RRP

€ 520.99

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
113

3.9 based on 113 customer reviews

48
35
10
7
13
Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

CT-790 SOUNDBAR

HT-CT790 11/21/2016 by patr1ck (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a SONY BRAVIA KD65XD8599BU and, having read all the reviews of this tv, decided to buy the CT-790 at the same time and am very glad I did.The sound is excellent . It isn't quite as good as the top sound bars out there, but for the price I paid I can't complain. In my opinion it is very good value for money. The set up is simple, plug it into the ARC connection via HDMI on the soundbar and the tv and you are up and running.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Sound and base but..

HT-CT790 12/29/2018 by rockboxzy (USA)

This is a perfect speaker or sound bar for household usage not for home theater room. The subwoofer is deepbase and elevates the sound quality of a movie or show you are watching. I keep it on always.Even now i started liking rymes played on youtube for my kids lol But this soundbar lacks in few areas.. 1. Most important: You have manually switch between HDMI inputs if they are connected tp soundbar. So i connected them with my sony tv. On tv hdmi’s are on call, means you press button of apple tv it switches from cable to apple tv automatically 2. It doesn’t stop or pause other hdmi input if connected directly to sound bar when you switch causing more data usage or your any app on appletv or crome or amazon will keep playing if you switch to cable or whatever other hdmi. Where as sony tv sends a pause input to apple tv if connected to tv Also you need to keep the remote of soundbar handy if hdmi’s are connected to soundbar.. thats a pain 3. Touch sound button on sound bar are not backlit 4. Last but not least the soundbar doesn’t connect to sony remote app, where as my sony tv does so i keep the tv remote in drawer. This should be standard feature.. i will say poor software architecture 5. No switching of HDMI by tv remote so i connected all devices to TV and use sound input via ARC

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

115 Customer Reviews

0

bon produit

HT-CT790 03/16/2021 by pb63 (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

améliore bien le son perçu des émissions de télévision

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Nickel en Wireless Sourrond

HT-CT790 03/14/2021 by Hugal (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Couplé avec 2 hear.go, c'est le top pour la musique ou les films

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

excellent features

HTCT790 04/17/2019 by buffettfan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this to replace another aging soundbar, and buy sony to go with my sony tv. . the contents were packed well and connection was a breeze. my existing sony remote was already compatible with the soundbar remote with the exception of programming the soundfield and subwoofer loudness. on screen programming was self explanatory.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HTCT790 03/31/2019 by Batman 67 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For what I am using it for...a master bedroom where occasionally I watch tv n movies....the sound is awesome...n not cluttersome...blends in great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound and base but..

HT-CT790 12/29/2018 by rockboxzy (USA)

This is a perfect speaker or sound bar for household usage not for home theater room. The subwoofer is deepbase and elevates the sound quality of a movie or show you are watching. I keep it on always.Even now i started liking rymes played on youtube for my kids lol But this soundbar lacks in few areas.. 1. Most important: You have manually switch between HDMI inputs if they are connected tp soundbar. So i connected them with my sony tv. On tv hdmi’s are on call, means you press button of apple tv it switches from cable to apple tv automatically 2. It doesn’t stop or pause other hdmi input if connected directly to sound bar when you switch causing more data usage or your any app on appletv or crome or amazon will keep playing if you switch to cable or whatever other hdmi. Where as sony tv sends a pause input to apple tv if connected to tv Also you need to keep the remote of soundbar handy if hdmi’s are connected to soundbar.. thats a pain 3. Touch sound button on sound bar are not backlit 4. Last but not least the soundbar doesn’t connect to sony remote app, where as my sony tv does so i keep the tv remote in drawer. This should be standard feature.. i will say poor software architecture 5. No switching of HDMI by tv remote so i connected all devices to TV and use sound input via ARC

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

Response From Sony Social Support
01/04/2019

Hi rockboxzy,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Great sound

HT-CT790 12/17/2018 by Stids (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought with a new Sony 4K TV , the sound enhances a great picture .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Super Soundbar

