RRP

€ 210.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
85

4.8 based on 85 customer reviews

74
10
0
0
1
Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

85 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound, great value

SSCS5 07/28/2022 by Bill427 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

What hasn’t already been said about these speakers on the internet? Great sound and great value. I agree wholeheartedly as long as you understand the design limitations at the price point.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/28/2022

Hi Bill427, We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! Thanks for choosing Sony! Erin

0

great speakers

SSCS5 07/17/2022 by fivefour (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These were bought to hook up to my new sony receiver. They sound real good with the receiver and everything connected too it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/17/2022

Hi fivefour, Great! We're glad that you like the sound quality of your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! Thanks for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Add to my audio equipment.

SSCS5 06/14/2022 by SanJosePhotoNut (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enhances the room listening experience more than I would have thought.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/14/2022

Hey SanJosePhotoNut,

Fantastic! We are so happy that you are satisfied with the exceptional sound quality of our SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers.

At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage.

Thanks so much for your purchase and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

great sound

SSCS5 03/24/2022 by Wallysworld (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great price and they look great. would recommend them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/24/2022

Hi Wallysworld,

Awesome! We're thrilled that you are happy with your purchase. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for the recommendation and for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Good sound. Compact design.

SSCS5 02/21/2022 by WillEagle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the size, these speakers have great sound. I needed to replace my big bulky speakers with these to take up less room. They work very well for my purpose.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/22/2022

Hi WillEagle,

You made the right choice in upgrading to the Sony SS-CS5! We're glad that you like the size and sound quality of the speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Great sound at low volume levels

SSCS5 02/21/2022 by bigred3769 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these speakers as I am working from home and listen to music thru my work day. There where the perfect size and perform outstanding with all kinds of music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/21/2022

Hi bigred3769, Great! We're glad that you like the sound quality and size of your speakers. These new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! Thanks for choosing Sony! Erin

0

The sound is crisp and clear

SSCS5 01/26/2022 by rjpreacher (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the sound quality. I had larger speakers connected to my system and I haven't lose the sound quality I was trying to achieve.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/27/2022

Hi rjpreacher,

Perfect! We're thrilled that you are enjoying the sound quality of the SS-CS5 speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Can’t believe the sound

SSCS5 01/19/2022 by Gary2022 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Bose 301s were starting to have issues after 25 years and I read reviews about Sony’s SS-CS5s and felt for the price I would try them until i could afford to replace my Bose. Note: I only use these for listening to music, vinyls,CDs, and purchased downloads. Received these for Christmas and hooked them up while I repaired my Bose. They sounded great for what I was using them for, music in my painting studio. (20’x25’ room) I fixed my Bose and decided to hook them up to my receiver. Then I compared each using the A-B speaker selector. They sounded almost identical. Sony’s bass was better than the Bose and had a smaller footprint. Now I’m using all 4 speakers in the 4 corners of the studio. I have sound everywhere and can keep the volume at a level that does not bother others in the house. I’m surprisingly pleased with the sound even at higher levels.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/21/2022

Hi Gary2022, we're glad you are enjoying the sound quality of our product. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! ~Earl

0

Big things come from small packages!

SSCS5 01/10/2022 by Rick K (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After replacing my 30-year-old Sony Prologic 5.1 Receiver with a new Sony STR DN590 5.2, I felt that my 30-year-old Yamahas needed an upgrade, also. I went online for reviews of several candidates, and the SS-CS5 stood out among the others. I have not been disappointed! Its bass melds with my PSW10, like the proverbial "seamless garment", superior to its predecessors, to produce concert level bass with Eric Clapton's 1988 version of "After Midnight", and the treble and midrange handles both contemporary and vintage female vocals, as from Bond themes. All-in-all, a great speaker!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2022

Hi Rick K,

Amazing! We're thrilled that you are enjoying the sound quality of the SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Great Speakers

SSCS5 12/23/2021 by Captain Befo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound from these 100 RMS speakers -- both loud & Soft music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/23/2021

Hi Captain Befo, Awesome! We're glad to hear you appreciate the great sound quality of your new Sony SSCS5 speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Sam

0

Speakers for my garage work area

SSCS5 12/13/2021 by RMC Outdoors (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice speakers..great value, sound, construction & looks!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/13/2021

Hello RMC Outdoors,

Fabulous! It is really lovely to hear you find our SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers perfect for your garage work area. We are also delighted you are satisfied with its affordable price, great sound & build quality, and good-looking design of these speakers.

