107

1.4 based on 107 customer reviews

2
4
5
15
81
Performance

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Needs a Light

RMF-TX200B 09/16/2020  (USA)

Bought this a week ago and really miss my old remote because this one does not light up and does not have the skip ahead button for DVR recordings. Missing both options more than I can tell you.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Suddenly stopped working

RMF-TX200B 11/01/2020  (USA)

First very expensive. Then cant find a replacement of remote. Without which I am unable to operate the TV. Dont know whom to contact. After raising the issue to Contact center still no solution after 14days.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

20

0

107 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing Remote

RMFTX200U 02/18/2022 by SmittyDad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I didn’t realize how great it was to have voice control on a remote control. But I am telling you. You need this. If you walk away from the opportunity to experience it then all I can say is you’re not living your best life.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Should’ve thrown away my old remote

RMF-TX200B 04/26/2021 by Heero5 (USA)

I got this remote control with the television like everybody else after a while it stopped working. I do not recommend this remote Sony needs to stop making such cheap remotes I paid almost $2000 for my TV you should not come with a cheap remote.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Worst remote ever!!

RMF-TX200B 03/21/2021 by Jackommmmmmm (USA)

I bought the most expensive 75 inch TV sony made. After 2 years and 2 months the remote suddenly quit. The warranty was good for 24 months. I have only bought Sony products in the past but I will never buy another Sony product. Their customer service is horrible.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

4

0

Wish there were a rating less than poor!

RMF-TX200B 03/12/2021 by Tom6666 (USA)

Bought this Bravia OLED XBR65A9G TV 0n 12/3/20. It is 3/12/21 - 3 months - and the remote quit several days ago. Love the TV (this is my third Bravia plus many Sony products over the years) but if Sony does not make good on this remote, it is my last Sony purchase as it speaks very poorly to their quality control, design and testing, and concern for their customers.

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Feels Cheap

RMF-TX200B 03/11/2021 by Paulysf (USA)

This remote came with my newest model Sony Bravia television. It feels like a cheap $10 remote you can purchase at a discount store. Completely disappointed it’s not backlit, or I’d even accept glow in the dark. For such a great TV, Sony opted to make a cheap remote. I’m not optimistic it will last as long as the TV. I’m already shopping for a better remote after one week.

Performance

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

8

1

0

Bad - Bad

RMF-TX200B 01/31/2021 by champ94 (USA)

The cursor on the remote is really terrible. It does not "point" as the LG remote does - but only "clicks" across the screen. It takes 10 times longer to perform minute tasks compared to the LG remote.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

2

0

Very hard to open it just to change batteries!

RMF-TX200B 12/25/2020 by pilban (USA)

Very hard to open the remote control just to change batteries!

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

5

0

This remote is garbage is there an alternate?

RMF-TX200B 12/17/2020 by Nat225 (USA)

This remote sucks. We have three Sony TVs and two of the remotes have completely failed. We’re constantly removing batteries, resetting, unplugging the TVs. Still you have to push buttons multiple times to get a response and then within 1-2 days the remote just stops working and then you have to troubleshoot and reset again. I’m looking for an alternative remote to pair with the TV. Is there one available?

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

22

1

0

Cheap Remote

RMF-TX200B 12/17/2020 by Rbrown (USA)

Just Bought an X95H 65 inch TV. TV is AWESOME!! Remote NOT SO MUCH. Yikes no back light! Cheesy Design is not up to par with the TV itself in looks, Fit and Finish.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Poor remote

RMF-TX200B 12/08/2020 by Kendaris (USA)

The remote stopped working after about 3 months, I changed the batteries, still doesn’t work.

Performance

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

16

0

0

Suddenly stopped working

RMF-TX200B 11/01/2020  (USA)

First very expensive. Then cant find a replacement of remote. Without which I am unable to operate the TV. Dont know whom to contact. After raising the issue to Contact center still no solution after 14days.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

20

0

0

Disappointed in SONY

RMF-TX200B 09/27/2020 by BMW20 (USA)

I have a KDL--60W850B Sony TV, and I had to replace the remote. The replacement remote per SONY is a "RMT-TX300E", this remote doesn't allow you to put the TV in Football Mode. You're able to put the TV in Sport Mode, but not Football Mode, using the "RMT-TX300E" Remote.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

2

0

Input, Settings, Google Play and Netflix buttons

RMF-TX200B 09/24/2020 by PJose (USA)

Input, Settings, Google Play and Netflix buttons are stopped working. These buttons work one time after a TV restart. No documentation available other than reset TV. It is a pain to reset every other day on a new android TV (6 Months Old) . Volume, Channel Home buttons are working fine. Voice button will work if you are lucky.