HT-CT790 12/16/2018 by MuKu (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Habe es vor einem Monat gekauft. Ich muss sagen, das Gerät ist spitze. Was mir nicht gefällt, dass man ein Abo (Beispiel Spotify) haben muss, um es über Netzwerk zu hören.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Great when it works

HT-CT790 12/08/2018 by TheGreatestDane (USA)

I coupled this with my XBR55X900E and enjoyed it for the first year. Great sound, really elevated the film and gaming experience, and never failed to instigate a greater immersion with guest viewers. Then I was out of town for six months and it wasn't used, upon return it no longer moves past "please wait", and has only functioned properly once in the past two months. A real shame as a year isn't enough to make this a worthwhile purchase, albeit providing the promised service. I upgraded the software, one of the three or four times it evolved passed the "please wait" opener.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
12/09/2018

Hi TheGreatestDane,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this soundbar. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-ct790/articles/00153436

0

Great Sound Bar

ht-ct790.all 10/25/2018 by queenotrash (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was soooo easy to setup!! I was able to sync wireless speakers and now we have real theater "surround sound"!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not the Best soundbar...

HT-CT790 10/10/2018 by Zee62 (USA)

I have had this soundbar for a year or more. The sub woofer has to be reconnected almost every time you turn on the TV. It is supposed to come on without you having to reach behind it and link it with the soundbar. Not very happy with this soundbar.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/11/2018

Hello Zee62, we're sorry to hear that. You may visit the link below and follow the troubleshooting steps provided to isolate the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4586/45860491M.pdf, see pages 64 to 65.
Regards, _Bob

0

Best bang for the buck

HTCT790 08/20/2018 by TerryJ4711 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Aug 3rd 2018 and it was exactly what I've been looking for. Price fit in my budget and the device is upgradable (wireless surround speakers), and I'm really looking forward to getting those, but without them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good quality soundbar

HT-CT790 07/25/2018 by Tinkius (USA)

I've had this soundbar for about a year. The only problem I have with it is the fact that it drops the signal to my Samsung TV. So I have to continuously turn my TV off and on until it syncs which can be up to at least three times. It takes at least 30 seconds for the soundbar to officially turn off before I can try turn the TV back on.Maybe it's because my TV isn't a Sony product, not sure.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/25/2018

Hi Tinkius,

We regret to hear about this issue with your soundbar. Please make sure that you have installed the latest firmware (Version M34.R.2137) for this unit. Kindly visit the link below for instructions:

https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/swu-download.pl?mdl=HTCT790&upd_id=11353&os_group_id=18

Also, try to replace the cable being used.

0

Best sound for the money

HTCT790 07/04/2018 by Peace7565 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds awesome and it’s better then the newer model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Audio Perfection

HT-CT790 04/20/2018 by ajk724 (USA)

I purchased this soundbar in October 2016 along with a Sony 49" XBR800 TV. Very easy to set up and the sound it amazing. Does a great job of simulating a traditional 5.1 surround sound system. Bluetooth connection is simple and the range is at least 25 feet. I can't give the subwoofer enough compliments. The bass is wonderful and takes me back to my younger days when I had a trunk full of subwoofers. I often experience buyer's remorse, but I am still very happy with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Still work on it!

HT-CT790 04/06/2018 by Gustavoverdes (USA)

Hi I just opened the box two days ago, and still working on. I had previous Sony products and was please with quality and easy to set it up. My skill with electronics is pretty good so not issues in it! This product is some how no easy to tune in, couldn’t set it using hdmi cable included on the box had to buy a digital optical cable, now the issue is Im unable to sync the subwoofer, already went through the service manual try it all, but the sound bar doesn’t respond as service manual describe so trying on my thrird day! Will keep posted!

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/08/2018

Hi Gustavoverdes, we're sorry for the inconvenience. Please follow the steps from this link to further assist you: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00152501

Regards,
-Erin

0

Soundbar does not work with LG TV's

HT-CT790 03/25/2018 by Yaatzee (USA)

The 'opened box' Sony soundbar was bought less than a year ago and after having connection problems with my LG TV, Sony offered to buy the sound bar back. However, after Sony realized the box was a previously opened box by a consumer before me, the warranty is no longer valid. I get that but it's certainly harmful to not know that after my purchase of this Sony device. The issue cannot be resolved since it was an opened box and the warranty is now invalid. I now have a paper weight that looks like sound bar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/26/2018

Hi Yaatzee,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused. Rest assured that your feedback will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. We place a very high value on feedback from our customers because it allows us to continue to improve.

