RRP

€ 2,160.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
44

4.7 based on 44 customer reviews

32
11
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Stunningly sharp and clear images

With GPS 08/10/2014 by Jim57

Used this camera with 70-400mm G SSM II lens at local folk festival, good sharp shots even at ISO 3200, so I was really pleased with results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony Photography truth

SLT-A99 09/07/2016 by Sony sucker

By Sony standards the A99 is along with the A77ll in appearance the best looking designs in the Sony range. I have no doubt that the performance when used in conjunction with the Carl Zeiss ZA "A" mount lenses would be acceptable to any photographer using a 24 mega pixel camera and video performance is said to be exceptional. It is also the only alternative full frame camera to the A900 on which to directly mount these superb lenses.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

44 Customer Reviews

0

great features and average image quality

With GPS 11/29/2018 by Miksov

Camera with very good features and performance. Very good dynamic range, but too much noise for FF camera. AF could be more accurate in low light.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb Camera

With GPS 07/27/2018 by Buey

I upgraded from the mk1, which I still have and is a great camera. The mk11 is even better, retaining the best of the mk1 features and upgrading both technically and functionally. I am very happy with the camera and the quality of the images. It

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb control and masses of features!

With GPS 06/09/2018 by Astrorick

Just started using this camera and it has fantastic control and behaves like a classic DSLR. Though heavy (I have the extra grip/battery pack), it is excellent at low shutter speed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great camera

With GPS 04/28/2018 by madge

this is my second a99mark11 had problems with the first one but had a great dealer in london camera exchange who exchanged it as i did not want to give up on very nice camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera, poor level of service on maintenance

With GPS 06/17/2017 by Perr

I have two a99 and they are impressive in both the quality of picture and use. Practical and robust it and my Sony zeiss lens are the main source of the pictures I take for submitting to my stock site and most are accepted and I never have any quality issues. It a great pity that the standard of aftercare, i.e. Maintenance when carried out by Sony does not reach the same high standards as their camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

a very nice camera

SLT-A99 05/11/2017 by madge

i bought the a99mark2 after using the a 77 mark 2 that is a nice camera also i am very pleased with new purchase it has avery nice feel about it at the present time having only a short time with new a99 mark2 if it is as good as the a77 i will be most pleased it looks to be a cracker well done sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No provision of A99II registration on Sony!

With GPS 03/07/2017 by NavQ

I tried to register A99II after my purchase but there is no provision in Sony's registration page, only A99...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nearly great

SLT-A99 02/22/2017 by mrphotage

I have recently bought the A99M2 to replace the original A99 and have yet to use it extensively. However, these are my initial comments: Terrific sensor and autofocus, but absence of GPS very annoying (set-up with IPhone very cumbersome and fiddly); re-designed joystick appears vague and unresponsive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

What a camera awesome!

With GPS 10/27/2016 by red69baron

I recently bought the Sony SLT-a99 to replace my DSLR-a230 purchased in 2009 wanting to improve the quality of my photographs. Basically they are similar in ergonomics and programming I thought but so wrong though it was very easy transition to get used to the a99. But boy does the a-99 come with so many additional functions and the crispness of the images both on the screen(not on a230) and the additional functions blew my mind away so much to learn and use, exciting going forward knowing this camera will give me so so much more from my photographs and brought back my passion for photography with the a99 takes it all to a brand new higher level - brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Sony Photography truth

SLT-A99 09/07/2016 by Sony sucker

By Sony standards the A99 is along with the A77ll in appearance the best looking designs in the Sony range. I have no doubt that the performance when used in conjunction with the Carl Zeiss ZA "A" mount lenses would be acceptable to any photographer using a 24 mega pixel camera and video performance is said to be exceptional. It is also the only alternative full frame camera to the A900 on which to directly mount these superb lenses.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

THE ULTIMATE DIGITAL CAMERA

With GPS 06/24/2016 by Thrashster

I have been using the A99 for a few months now.I must say that it has exceeded my expectations on every level. The articulated screen itself means that I can take photographs that I wouldn't have been possible without the A99. It knocks the competition for six for image quality (Zeiss 24-70mm F2.8), build quality and features. Digital viewfinders are the way forward, they work better in low light and you also see your exposure before the picture is taken. Thank you Sony for reigniting my passion for photography, it wouldn't have happened without you. :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony a99