Performance

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

0

Remote went Dead after 3 years

RMF-TX200B 09/22/2020 by Jackie O (USA)

Just died for no reason and Sony wants $50 for a replacement mind you the same remote. Come on Sony. Step up.

Performance

Poor

Features

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

13

4

0

Needs a Light

RMF-TX200B 09/16/2020  (USA)

Bought this a week ago and really miss my old remote because this one does not light up and does not have the skip ahead button for DVR recordings. Missing both options more than I can tell you.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Stupid control

RMF-TX200B 09/12/2020 by Pissedoff1997 (USA)

My family bought this TV a few months ago and the remote control stopped working like I cannot do anything

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

1

0

Stops Working!

RMF-TX200B 09/08/2020 by MikeM58 (USA)

Bought my first Sony Bravia TV after owning Samsungs for 20 years. Mostly happy with the TV, but the remote has now stopped working. Tried resetting it per Sony instructions and new batteries, but neither worked. Never had an issue with a TV remote dying after 2 years of normal use before. Sony should make this right for their customers!

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

16

1

0

Terrible remote

RMF-TX200B 08/06/2020 by Dm37 (USA)

Spent a lot of money on this Sony 4K ultra Gf tv. Love the tv and loved the features on the remote but it stopped working. Did all the trouble shooting, nothing worked.

Performance

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Recieve new remote GOOGLE SEARCH NOT WORKING

RMF-TX200B 08/03/2020 by Tomlee (USA)

I received the replacement remote and TALK SEARCH BOTTON IS NOT WORKING... $3000+ LED ... can only used for few months REMOTE... SAD FOR THE BRAND ... WILL BOT BUY AGAIN

Performance

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Remote is dead.

RMF-TX200B 07/30/2020 by Bryanbb120 (USA)

This remote came with my Bravia TV 3 years ago and has since died. None of the Sony support articles on resetting have fixed the issue. So to continue to use the Android Smart TV apps I was using the “Video & TV SideView from Sony” App on my IOS device (which is also now discontinued). At some point the TV disconnected from the Wi-Fi so now I have no way to control any of anything. Basically making my TV useless outside of what I can control from the on TV buttons. All around a bad experience. And I love Sony products.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

0

0

no way to go back to last channel on you tube tv

RMF-TX200B 07/27/2020 by ranjr (USA)

only remote i have ever seen without a last channel button. tv was was too expensive for such a poor remote.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Remote is not working

RMF-TX200B 07/25/2020 by Thanhnguye (USA)

I bought an xbr85-900f on November 2, 2019. Today July 20 ,2020 the remote is STOP WORKING... it have little problems between the TIME PERIODS.... shameful for SONY BRAND ....

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Not lasting

RMF-TX200B 07/12/2020 by 0tt0 (USA)

Our remote lasted just little over a year. Not good for a tv that costs $1599.99, however I am glad its the remote and not the TV. Whatever happened to the good old lasting products from SONY and manufactures, they design things to just break after the warranty period is over.

Performance

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

This remote sucks!

RMF-TX200B 07/03/2020 by Kumar8899 (USA)

This remote is so bad. It keeps getting hanged. I’ve tried to reset the tv and remote batteries and re insert but nothing is helping.

Performance

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

11

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/15/2020

Hi Kumar8899, we regret to hear that the remote is not working properly. Make sure to follow the troubleshooting steps on this link:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00030297?category=televisions-projectors

The TV comes with a 1-year manufacturer's warranty. If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
-Ralph

0

Remote doesn’t control anything

RMF-TX200B 07/01/2020 by Markv (USA)

Remote doesn’t control anything. I Purchased this with the TV and can’t get it to work with any other devices I’ve been struggling with three remote controls for the last two years somebody tries to sell you this thing run the other way

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/10/2020

Hi Markv, this is definitely not the news that we would like to hear. We would like to know more about your concern and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Ralph

0

On its way out

RMF-TX200B 06/29/2020 by Toancito (USA)

I bought a XBR75X900E less that 3 years ago and the remote is showing issues. I have to shake it before it could work like the batteries are not correctly connected. It works then a bit later I have to shake/knock it again for it to work. I've replaced the batteries but the issue still remains. I'm disappointed but hope my TV will last longer.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/02/2020

Hi Toancito, this is definitely not the news that we would like to hear. Make sure to follow the troubleshooting steps on this link to help isolate the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-75x900e/articles/00006827

If still not resolved, you can purchase a replacement remote through our authorized parts distributor:
https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/model-accessories?language=en_US

Regards,

Ralph

0

Settings

RMF-TX200B 06/17/2020 by shellee (USA)

I read select SETTINGS ... there isn’t one. Can you explain how to change time and date???