Regards,
Zac

0

Einfach zu bedienen

HT-CT790 03/02/2018 by Highlaender One (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Gute Verarbeitung Alles dran für die Nutzung zu Hause

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Died on me about 4 months in

HT-CT790 02/10/2018 by timbo88 (USA)

Died on me about 4 months in. Countless others as well. Just check out the sony community page for this. https://community.sony.com/t5/Home-Theater-Products/HT-CT790-Frozen-Can-t-get-to-Main-Menu/td-p/592970/page/7

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Horrible

HT-CT790 02/08/2018 by Wiedrich12 (USA)

Bought this just over a year ago. Had to send it in to be replaced once and then sent in again to get repaired. Now once again the sound doesn't work. Also Bluetooth usually disconnects from the unit within a few minutes.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/08/2018

Hi Wiedrich12, We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Regards, ~Zac

0

Excellent sound

HT-CT790 02/04/2018 by devaji (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used with Sony Bravia TV and really pleased with depth & quality of sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

great sound

HT-CT790 01/23/2018 by Rod1000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a week ago, easy to set up and compatible with my Sony tv , so far so good!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

REASONABLE

HT-CT790 01/12/2018 by MartinP1958 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All SONY products are without doubt well made and of the best quality. This soundbar purports to offer 330 watts of power using its two speakers. The quality is ok but not really exceptional. It's just a typical soundbar and an overpriced one at that. Bass is reasonable although almost non existent on most terrestrial TV broadcasts. I don't believe this to be the fault of the broadcaster. The sound level is typical 0 - 100 although to get any decent sound on films it needs to be set to well above 75.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Best one

HT-CT790 12/30/2017 by Homeers (Ireland) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent sound , not too many wires , good app , no complains

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nicely designed

HT-CT790 12/29/2017 by Speckdes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great bit of kit, good volume and tone. It is easy to set up and use. Also for a "price"it can be expanded with aditional satalight speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT PRODUCT

HT-CT790 12/19/2017 by Buddy47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product along with my Sony TV. Very easy to install, with great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Problems

HT-CT790 12/10/2017 by Terry1222 (USA)

I bought this unit in March of 2017. In October it just started changes channels on its own. I have tried to contact support but webpage keeps saying internal error and will not connect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/11/2017

Hi Terry1222, we are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can check your file. Thank you, _Bob

0

very mild bass from the sub

HT-CT790 12/07/2017 by pompin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it doesn't do what it says.. no bass and I'm not returning it

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

Response From Customer support
12/11/2017

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback.

You can try updating the sound bar with the latest firmware by the following link: http://bit.ly/2iRbc1V
Also try adjusting the subwoofer volume and check the instruction on the manual on page 27 by using the following link: http://bit.ly/2BekRul (Copy and paste the link in your browser)

Hope this helps.
Sony support team.

0

nice sound

HT-CT790 12/05/2017 by LVR1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this just last week to go with my new Sony Bravia 4k TV. I really like the look and sound - still have to get my head around all the features, disappointingly I do not seem to be able to get the soundbar connected via HDMI - cannot get sound to come out no matter which port(s) I use. so have connected via optical. not sure if this is affecting the sound quality

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Buyer be aware

HT-CT790 12/04/2017 by Naji (USA)

This product keep breaking down you can do a simple search on how manny people they stoped having access to the home screen. I had my unit replaced after the second breakdown and now that one broken down and my 1 year warranty have just ended and Sony requesting that I pay for everything.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2017

Hello Naji, that is definitely not the news we like to hear. Let's see what we can do. Please reach us out at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your product details and contact information on this issue you are having. Also, include a reference number if any so we can take a closer look at your file.
Thanks you, _Bob

0

Très bon produit

HT-CT790 12/01/2017 by Yann56 (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Très content de cet achat. fonctionnalités conviviales et accessibles sans que la TV soit allumée.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