At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage.

Thanks so much for your purchase and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Great value for music and tv

SSCS5 12/05/2021 by Marsxo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Performs high above its price point. Great for music and TV

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2021

Hi Marsxo, We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! Thank you for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Great product for the price point

SSCS5 12/01/2021 by Billbob54 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are my second set, very impressed with first set

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/01/2021

Hello Billbob54,

Fantastic!

We are so happy to hear that you are satisfied with the price, and you are very impressed with the superb performance of your first set of SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers- and that you purchased another set for your home theater setup.

At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage.

Thank you so much for your purchase and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Respectable performance at a great price

SSCS5 11/19/2021 by Albert on the Steppe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these for use in my wood/metal working shop but are being driven by a Pass Camp 16Watt Class A Amp

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/19/2021

Hi Albert on the Steppe,

Great! We're glad that the SS-CS5 speakers are perfect for your entertainment setup. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Awesome Speakers

SSCS5 11/18/2021 by EvidencE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Right from the sound that filled the room I knew these were awesome speakers. Crystal clear and amazing rich sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/18/2021

Hi EvidencE,

Amazing! We're thrilled that you are enjoying the sound quality of the SS-CS5 speakers.

At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Best Bookshelf

SSCS5 11/07/2021 by Joe 141 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delivers great sound throughout the house without raising the volume to distortion

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/07/2021

Hi Joe 141, We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! Thank you for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Sound great.

SSCS5 09/22/2021 by Rbob7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got these to replace the small front speakers that came with my Sony surround system. Huge difference.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/23/2021

Hi Rbob7,

Great! We're glad that you are happy with the upgrade. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Best bang for your buck

SSCS5 08/11/2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These loud speakers sound pretty good. They very well could be the best speakers at their price point (<$100). Their built is solid and have a good quality feel to them. With the use of some EQ, you make them sound better. I'm very happy with them

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/12/2021

Hi Ed Martinez,

Great! We're glad that you are happy with your purchase. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

2nd purchase

SSCS5 08/09/2021 by Sonylover64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second set of these speakers. Love them so much. The sound they produce is awesome. Would highly recommend these speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/09/2021

Hi Sonylover64, Awesome! Thank you for purchasing your second SS-CS5 bookshelf speaker. Good to know you love the amazing sound quality that this unit delivers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Best budget bookshelf speaker to buy.

SSCS5 07/24/2021 by Galaxie500 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had these speakers for about a month now. After initial break in, these speakers sound exceptional. Ad a subwoofer to a pair of these and you will be impressed. A pair of these are going to be your biggest bang for the buck. I am very happy with these fine but inexpensive speakers. Highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/24/2021

Hi Galaxie500, Congratulations on your new Sony SS-CS5 bookshelf speaker! We're glad to hear you're enjoying the exceptional sound quality of your new Sony speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase!

Regards,
Sam

0

Quality products.

SSCS5 07/21/2021 by eman72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these speakers a month ago with no problems.They sound great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/22/2021

Hi eman72,

Great! We're glad that you are enjoying the sound quality of the speaker. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Could work as a subwoofer - low end pretty good.

SSCS5 07/16/2021 by Tigerjay (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used to replace old Sanyo speakers - one which was blown out by my system. Sound is great, especially when using low end boost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/17/2021

Hi Tigerjay, We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! Thank you for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Small,compact and work quite well

SSCS5 07/02/2021 by Hay you (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small speakers that fill the room with good sound. Good value.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/03/2021

Hi Hay you,

We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase!