With GPS 06/11/2016 by The Owl

I purchased the Sony A99 as a replacement for my a850, as I feel that cameras have overtaken lenses now as far as technology is concerned. I am certainly not disappointed with my purchase, and I am sure I will get a lot more this camera once I have a bit more time with it, (less than a month so far).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Great camera

With GPS 02/25/2016 by Big Fred

I've had several Sony DSLR's over the years and this is the first ful frame sensor Sony DSLR I've bought, I'm so impressed with it, the quality of the images and its features are great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A99 big step up from the A77

With GPS 02/03/2016 by Trig

Bought the A99 after a lot of thought was it really worth it ? took the plunge in August last year and I must say the difference is incredible from the A77. The colours captured and the clarity are a big step up from the A77. The grip that was purchased separately adds a whole new feel to the camera and to me well worth the outlay. The EVF for viewing your pictures after you have taken them, brilliant for checking manual lens focussing. The overall layout is very good too and very familiar to pervious Sony cameras I have had. The flip out screen not used a great deal really, but when shooting at arms length above your head excellent or when shooting in an environment where the glare from the screen annoys people or when you would like a bit of privacy as to what you are shooting without people looking over your shoulder to see the pics on screen I simply turn it round and use the EVF for viewing this is a big thing for me as the EVF is very sharp you can magnify the picture too then push the display button which shows the picture without any overlay. The PASM button locks with a central knob and is a simple thing that has been just a little thing that I thought was very good as this is not on the A77 and numerous times the camera was taken out of the bag with the mode dial shifted. Think the only downside to this camera is the limited number of focus points all clustered around the centre but when I used my 70 300mm G lens there are lots more focussing points and the use of the AF range limiter on the camera body is a very good tool as the camera only focusses on the distance set so if you are panning round and a tree is midway it will not focus on that. The only other thing which really bugs me is that Sony have not brought out a radio trigger for flash either manual or TTL to work with their flashguns. And also apart from the mitros and Nissin Air system does not seem to be any on the market either to use with Sony flash guns. The camera also was quite difficult to get hold of and not marketed very well in my opinion and is also frowned on by the Canon and Nikon fraternity until they realise the benefits of the EVF burst speed size and weight of the set up. The way the grip fits in also without being a tee shape which is a lot easier when putting away. Overall A brilliant camera for the money as it was cheaper than its rivals and in my opinion better for the above reasons hence the reason I purchased it.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Great camera

With GPS 12/04/2015 by portobello

I have had this camera for about 9 months now and i must say i really like it, It has so many features. I have always had Nikon, but changed completely after buying the A6000 first, I am totally converted to Sony now and am very pleased that i changed. Everything about the camera is great, so easy to use, light and well made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

SLT A99v

With GPS 11/23/2015 by npark

Having owned Minolta Dynax then Sony A65 cameras, it was a natural progression to go for the A99. Controls are familiar, the viewfinder is better than the A65 and having the full frame sensor brings the pictures to life . I read that people complained about the battery life, but so far I see very little difference from the A65 to the A99. Having 2 card slots is great. The camera is lighter than friends Nikons and Canons which is superb after a long day shooting. My only complaint is a minor one. I have the Sony '58 Flash and it needs an adapter. I wish that the standard camera hot shoe was the standard one for Sony Flashes and the adapter was for other makes, not the other way round.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Great Camera. However very poor Customer Services

With GPS 11/21/2015 by SonyMike

Camera is fantastic, I own several Aplha's (7 inc. A99)! However, the Battery charger went pop some weeks ago. Fortunately I have been able to continue using the camera as I have a few identical chargers. Sony Customer Support is terrible! I've still not got a replacement charger and it's now been 3 weeks... They recently informed me that they want the charger and battery for inspection - I've told them to send me a new charger and battery then I'll send them the faulty charger and battery, I don't think this is unreasonable. Why should I be left unable to use the camera? I have been told three times that someone will call me back within a certain time from 1 hour to 24 hours, still waiting for those call backs! The Sony customer support is the worst I have ever encountered which now puts me off recommending any Sony product to anyone ever again. Which is such a shame because I love Sony products, especially the Cameras and lenses. :(