Good sound bar

HTCT790 10/27/2017 by Daveshine67 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one month ago and it has a good sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Gutes Design

HT-CT790 10/23/2017 by Hansderkleine (Germany)

Hat sich gelohnt anzuschaffen. Leider für nicht Technikbegabte schwer zu installieren.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

It really is wall rumbling 4K sound

HTCT790 10/06/2017 by Ben123ooo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome awesome terrific soundbar. I’ve had a array of soundbars but this one truly blows them all away. Night setting is terrific and voice clear just as good.For me this is really really great couldn’t be happier. I had concerns if it would work with my other brand tv but those doubts were quickly smashed as I had no problem .The low profile of the bar is terrific it allows just enough of my TVs IR to be seen by cable remote so everything turns on with one button click.Home network for music with song pal terrific .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound!

HTCT790 09/22/2017 by Tyler8919 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best sounding sound bar I have bought yet. It is loud and gives a good punch. Only downfall is the main menu is slow and clunky. It can also be slow to switch inputs ot turning on or off. I have already had to send it in to be fixed as the motherboard got fried.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/25/2017

Hi Tyler8919, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Thanks! -Erin

0

Preis-Leistung überzeugt

HT-CT790 09/12/2017 by Keyfinder (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mit Wireless-Surround und Multiroom wirklich super. Die App könnte verbessert werden.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

ECHO CHAMBER STRAIGHT OUT OF THE BOX

HTCT790 09/10/2017 by Mac a doo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not the easiests to link to a SONY 65" 4K TV. Sounds like a echo chamber. Difficult to troubleshoot. Frustrated

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/11/2017

Hello, Mac a doo, We are sorry for the inconvenience that you encountered with the soundbar. Let us help you regarding this concern. You may consider following the troubleshooting step provided on the link below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/34162.
Regards, _Bob

0

Sounds great!. .for about 21 days until it quits.

HT-CT790 09/07/2017 by 865Seaturtle (USA)

I got this as a gift and loved it! The subwoofer sounded so good with movies and the bar itself was very sleek. However, after 24 days I tried to turn it on and no sound would come out! I spoke with a Sony rep and was walked through many steps to get it to work again. In the end, the rep told me to mail it to their shop for warranty repair. . Apparently, it just "locked up". Fortunately, the store allowed me to exchange it. I was back in business!. . .for another 20 days. I am now scheduling another trip to the store to exchange this soundbar once again. .BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY! I'm very disappointed with this system!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2017

Hello, 865Seaturtle, It is sad to hear that the unit doesn’t go well. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.
Regards, _Bob

0

Sounds great

HTCT790 09/01/2017 by Mike2357 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to down size from a home with a surround sound system, for an apartment. And was surprised at how well this sounds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Couteau suisse!!!!!!

HT-CT790 08/28/2017 by Geydi (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Très satisfait, car au delà des performances, simplifié la vie: photo, son, évite d'avoir des multiprises hdmi, Bluetooth émetteur et récepteur, possibilité de connecter casque. Un véritable couteau suisse !!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

Great sound bar with clear sound and kicking bass.

HT-CT790 08/27/2017 by Jordanboss50 (USA)

I was impressed with what I got. Impressive sound bar with a good sound quality and features. I recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony troubled speaker

HTCT790 08/25/2017 by Skinner (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had trouble with the first one. Company helped us and replaced it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Repeated failures

HT-CT790 08/03/2017 by 1811 (USA)

The sound bar had to be repaired 3 times on the first 8 months. It would enter 'Standy by' and 'Please Wait' mode without ever coming out. There is no sound in this mode. As a product it is unreliable and I do not recommend it. The ARC port was nice and the SB turned on when the TV came on. I could control the volume without any problem. Well, when it worked.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2017

Hi 1811,
We apologize for the bad experience. Please send us more details about your concern at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you.

0

Sound bar

HT-CT790 08/03/2017 by Chris 65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT this sound bar a few weeks ago great sound and stylish look.my ony CRITICISM would be that it has no individual way of altering the bass or treble which is not very good for the price i had a cheaper Sony sound bar previously which had this facility so was disappointed to fined this wasn't available on this model

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Connectiques complètes : hdmi (arc), bluetooth ..

