Article ID : 00139699 / Last Modified : 01/23/2018

How to set or cancel a PIN code for Sony's Android TV

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

To set or cancel a PIN code for Sony's Android TV, follow any of the appropriate steps below:

Broadcast channels

  1. Press the HOME button on the remote.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Select Parental lock (Broadcast) in the Personal category.
  4. Select PIN Code.
  5. Set your desired 4-digit PIN code.

If you have forgotten your PIN code, enter the master PIN code for your TV.

Streaming channels

NOTE: This function is only available when the TV is connected to the Internet and the specific app is installed.

  1. Press the HOME button on the remote.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Select Parental lock (Streaming channels) in the Personal category.
  4. Set your desired 4-digit PIN code.
If you have forgotten PIN code, please follow the steps below to perform Clear data:

  1. Press the HOME button on the remote.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Select Apps in the TV category.
  4. Select Live Channels.
  5. Select Clear data.
  6. Select OK.

Restricted Profile

  • If setting your first PIN:
    1. Press the HOME button on the remote.
    2. Select Settings.
    3. Select Security & restrictions in the Personal category.
    4. Select Restricted profile.
    5. Select Settings.
    6. Set a new PIN.
    7. Re-enter new PIN.
    8. If there is an application that you want to set as exempt, select the application and set it to Allowed.
    9. Press the BACK button to return, and select Enter restricted profile.
     
  • If you have already set up a PIN:
    1. Press the HOME button on the remote.
    2. Select Settings.
    3. Select Security & restrictions in the Personal category.
    4. Select Restricted profile.
    5. Select Enter restricted profile.

Your PIN code is required to do the following.

  • Exit Restricted profile mode
  • Delete information from your profile while not in Restricted profile mode

If you have forgotten PIN code, you can delete the code from your profile by performing a Factory data reset .

NOTE: Deleting the PIN code from your profile can only be performed when not in Restricted profile mode.