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

full frame

With GPS 11/17/2015 by peterpen

I have had an A77 for the past couple of years and enjoyed that.I bought the A99 with 24-70 sony zeiss lens and love the two

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Replacing my A900 was not a task I took lightly

SLT-A99 11/16/2015 by Gosher

There was no contest. I chose the A99 as I just loved the build of the A900 and it's performance and it's amazing improvements so it complements my A77 perfectly. All bases covered now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Pretty amazing

With GPS 11/11/2015 by Mike22150

I brought this to upgrade from my Alpha100. It is light years ahead and in truth I have hardly explored its capabilities. So far it is fantastic, the picture quality is incredible. I havent done any movies yet but I expect they will be equally as good. The only niggle is that the IDC software for RAW keeps crashing on my Mac. I have asked Sony what to do. The camera is sturdy and light and the range of lenses available is excellent. Could well be the last camera I ever buy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

First class

With GPS 09/06/2015 by hamish41

The sony a99 is the best full frame i've ever had,picture quality is outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top Quality

With GPS 06/28/2015 by Bradi

Easy to use, top quality images, good looking and a nice feel when in use. Controls are easy to use and quick to adjust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

good one but i expect more

With GPS 05/20/2015 by tresspas

I like it ,but gps on my a55ws better catch signal everywhere, I own a900 as well and is annoying to use to different cables but preform well, bit stupid idea to change hot shoe specially if is not sony flash guns to match standard one

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

A whole truck load of clever

With GPS 05/04/2015 by Phil the photo

A mass of features on this camera and I expect it will take some time to get to grips with them all. I wish the full manual was printed rather than on disc as it could then be dropped in to my camera bag for easy reference. Also have the A900 and feel that the A99 is a whole generation further on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A great full-frame camera

With GPS 04/22/2015 by SteveC72

The SLT-A99 offers great value for money and great image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera..

With GPS 04/14/2015 by John49

I recently bought this camera and would have given it five stars, but none of my images will load into either Light Room 5 or Aperture, I'm somewhat disappointed and perplexed...,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Compact

With GPS 04/08/2015 by Steamer

Excellent quality camera; The fairly short battery life between charges is a slight concern.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features a match for its competitors

With GPS 04/04/2015 by Robbodb5

I have only had the camera for a couple of weeks so still finding my way around the new functions. But so far so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I like my SLT A99V

With GPS 04/01/2015 by Chubbly69

I bought it about a month ago to replace my A580 and to supplant my A77, have some great pictures and I can see the benefits of full frame over APS-C. I can't wait to use it at the numerous airshows I have booked for the summer as the increased sensor sensitivity should give me even better pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb camera!

With GPS 03/24/2015 by Trilby

I've had this camera for a year but not used it as much as I'd like to have because of illness. Superb camera is solidly built, enough dedicated buttons to help but not too many that its confusing. Menus are pretty well set out, electronic viewfinder is superb! The only things that could be better are wifi included, a pop up flash and a firmware update to get rid of the lag when it's turned on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great product

With GPS 12/11/2014 by winker

I already had an A99 and purchased this one for my wife as we both have a hobby of photography and have a studio in our home

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

great camera

With GPS 10/04/2014 by simonm3trs

I upgraded from the a77 happy I did still use the a 77 as well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

The Mighty Atom!

With GPS 09/29/2014 by Lester

Jimmy Wilde, the Flyweight Boxing Champion of the World was known as The Mighty Atom, because in his small frame he packed a performance that outperformed the bigger boys, killed 'em dead! And the A99, small and light weight does just that. I have moved from the A850, an excellent camera in many respects, because my hobby involves action shots and the A850 did not produce enough frames per second whereas at 10 per second the A99 certainly does, all in astonishing quality. But the upgrade does not end there.The ability to shoot high spec video and many other fascinating programmes which I am still experimenting with makes this a camera second to none, and me a very proud and happy owner. All wrapped up in a small lightweight but robust package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Amazing full frame camera