HT-CT790 08/02/2017 by SylvainL (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mon achat est assez récent, plus de recul est nécessaire.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

Good Sound

HT-CT790 06/04/2017 by Breadman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a 780 model before this and was very happy with sound on all inputs.I changed to this model because it lets me input 4k on all its HDMI ports.The sound is as good as my old 780 model.One minus mark on this model subwoofer drop out has occured twice I hope this was just a blip.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not impressed

HT-CT790 06/04/2017 by Lughead (USA)

Returned 2 of these units in 6 months, and the parts to fix it are not available

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/05/2017

Hi Lughead, thank you for bringing this to our attention. It is to our regret that the soundbar was not able to meet your expectations. We'll make sure that the team is well informed about this for improvements and investigation. Regards.

0

Love It

HT-CT790 05/30/2017 by Muschner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great connectivity with Spotify,makes films sound excellent and no cables. Plus ability to add rear wireless speakers at a later date!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worst electronic device

HT-CT790 05/24/2017 by unsatisfied sony customer (USA)

I've had two of these devices within the past year. The first one i bought decided it didn't want to work not even after 5 months of purchase. Sony wanted me to send it in so they could repair it. I was then told it could not be repaired and they would send me a new unit. The new unit i received only lasted 3 months before it did the same thing as the first unit. Now, they are wanting me to send in the replacement unit for repair. They said i could get the next model since i wasn't happen with the current unit but i would have to pay extra. The next model probably would fail as well. I'll never buy another Sony product. I expected more out of a product from Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Son clair et agréable

HT-CT790 05/06/2017 by Yfaitbo (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Je viens d'acheter cet appareil pour améliorer le son sans profondeur de mon téléviseur Sony kd-55xd9305 pourtant équipé de 4 fois 7,5w mais sans grave (vu le prix ça déçoit) . Je suis satisfait de cette nouvelle acquisition qui rend enfin la qualité d'écoute beaucoup plus agréable et plus claire. Elle est assez puissante pour regarder la TV et écouter de la musique via la TV ou à l'aide de son smart phone en Bluetooth ou via USB. Elle est fournie seulement avec un cordon optique qui n'est pas utile car pour l'installation j'ai du la brancher en HDMI pour avoir le menu de configuration de la barre de son sur l'écran du téléviseur: -pour associer le caisson de basse (car je n'ai pas réussi avec le cordon optique) -pour utiliser une seule télécommande (celle du téléviseur HDMI ARC) -pour la connecter en wifi -pour configurer le son ... Si vous avez un meuble un peu haut, la barre de son placée devant le téléviseur gène le capteur de la télécommande TV et assis sur mon canapé cela m'oblige à lever mon bras pour toute action. A part ces petits défauts, bon produit, bien fini et de bonne qualité.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

3

1

0

Great Sound

HTCT790 04/26/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to use with my new 55" 850D television. The sound is loud and clear sounding. I have Xfinity X1 and I had no issues with setting up. My only complaint is that the volume number on the television doesn't match the sound bar. It's doubled. All in all, this is a great quality soundbar with many features including a setting to have the voice volume higher. It's well worth the cost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features and nice rich sound

HTCT790 04/21/2017 by Kurgan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There are so many features for getting just the right sound. I really like the voice enhancement capabilities.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love hearing the voices!

HTCT790 03/31/2017 by Golfer Gal43 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Up until purchasing this product, I always needed to have the closed captioning on so I could understand the dialog on any given program. Now I can hear them clearly because of the voice feature. Thanks, Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fantastic bass

HT-CT790 03/27/2017 by blueboi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this rather than the Panasonic I had my eye on the sound from it is just pure quality a joy to listen to.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Feines Ding!

