefer this over the GH5. It takes a while to work out workflow with the log gammas but they are great when you get used to it however I wish it had a 10bit option; I occasionally see banding on white surfaces when pushing too far using slog3. On my model the SD card door became hard to open however i have compared to many models and assume its not a widespread issue. One issue that is present on all models though is that the body has very soft paint and will be removed very easily. This however isn't a issue if you don't mind cosmetic marks on the camera, it does however affect resell value. The menu system isn't bad and the custom buttons make it so I rarely need to go into it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Amazing Quality!!

ILCE-7SM2 04/25/2017 by George28051

I purchased this camera as i wanted something that shot stunning video as well as great photos. This camera certainly pulls this off. Everything from the numerous in-camera features to the way the camera is built makes it a joy to use and to own. I love it!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great image quality

ILCE-7SM2 04/02/2017 by Rosscodj

Happy with image quality but video settings are confusing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Quality Camera

ILCE-7SM2 04/01/2017 by Dano321

Quality camera, so many good features, as expected. Great to use and comfortable in your hand. Downsides - Batteries don't last that long. Clips for the strap loosely dangle on the side, should be built in. Menu is fiddly, but you can custom program buttons and you get used to it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Camera but why no Time Lapse?

ILCE-7SM2 06/01/2016 by Adam001

I bought this camera because of it's 4k, low-light and slo-mo capabilities, it did not disappoint in any of these respects. In fact I have since bought a second one so that I can keep one attached to a Ronin M Gimbal or Edelkrone Slider system and the other fitted into a Tilta Cage with accessories such as Sony Audio Mixer, Sennheiser Wireless Mic, on-board lighting and a SmallHD Bright Monitor, for Daylight Shooting. My only gripe is that you have to go through a seriously torturous process to install a time-lapse app (you have to register to the Playstation site, get their app, then download the time-lapse app from there, which sounds easy, but doing this through the camera interface is horrible. Otherwise, great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

3

0

Good low light cine camera

ILCE-7SM2 05/30/2016 by DocR

I am very pleased with the performance of this camera in low light conditions, but this becomes difficult on bright days externally. The camera could do with an internal ND filter or warning that ND filters are really necessary to avoid over exposure. I bought a 95mm lens for which it is difficult to get variable ND filters in the UK. The record button position is a poor design feature, but C3 button is assignable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Slow motion, low light capabilities

ILCE-7SM2 05/23/2016 by Roop Rai

Awesome piece of equipment with great features. Brilliant low light capabilities, great ergonomics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Ultimate camera

ILCE-7SM2 04/27/2016 by Maxone

90% of my work is video production. I thought to upgrade to Canon but came across Sony a7s and couldn't believe capabilities of the camera. It has smaller and more compact, I love design, agronomic, it feels very solid in my hands. Picture quality is superb. Still had no chance to test auto focus as all my lenses are manual focusing. Spending a month with a7s2 I didn't came across any disadvantages, it looks very advanced and future camera, my Nikon DSLR feel outdated and ugly. All the features and capabilities this camera has it lets me call 'a beginning of the smart cameras'.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A very mixed mind about this one

ILCE-7SM2 04/21/2016 by pinky the mouse

I feel like I have been sold a broken product, the skew introduced due to the poor image sensor scanning speed, is so pronounced that most moving style shots, or shots where the subjects move quickly through the frame are useless and have to be binned. Its a shame, I am sure I can work around this with carefully planned scenes but I fell this product should never really have made it through to the production stage. On the upside the video when good is exceptional, low light capabilities are very impressive. Shame though about the battery life!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

7

5

0

Amazing Camera !!

ILCE-7SM2 03/15/2016 by Jishnu

I have read the reviews of this Low Light monster, but as we say seeing is believing! Oh boy, can wait to shoot moonless starry nights with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Unbelievable.

ILCE-7SM2 02/18/2016 by atom

Bought this before a trip to Japan - had a wonderful time and learning to use this camera while I was out there was a joy. Stunning low light performance, fantastic for use during the day - It really shone in every circumstance. I was using it with a 50mm shooting wide open so did have to stop it down with nd filters on occassion, but this was hardly a drawback. Really really lovely camera. While it also takes lovely stills this is definitely a feature that could be improved upon in terms of the image resolution and quality, and the digital zoom is very nasty at the higher values - but obviously a zoom lens would be a far better solution for this. All in all really really great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Fantastic camera!!!

ILCE-7SM2 02/14/2016 by Bad Monk

Got the Sony A7S2 shortly after release and before buying did some research online and all of the reviews and impressions were very positive. I use this new camera for mainly the movie function as I work in the film industry and shoot rehearsal action concepts for major studios and movie productions and the functions and quality of the A7S2 are fantastic. 4K looks stunning and the slow motion video (120fps @ 1080p) adds another creative edge to your movies. This is my first DSLR camera and like I said above, I got this mainly for the video mode but make no mistake as a stills camera this is a beast, I bumped into 2 professional photographers lately who also work in the same industry as me, and both have started using the A7S2 in their work flow, one having bought three of the same model and could not praise this camera high enough. You prob already know about the superb low light functions, super fast auto focus and full frame 35mm feature, this was just a quick review of my few weeks using the Sony A7S2 and I cannot recommend this camera enough. The only downside is the lack of touchscreen menus which would have made this camera perfect but that's just me being petty and don't let that put you off what is a remarkable piece of equipment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Such a great camera