Regards,
David

0

Great very happy!

SSCS5 06/05/2021 by JD47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Two months ago very happy!That is my review you don’t like it don’t post. It is hard for me to type this much.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/06/2021

Hi JD47, We're pleased to hear that you are enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! Thank you for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Very nice for my den system

SSCS5 05/03/2021 by RoryR (USA)

I purchased two pairs. One for use with my wife's compact SONY receiver and for me coupled to my Outlaw retro receiver 2150 and an MK 10" subwoofer. Previously I had a pair of Tannoy Proto J's and those were great, but the SONY's are fine for a home office system. Actually more efficient than the Tannoy's.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/04/2021

Hi RoryR, That's awesome! Thank you for purchasing two pairs of your new SS-CS5 bookshelf speakers. Glad to hear that you and your wife are enjoying the excellent sound quality of these speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

3D Sound

SSCS5 04/20/2021 by Rams1074 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m building my Home Theater set-up starting with with these speakers. Right now they are being used as my front stereo speakers. If you just need them for an office/bedroom/bathroom/garage setting, you can’t go wrong. The speakers have crossovers and in this price range it is absolutely unheard of, (pun intended). I especially appreciate that the port is located on the back (instead of the front) of the speaker, and that just means I needed to place them on a surface away from the wall instead of hanging the on the wall. The result is that of a ‘reflective 3D sound field’ that reproduces amazing depth and precision location of voice/instruments in the recording. By this purchase alone, I’ve been convinced of the quality of Sony Audio Products and am looking forward to the next step of my HT by obtaining the STRDH790 receiver and all the features that it offers, such as the virtual surround using these speakers, Bluetooth and DTS X, that uses location based sound decoding without the use of additional speakers (Dolby Atmos). Of course, to utilize this technology my current speakers will be repurposed to surround speakers when the purchase of new F/L/R & sub speakers are complete Looking forward to growing my system with Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/22/2021

Hi Rams1074, we appreciate your detailed review of our product. We're glad you like it. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! ~Earl

0

Superior Sony

SSCS5 03/25/2021 by TheTmac43 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Oh boy these speaker were then next last to complete my home theater experience. Sony delivers TV, gaming, Bluray, and sound I love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/26/2021

Hi TheTmac43,

Awesome! We are glad you love the sound quality of the speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase!

Regards,
David

0

Extremely happy

SS-CS5 03/09/2021 by Rich678 (USA)

I bought a pair last week and was so happy I bought another pair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2021

Hi Rich678, Glad to hear that you are happy and satisfied with the SS-CS5 Bookshelf speakers and purchased another one! At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Carl

0

I like these speakers, clean and crisp, but ?

SS-CS5 02/14/2021 by KathyinBuffaloNY (USA)

Love these, great especially for the price. What subwoofer should I buy for them?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/15/2021

Hi KathyinBuffaloNY, We're glad to hear you feel that the SSCS5 is worth its price. We recommend getting the Sony SACS9 subwoofer to complement your speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase!

Regards,
Sam

0

SS-CS5 bookshelf speaker

SSCS5 01/10/2021 by pefarrell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These speakers have really helped my apartment living room with nice sound. I purchased a Sony woofer to go with them. Together the speakers are quality sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2021

Hi pefarrell, That's great! We're thrilled to hear it fits perfectly in your apartment living room and it works great together with your Sony subwoofer. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Sam

0

Great sound and value

SSCS5 01/03/2021 by jnguyen5820 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After watching many review videos on these CS5 bookshelf speakers, I finally got the pair and fell in love with them. These alone paired with an amp or receiver beats any sub $800 sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/06/2021

Hi Jnguyen5820, Thank you for the 5-star rating! We're glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. Good to know that you are enjoying the great sound quality of your new speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for sharing your feedback and for choosing Sony! -Jess

0

Sound and look a fantastic

SSCS5 12/27/2020 by Bwcondonb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month ago and they have filled the house with awesome sound since.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/27/2020

Hi Bwcondonb, Congratulations on your new SS-CS5 bookshelf speaker! We're glad to hear you're enjoying the powerful sound it delivers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase!