HT-CT790 03/21/2017 by UMars (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bin mehr als zufrieden mit dem Erwerb dieses Systems!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Pb de compatibilité ARC

HT-CT790 03/21/2017 by Déçu31 (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

Achetée pour n'utiliser qu'un seule télécommande avec TV Bravia grace à la prise HDMI ARC mais cette fonctionnalité est incompatible avec mon démodulateur satellite . Donc plutôt déçu.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

3

0

Perfect partner to new 4k Sony TV

HT-CT790 03/19/2017 by Phil B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my Sony soundbar for 4 weeks now .. and though I have a Toslink optical cable connected , I also have a pass through HDMI 'ARC' connection from my 4k disc player to the TV. The connection pics up straight away and even when connecting my Sony USB memory stick .. the sound bar automatically turns the tv on to show my music and photo menu / folders . Plenty of extra power for todays slim (limited speaker) TV ... but superb quality too and the subtle, but complimentary woofer is a very nice addition. Looks good .. sounds great !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony 2.1ch SoundBar and Wi-Fi Bluetooth sub woofer

HT-CT790 03/17/2017 by jeana (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought product from Currys. Easy to install. Good sound quality especially on high volume. Sound bar quite long. Needed to locate sound bar behind TV as blocked the TV remote connecting to TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great product and built in featured

HT-CT790 03/08/2017 by G Dub (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Has exceeded my expectations as previously I owned a surround sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

toller Bass

HT-CT790 03/06/2017 by Hoschy (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Vor zwei Wochen gekauft und muss sagen ich bin überzeugt

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Gut ausgestattet

HT-CT790 03/06/2017  (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sehr schöner Klang und gut ausgestattet. Schönes Design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

1st soundbar purchase

HTCT790 03/04/2017 by corp bee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am really satisfied with this purchase. The Easy/quick set up guide was right to the point. If you have a 4K Ultra HD TV, this is for you. The ARC HDMI input makes it so easy to control your TV and Cable. The cable remote will control the soundbar as well!!!! Need I say more??

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sehr zufrieden

HT-CT790 02/25/2017 by Dacich (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sehr guter Sound und schöne Optik. Richtiges Kinofeeling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Getrauscht

HT-CT790 02/18/2017  (Germany) Verified Purchaser Verified

Getauscht in HT-RT5 kein guter Klang jetzt besser

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

2

0

Super Soundbar HT CT790

HTCT790 02/16/2017 by failsafe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have read almost all the reviews and took most with a grain of salt....I have a larger than average living room 30X30 and the sound is fulfilling Bass is their filling the room..Hi and mid range is excellent With good separation and clear voice even at low volume.....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great product

HT-CT790 02/08/2017 by lancethedj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought to compliment our Sony TV, great sound with depth

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Sound

HT-CT790 02/01/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Am delighted with product, sound quality is excellent and set up was very easy. Looks great, sounds better!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

at the movies!

HT-CT790 01/26/2017 by aj50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the soundbar because new tv not good on the audio front. Great sound from this piece of kit, especially the Movie mode, well worth the extra expense

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Plug and play!!!

HT-CT790 01/26/2017 by TREF2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The two sound bars are another great but!!!!! A greatbproduct that was described by the retailer curries as "!plug and play". No way!! Very complicated with very complicated indtructions. Only by getting a qualified TV engineer were we able to get the sound bars working. Even he took some time to get a result. Once hooked up they perform very well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

poor subwoofer

HT-CT790 01/25/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

subwoofer hardly makes and contribution to the soundbar, even when at the highest volume.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

1

0

Parfait!

HT-CT790 01/22/2017 by hakim93 (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

j'ai acquis cette barre de son pour réduire le nombre de fils qui se balladent dernière le matériel audio/vidéo. c'est parfait. petit hic, la doc manque et est succinct! ( pourquoi ne pas intégrer dans le logiciel de la barre une suite de schémas/configurations classique : 1,2,3,4,5 appareils à connecter. TV+Barre ==> c'est simple.. mais BR + Apple TV + BOX adsl .. c'est là où le produit peut dépasser les autres!)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

3

2

0

A Sound buy

HT-CT790 01/21/2017 by MikeMill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound bar compliments the new 55 inch Sony TV. A perfect picture mow has perfect sound. The ability to stream music and the great sound quality is remarkable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Très bonne barre de son

HT-CT790 01/21/2017 by Haigbal (France) Verified Purchaser Verified

les fonctionnalités sont vraiment complètes, on peut raccorder tout type de source audio ou vidéo.

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

3