ILCE-7SM2 01/25/2016 by jaames96

This was my first Sony camera. I bought it a month ago. I loved the small body, the excellent image quality, the features and the dynamic range. I do not love the twerks, example when shooting in 4K or in 120/fps you can't make the screen and viewfinder brightness at high level, as it dims automatically. Only issues like these bugs me. The battery life is not that good but considering how small it is, it's okay. Love this camera and am so happy I made the switch from Canon to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Good power in a small box

ILCE-7SM2 01/17/2016

I bought this product before X-mas and at first I was amazed how much power this small body contains. But then unfortunately, as myself being a professional, disappointment came into very different areas, as probably my expectations were vey high. I like the size, the options I have, definitely the option of recording 4k internally, the customizable buttons, the options of attaching mic preamp at the hot shoe. I dislike the colors and the tones, the aliasing problem is the biggest fall may be, I also don't like that I am not able to limit the shutter speed when shooting video let say to not fall bellow 50p on automatic mode, as I am able to limit the ISO. The autofocus is almost unusable and very slow. Not accurate as well. I am talking about video only as I believe this is the purpose of this camera. Battery drain is a big problem too. The lense choice is very limited too. Also there is something very strange thing going on with depth of field. I am a Canon user and there is a very different story. Even at f8 I don't have focus across the whole frame, but here at f4 focus is across the whole scene. That is very strange. I don't understand it. Sound quality is very good though. Also I wish we had 4k at 50p without the aliasing problem, much better lcd is needed, and an option of tilt to the left and right is essential for video shooting.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Great in low light but beware the claims

ILCE-7SM2 01/01/2016 by Freekorps

Having played about with this camera for a couple of weeks, the stabilisation and low light features are great. However, the ISOs claimed by specs are misleading as beyond a certain limit he images are too noisy to be useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Great and Silly

ILCE-7SM2 12/07/2015 by Gludy

Without doubt this is a great camera and will now become my main video camera BUT it has some silly things about it that would be easy to cure like:- The video record button position and nature is useless -stick a plastic button on it to use it or buy the third party device that clips over it so you can easily press the record button - a basic function by any standards. Menu system that could learn a lot from the Panasonic GH4 Would like at least 10 bit 4k output to a third party recorder like the GH4. Would like to be able to set the C1/C2 buttons so that I could say set slow motion on one by just clicking to it. Otherwise simply a great camera that has replaced the GH4 with me because the small silly downsides are as nothing compared to its basic video performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Welcome to the dark side (It'll be a rocky road)

ILCE-7SM2 11/29/2015

It is indeed really great camera for both home and professional use (I'm an independent freelance filmmaker, I often run-and-gun, do documentary style filmmaking and every now and then producing higher end videos). Overall design of α7S II is great and aesthetically fits very well with retro lenses. I'm presently using it with my Canon EF lens and LTM rangefinder lens. IBIS is one of the most outstanding features second to the lowlight capabilities. When not filming, I use the camera for personal photography and to look for my cat in the backyard when it's too dark to see. Assignable functions are amazingly handy and great, and let users to correct the wicked position of record button (I assigned it to C3). Display is superior to the first α7S version with ability to ajust it horizontally. But I'm still very much afraid of breaking it somehow. It's great that there are two batteries with camera. I'm sure there will be more comments during future use, this has been only a couple of weeks now. Cons (I am using ver. 1.00): When in NTSC mode, you'll get warning every time you switch on the camera. Very annonying for someone, who purposefuly runs camera in this mode. It really slows down the camera bootup. Most annoying UX thing. 120fps crop - I totally undestand the science behind the crop, but yes - the crop is massive and that is a bit of drawback. Focus Magnifier quality is significantly lower in video mode compared to Photo mode, even when not recording (unsable in many cases, I have to tur to Manual mode to adjust focus) Gamma Asisst - I have suspicion that it lifts overal brightness to much in some scanrious. Of course, it is not intended to offer precise exposure, but it would be great if some futeure firmare version adressed that. Finder, probably mostly due to ergonomics, isn't designed for merely comfortable eye positioning to it. I think it could benefit from more upwards angle, allowing to press eye to the finder, not just the eyebrow, without sticking nose to the screen and so. Quite annoying, when you pay attention to this. Video thumbnails in playback mode are awful. As the market for this camera are video shooters - why do we gut such a bad UX? The outdated filmlike markings on sides, additionally to the play triangle in the middle, that alone marks item a video. When you pop display out and use it horizontally, often you want to hold it close to your body. It will switch to finder in those cases, which is very, very annoying. The distance for switch to finder obviously isn't close enough. File numbering - there is no apparent way to set custom file numbering/naming sytems, e.g. date related etc. Histogram is a bit hard to read for exposure. I miss vectorscope or some other exposure assistance, that also isn't hard to implement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Probably my best camera ever!

ILCE-7SM2 11/13/2015 by Bill The Bruce

I've only had my camera for about 3 weeks and think I can safely say it is the most exciting camera I've ever owned. Although I've used it mostly for personal use, to see what it's capable of, I have also just used it one professional film shoot and the difference in quality this camera brings to the table is plain for ALL to see! I've also just bought a new macro lens and know I'm just going to love it even more as time goes on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0