Regards,
Sam

0

Great system

SSCS5 12/15/2020 by Clamer529 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

That’s why I bought 4 of them and receiver and will probably upgrade my turntable also

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/16/2020

Hi Clamer529!

Wow! We are extremely pleased to hear you are happy and satisfied with the outstanding sound quality of our SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

great value, great sound.

SSCS5 12/14/2020 by busterben (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well worth the price of this speaker, great sound from a small enclosure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/17/2020

Hi busterben, we’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! ~Earl

0

Great set of bookshelf speakers

SSCS5 12/01/2020 by wa6ldtham (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took a while to decide on these speakers and read all of the negitive reveiws but they are unbelevable wrong. These speakers out of the box are very goood but with a little tweek of the base they become excelent. Could not have done better at the price paid ($78.95).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/07/2020

Hi wa6ldtham,

We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage.

Thanks so much for your purchase and have a nice day!
Regards,
David

0

Amazing bookshelf speaker

SSCS5 11/12/2020 by GJ2020N (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound of SS-CS5 is more than decent for the price. Has impressive bass and mid, while treble feels little bit bright. Build quality is superb.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/13/2020

Hi GJ2020N, Thank you so much for your feedback! We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Carl

0

Great Sound

SSCS5 11/10/2020 by The Master (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought these. Had considered 2 way polk audio's, a little cheaper. Glad I went with these 3 ways. Crisp and clear. Nice sounding bass. Ran these through my song list, I test all my equipment on. Passed with flying colors. I was pleasantly surprised, especially for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/11/2020

Hi The Master,

Great! We're glad that your investment is worth it. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

5.1 Surround Rears

SS-CS5 08/26/2020 by robb15033 (USA)

Purchased speakers to place as Rear surround speakers and sound great having settings maximize rear sound on ONKYO receiver.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/27/2020

Hi robb15033, Thank you for purchasing the Sony SSCS5 speakers! We're glad to hear you're enjoying the sound quality and it fits perfectly with your receiver. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Blended Well with Existing Components

SSCS5 08/20/2020 by 1Pop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the SS-CS5 speakers 3 weeks ago and they blended well acoustically with my existing system and aesthetically with my other speakers and my room decor. Although I considered returning the SS-CS5 speakers due to the impedance mismatch between them and my Sony DTR-DG820 A/V receiver, I am very happy to report no issues whatsoever. I placed these speakers on speaker stands and connected them as both surround and front speakers and they play well in either position. About 80% of the time these speakers are used for jazz and blues music listening.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/24/2020

Hi 1Pop, we're glad you like our product. We're sorry to hear that you had to return your SONY unit because of the impedance mismatch, but we appreciate this positive review. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thank you. ~Earl

0

Powerful little ones

SSCS5 08/07/2020 by Ed1226 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased a pair of this Sony Model bookshelf speaker and the sound was awesome! 3-way speakers really make a difference with great bass and treble.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2020

Hi Ed1226, we’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase and for choosing SONY! ~Earl

0

Really was skeptical about buying a small speaker

SSCS5 07/21/2020 by Jane10 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

But they surprised me in the sound Quality , I think they'll work out just fine . If your needing a punch in a speaker I think your be happy with these . The Bass surprised me in the size they are , was going to give close too three hundred for a pair of speakers and read the reviews on these and I thought I'd take a chance . I miss my big floor speakers , but didn't want those big things taking up space. These are sounding just great .....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/24/2020

Hello jane10,

We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase and have a nice day!