With GPS 09/25/2014 by Richie75

Quite simply the best camera I have ever had the pleasure of owning. (and I've owned a few)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Optically strong camera

With GPS 08/12/2014 by mp33

I bought this camera a couple months ago. Although bigger than my previous camera (Sony a200), it is not heavy at all. Built in quality seems to be very good. Adjusting to menu options and buttons order is easy. It is very useful option to assign certain function to a few buttons. Optically the camera is very strong, I am amazed how much light one can get in the picture when photographing a rather dark room. What I am not perfectly happy is joystick button cause it takes more time for me to push it and make, for example, picture review forward or backward than it is the case with regular buttons. Other thing I am being skeptic about is picture noise. Might be that I do not have enough technical expertise with cameras, but noise visible at 100% crop is not making me happy as soon as ISO is higher than 200. However, files are huge and in a regular size picture quality looks very good. Overall, Sony a99 is an user friendly camera with original and various options, optically very strong. Therefore, I would definitely recommend it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Stunningly sharp and clear images

With GPS 08/10/2014 by Jim57

Used this camera with 70-400mm G SSM II lens at local folk festival, good sharp shots even at ISO 3200, so I was really pleased with results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

A99 - a step up

With GPS 08/08/2014 by caporip

Replaced a900 with A99 so much to like about it - better low light capability; the flexible screen; video; AF range and great customisable options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beautiful pictures

SLT-A99 06/26/2014 by Nessy

Only had the camera a few weeks now so still getting to know the things it can do, but so far what a camera!!. Had 3 of your cameras A100, A350, A55 but this one beats them all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Amazing Camera!!!

With GPS 06/24/2014 by GrahL

Wasn't expecting to be impressed by this Sony offering but my mind changed when I was given a chance to try one out. You have to try this camera before you make your mind up, I was a Nikon die hard before I tested this camera. I was shooting with a Nikon D3 + D700 and always found them to be reliable but the Sony a99v is something different and was looking to do video also which it is able to do. Flip screen is amazing and also the EVF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

a99

With GPS 06/24/2014 by rhidav90

I pickup my a99 while away & started to use straight away, although it takes some getting to know all of the settings, once mastered its outstanding. Picture quality is excellent, noise handling could be better, but it is better than earlier models (a77 a700) video is quite good although I have rarely used it before in the theme parks its fun to play with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Nice controls

With GPS 06/07/2014 by PI55

I am a hobbyist amd upgrade from the Sony A580. I try to operate with manual controls and find that these are located nicely so that they are easy controlled whilst looking through the viewfinder. I have only had this camera for 6 months, so is early days yet and do look forward to capturing some great shots. The pictures I have taken to date are great. I am please with this camera as it operates so smoothly and look forward to using some of the may features such as video, HDR shooting etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Excellent tracking and continuous shooting

With GPS 06/04/2014 by Ralphyboy

I bought this camera in April and the Sony A99 is as good as all the reviews I have seen in the press to date.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Who use, he known what is Sony :)

With GPS 06/02/2014 by Mihkel

Joistick is too soft and shutter button react for too soft touch. All other features are great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

So simple to use and great results

With GPS 06/02/2014 by CrestedNewt

Having been a Minolta user for a number of years, I had accumulated quite a few decent lenses. I first moved to the SLT-A55V which was fairly intuitive to use but I was after either the SLT-A99 or the A900 to obtain the better clarity from a Full Frame camera with decent lenses. I have not been disappointed! Pros: Liveview is fantastic especially when shooting in Manual mode. EVF has been greatly improved over previous models Image quality is SUPERB and colours are vibrant! Minolta/Sony Alpha lens mount. I haven't had a problem with using long term video capture, which was a problem with my previous model. Weatherproofing Dual SD Card - one holds RAW and the other JPG. Auto-focus is very quick Feels solid. Cons: Tethering only works using the Sony supplied software - problem for me as I am a Linux user and don't use Windows/Mac. Lightroom users will have to use "monitored folders" Support for the new 'hot-shoe' is limited and you must use a supplied adapter for Sony/compatible speedlights - pain but not an overall deal breaker. This adapter is supplied with the camera though. Overall, I am a very happy owner of this fantastic piece of equipment. It should satisfy my needs for the next few years

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0