Regards,
David

0

Good speakers, Great highs

SS-CS5 07/21/2020 by Petalmasher (USA)

For the two years I”ve had these speakers in my house I have had the chance to compare them directly with 4 other sets of speakers (Jamo C93 II, Elac Debut F5, Onkyo D-SX9A, Infinity Reference 2000.2) in both my living room and kitchen and using 4 very different amps. (Onkyo A-905tx, Elac EA101EQ-G, Cambridge CXA60, Fosi Audio BT20A) In other reviews I’ve watched and read it has been said that these speakers lack bass or the amount of bass is highly dependent on the amplifier. In my experience the bass in these speakers has behaved as well as one expects based on specs in comparison to other speakers. Compared to the 4-inch Onkyos, the Sonys put out a lot more bass. Compared to the Elac F5 or the Infinity 2002.2, the bass doesn’t go and less low, but it’s less impactful… it doesn’t thump you in the chest as hard, which is unsurprising for a 5-inch bookshelf speaker compared to a Floor stander with 3, 5-inch drivers or a bookshelf speaker with a 6.5 inch driver. The Sonys bass is every bit as tight and clean as its rivals. The Jamo does go a little lower but doesn’t hit any harder. Since I wasn’t there for the original recording, and I haven’t taken measurements I wouldn’t claim these are true to the source, or that the frequency response is flat, but the mid-range falls directly in between the Jamos, which have a comparatively recessed mid-range and the Elacs which are thick in the middle. The highs are undoubtedly the strong point of these speakers and the reason why I love them. The Jamos are the only ones that compare. They both provide plenty of detail and excellent imaging, but If I had to use one speaker to pick out fine details in track, I’d use the Sonys and if I had to place where the details were on the stage, I’d use the Jamos. These speakers are either more sensitive than Sony claims, or they are the only ones giving honest measurements for sensitivity. Compared to the Jamos, the Sonys are a bit louder with the volume at the same point despite the fact that they are both 6 ohm speakers and Jamo claims 88 db sensitivity and Sony claims 87. They are also a bit louder compared to the 8-ohm, 99 db infinities.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/24/2020

Hello Petalmasher,

We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase!

Regards,
David

0

Great Speakers

SS-CS5 07/15/2020 by Kydraiden (USA)

I bought this a month ago and I'm Glad I did. Speakers sound amazing and they fit perfect in my office.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/20/2020

Hi Kydraiden, Great! We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying the sound quality of your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers and good to know it fits perfectly in your office as well. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Sam

0

Fantastic Depth, Range, and Clarity! Excellent!!!

SS-CS5 06/07/2020 by BigCory (USA)

I purchased the Sony speakers from a link in the Sony site. They arrived quickly. My first impression was amazement at the build quality and clean design. Great feature is the dimension of the cabinet - not excessively deep as many manufacturers are doing. The perfect size. Onto the sound. I have these driven by a Sony STR-DH190 stereo receiver- a perfect match. The initial sound was a bit shallow, and I wasn’t impressed. But, as many audiophiles recommended, I gave them a two week break in (burn in) period. WOW! Once broken in the transformed into dynamic and spacious powerhouses with incredible detail and response. The upper range is crystal clear and nuanced, without being shrill like so many other brands have seemed to me. I hear details in music that I haven’t heard with other speaker. The bass and lower frequencies are precise, punchy, and accurate without any distortion. I can put a lot of power into these and the respond without breaking up or distorting- the simply are AMAZING!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/15/2020

Hi BigCory, Wow! We're very happy to hear you're enjoying your new ss-cs5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Sam

0

great sound

SSCS5 05/30/2020 by Dang2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these speakers 10 days ago and very pleased with the sound. We needed some smaller speakers due to downsizing our home and these fit the need perfectly. They were on sale and priced right. We can't believe how good the sound is for the size and price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/02/2020

Hi, Dang2,
We are glad you are happy with your speaker! Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

perfect size

SSCS5 05/17/2020 by smuck (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great sound. we love these speakers. these were a gift so i have no other purchase information.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/21/2020

Hi smuck, Awesome! We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Sam

0

Quality sound , very well built speakers

SSCS5 05/11/2020 by Mr Cast (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great speakers with quality sound. You would think music is coming from a bigger size speaker. Was very satisfied with the outcome of quality music and size of speakers. Look very well built. Very good appearance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/14/2020

Hi Mr Cast, Awesome! We're happy to hear you're enjoying your SS-CS5 bookshelf speaker. At first, listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Sam

0

Great sound

SSCS5 04/16/2020 by JSL1975 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Saw good reviews for these online, and the price was very reasonable, so I upgraded my old speakers, and these are as amazing as the reviews said.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/18/2020

Hi JSL1975, we're glad you like the sound quality of our product. These speakers are built on sound foundations. A strong, ported enclosure allows for rich, resonant acoustics. The bass reflex duct, positioned at the rear of the speaker, suppresses unwanted noise and improves low-frequency sound reproduction. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Fantastic soundstage with great detail!

SSCS5 03/01/2020 by Joz7108 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great speaker for the price! Great inner detail with fantastic soundstage!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/02/2020

Hi, Joz71086017772990!

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony.

0

Speakers seem to work well with my equipment.

SSCS5 01/27/2020 by JLHarper (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the speakers came with a tear in the fabric on the front of the speaker. Could you send me a new front panel for the one that is torn? Thank you.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/31/2020

Hi, JLHarper!

This is definitely not the news that we would like to hear. Please reach out to your dealer for further assistance.

~Ralph

0

Great Quality and Sound

SS-CS5 01/09/2020 by Mad Cow (USA)

I decided to go across the board and get a new stereo system. Got a Sony STR-DH190 receiver, 2 Sony SSCS5 speakers, 2 SSCS3 floor standing speakers, and a Audio Technica AT-LP120XUSB turn table. Wow, great quality sound and definition from FM, Phono, and audio input from TV. A lot of quality that will not break the bank. Instrument solos come thru bright and crisp. Bass well defined without being overpowering. Really brings out the quality that underlies old 70's LP's. Just a great setup. I link in my Apple Laptop and iPhone via Bluetooth to the Sony receiver. Though I have a preference for analog LP's, the digital via bluetooth is fantastic also. Highly recommend. A solid investment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Good sound with my equipment.

SSCS5 01/05/2020 by jasl63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One speaker came with a tear in the fabric on the front of the speaker. Can you send a replacement front panel? Thank you.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Book shelf speakers

SSCS5 12/23/2019 by Ltcausret (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was very satisfied with the speakers. I will recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

nice speakers

SSCS5 12/16/2019 by Tony Yoga (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very satisfied with these speakers, they fill the space nicely, I have 1,800 sq, ft, and was curious if these speaker would be enough, they do really well for my needs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost there

SS-CS5 10/09/2019 by LennyM (USA)

A little over months ago I was looking for a second pair of speakers to go withy Polk Audio speakers. I was, and still am using the Sony Strdh190 100W Receiver and an Audio Technica 120xusb turntable. At that same time, I was due a birthday present. So, I received these Sony speakers. Prior to the purchase, I did a good bit of research looking for good performance at a nice price. I read more than a few reviews both professional and from the customer. Weighting all this information, I decided to go with these Sony speakers. To be sure, I had a few concerns. Three way speakers at this price point seemed like a bit of overreaching. And, as always with bookshelf type speakers I was worried a bout the smallish bass speaker. However, after my first listening, all my concerns were put to rest. These speakers provided good quality sound much in excess of what I expected. To be a little specific; the hifh end was superb. The presented music was clear, without a hint of cymbal breakup. The mus range was very strong as voices jumped out of these speakers. The low, bass end was very smooth without the often harsh, booming bass that smothers the rest of the music. I went in to play various genre in my vinyl collection: rock, classical, and pop. I played the records at different volumes. Finally, I pushed them pretty hard, listing for any problems. In all the sound was well presented without any noticeable distortion. The stereo imaging was good. Their construction is nice, if somewhat plane in appearance. The speakers were enclosed in with smooth, black, wood panels except for the face which was composed of what looks like a high impact plastic holding the three speakers. The grills are composed of black foam held in place by push in pegs. The port is located on the back panel just above the nice twist on wire posts. The speakers have the look and feel if high quality. These are very well made speakers. If I have any issues it’s with the low end. At times the bass seemed to need more push. This was not often and indeed for the most part went unnoticed. I think this issue might be exasperated by the rear facing port. However, this is not a deal breaker. All things considered, I believe these to be an excellent example of very good hifi at a bargain price. They sound so good I often listen to them without any other speakers. They could easily be your main speakers. A great buy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Response From Sony Social Support
10/11/2019

Hello, LennyM!

Wow, what an awesome review! We are happy to know that the unit meets your expectation. Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Top Sony Qualität

SS-CS5 07/18/2019 by r_a_n_i (Germany)

Hab die SS-CS5 Lautsprecher erst seit ein paar Tagen, bin aber jetzt schon total begeistert. Die Lautsprecher sind sehr gut verarbeitet und auch super einfach bei der Inbetriebnahme. Lautsprecher brauchen immer ein paar Stunden Betriebszeit bis diese ihre volle Leistung entfalten, aber für das Geld performen diese jetzt schon sehr gut. Die Lautsprecher habe ich an einen Sony HAP-S1 Mediaplayer mit HDD angeschlossen. An diesen ist auch der Sony HiRes Plattenspieler PS-HX500 angeschlossen für meine kleine LP Sammlung. Also ich kann diese nur empfehlen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

13

0

0

Excellent home theater speakers

SSCS5 06/27/2019 by stretch13579 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These speakers plus the matching center channel speaker are the beginning of my HT 5.1 system . In addition I utilized an older Sony 10 subwoofer which provides great output. These speakers are highly recommended for a decent system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Sony SS-CS5 speakers

SSCS5 06/23/2019 by busterboy1956 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love them, I want another pair ! Great clear sound I don't know if you can get better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

They are good.

SSCS5 05/07/2019 by Krenshaw45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

They're great for movies because they are clear, as far as dialogue goes. For music, you will need a bass speaker. The speakers aren't bass-less but, they don't have the lows that really brings music alive, or makes you feel the music. But for my use I needed clarity, and for that I am satisfied.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great sound at an affordable price!

SSCS5 04/24/2019 by Hunt247 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I actually bought 4 of these to complete my 5.1 surround sound system and I couldn't be happier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great Speakers--for the price!

SSCS5 04/24/2019 by Hankxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I ordered these through Amazon(seems to be a way of life now), totally unsure of what quality I might be getting, but relied on past experience with Sony--all good so far in life. For the price these are outstanding. I wanted some way to have music while working out on my Total Gym in the basement and these FILL THE BILL!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AWESOME

SSCS5 04/06/2019 by EDHER (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I NEVER EXPECT THE SOUND AND QUALITY OF SUCH SMALL SPEAKERS, CAN'T WAIT TO GET THE CENTER CHANNEL TO HAVE THE COMPLETE SERIES

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not even broken in already extraordinary!

SS-CS5 03/20/2019 by Alfonse (USA)

Could not believe reviews! I am truly amazed at the sound (comparing to very expensive Klipsch Forte and JBL L36). Will run these 24/7 for break in, the sound can only improve. Super absurd buy! Everyone can have great sound for an unbelievable price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WOW

SS-CS5 12/23/2018 by Wolfsburg (USA)

Picked these up on sale right before Christmas to replace a rather flat sounding pair of speaker... I kept reading glowing reviews and thought there was no way they were that good, but for the price, I decided to find out. I could not be any happier that I chose to give the Sony's a chance! Currently they are hooked up to a Sony STR-1800 from the 70s (rated around 15wpc), and the sound they deliver is phenomenal! Tone dials are pretty much flat, and the bass is warm and accurate, with the highs being very pleasant and not at all harsh. Phenomenal product for the price! I did audition them on two other receivers I own, and they shined no matter what the source was when compared to my old speakers. In the end, I preferred the look to the old Sony so it will used until I find something I like better. If you are on the fence about these, get them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Really Satisfied

SSCS5 10/25/2018 by beesqueek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's going on a month now that I've had these speakers and they're sounding better by the day! The quality honestly sounds breath taking, at least for the price.. i found them on sale too.. they fill my bedroom with sound easily , im using a denon s530bt receiver with them.. i plan on getting the sony 10'' sub in the future and hopefully the floor standing pair speakers but for now these will do !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Gorgeous! SSCS5's with SACS9 and STR-ZA3000ES.

SSCS5 07/08/2018 by Jonathan56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently bought two of these SSCS5 speakers to match on separately purchased stands with an SACS9 subwoofer I have enjoyed for three years and an STR-ZA3000ES (July, 2018). The STR-ZA3000ES has been replaced in the Sony ES lineup by the newer 3100ES, which includes Dolby Atmos, DTS-X, Ihiji, Phantom Surround Back, and other upgrade features. Cutting to the chase, the SSCS5 speakers are simply superb to my ears, and seem to work perfectly in the match with the Sony ES audio video receiver and my great old workhorse, my Sony Core Series subwoofer. I did endless research and auditions of many products and brands. I have read most of the reviews about the Core Series speakers and countless other speakers, many of them superb and possibly on my future shopping lists. The accolades for the SSCS5 are not hype, at all, in my humble opinion. Anyone interested in getting amazing stop-you-in-your-tracks sound out of reasonably affordable audio gear would be very wise to put these extremely capable and affordable bookshelf speakers on his or her short list to consider. One caveat I offer is that although the SSCS5 has fine, present, defined, clear, and punchy bass, adding a fine subwoofer such as the SACS9 can definitely help you feel better and get your bass on if you happen to be one of those "needs more cowbell" types. For reference, I just played Jethro Tull's remastered Thick As A Brick and also some of the best and most bass-demanding Led Zeppelin remastered tracks on CD's - up very loud (>100 db but not quite to pain threshold) with and without the Sony sub engaged. It all sounded satisfying with and without the subwoofer on, and I would have been perfectly happy to have kept listening without the sub; but I guess with a very nice (or naughty) subwoofer like that SACS9 just lying around with nothing else to do, I just wanted "a little more cowbell." I hope this helps. Cheers!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

great looks and wounderful sound

SS-CS5 06/15/2018 by alfreme (USA)

I bought this set of speakers few months back and, i m very happy with the clarity of sound they produce.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent Speakers

SS-CS5 03/30/2018 by kamion4o (USA)

They are excellent as front high speakers. I use them from a day but I'm very satisfied.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

Great sound

SSCS5 03/27/2018 by kenneyboo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is really a great speaker for the price. I use them for my tv.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great audio speaker fos action and scifi films

SS-CS5 03/12/2018 by 91 firebird (USA)

Well have over 30 pair of speakers,these Sony speakers with the super tweeter And the woofer design and a standard tweeter bring out sounds I never heard Before.for the money they can't be beat plus they look great with the grill off!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

WOW

SS-CS5 03/11/2018 by FENDER83 (USA)

I AM A AUDIO VIDEO NUT OWN OVER 30 PAIRS OF SPEAKERS.HAVE THESE RUNNING AS THE FRONT SPEAKERS IN MY MOVIE ROOM.ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW !!!!!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing audio

SS-CS5 03/10/2018 by raynbot (USA)

These went well beyond my old school expectations! So much music from such an efficient design. Resting on top of a oak media cabinet, these are about chest level and meant to transmit harmonics that can be felt. Skip the visuals and feel the acoustic magic. Way to go Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0