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/08/2020

Hi shelled,

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your unit. We would love to provide assistance in getting the settings on your unit setup to your liking. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
David

0

Poor remote

RMF-TX200B 06/07/2020 by Mister Salty (USA)

Bought the A9G which is the top of the line Bravia OLED tv which is state of the art, but the remote is an embarrassment! Dish just sent everybody a free remote with a motion activated backlight. Sony used to always be ultra-premium and state of the art, and they still charge for things that way. But this remote has NO backlight, and Sony doesn’t even offer a better one as an alternative. The depth of black on OLED makes it amazing when you watch in a dark room. But you have to keep a flashlight near the remote to be able to use it!! This is a STUPID money-saving (aka profit-increasing) decision that will deter some from buying a Sony. So Sony saved about $5 per tv by including an inferior remote which cost them sales of some unknown number of $2000 tvs. They have to sell 400 TVs to make up for failing to sell only one because of a poor remote. Not very smart.

Performance

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

No record botton

RMF-TX200B 06/03/2020 by tarn131tx (USA)

great tv but no way to record live television or manual that explains why not.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/08/2020

Hi tarn131tx, We appreciate the feedback. Recording TV programs usually involves using a DVR. For further assistance, please refer to your cable service provider on how to record live TV programs.

Regards,
Sam

0

A $2500 OLED with a remote like this?

RMF-TX200B 05/21/2020 by Was Sony Fan (USA)

Why sell a premium priced produce with sub-premium accessories. To include such a poor remote with your one of your expensive OLED TV's is just a poor business decision. I understand that the master series has the (i guess) updated remote. However, you OLED line is considered your flagship TV's. Why turn so many people off from Sony products with short changing your customers with an inferior remote. Someone really should be reprimanded for this and replacement remote should be sent out as good a good faith gesture to your loyal customers. Like a re-call. Send out the remotes that come with the A9G or H. Also, it appears you can only not assess the setting by voice on the remote.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/27/2020

Hi, Was Sony Fan. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We value your input and appreciate your feedback about the remote control. The supplied remote can control all the functions and features of the TV. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Thank you. -Vincent

0

Terrible

RMF-TX200B 04/11/2020 by MW1186 (USA)

One of the worst remotes i have ever used. I just purchased an LG TV and all of the features blow Sony out of the water!

Performance

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/15/2020

Hi MW1186, we're sorry to hear our product did not meet your expectations. RMTX200 is a simple remote with the microphone button to quickly use the Voice search function on your Android TV. Dedicated buttons for Netflix and Google Play make finding entertainment easier than ever. The remote also features a dust-resistant, rubber-based coating to make it easy to clean.~Earl

0

Quality poor

RMF-TX200B 04/11/2020 by Sukhh (USA)

I didn’t use it even for a year and stopped working

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/13/2020

Hi Sukhh, we are sorry to hear that the remote stopped working. Don't worry we are here to help you. Let's start by following the troubleshooting steps below.



https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00132426




I hope this helps but if you still need assistance, do not hesitate to drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Erin

0

Remote is the worst

RMF-TX200B 04/08/2020  (USA)

I got my Sony TV about 18 months ago. The time is a cheap, clunky and unresponsive piece of junk. And as all the other reviewers report, it just suddenly stopped working — some functions. New battery didn’t fix it. It’s the worst ergonomics. My Samsung I’m the other room has a great easy to use simple remote. I will never buy Sony again. As good as the tv is, the remote is awful.

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2020

Hi Billjhenderson6, We regret to hear that your remote control is no longer working. Please try the following troubleshooting steps on the link below to resolve the issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00030297?category=televisions-projectors

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Worst remote ever

RMF-TX200B 03/05/2020 by marko213 (USA)

TV is pretty good, but the remote is practically impossible to use unless you're in a really bright area and even then it's difficult. Would never buy Sony again unless they decide to make a remote that actually works.

Performance

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/06/2020

Hello marko213,

We appreciate you like the overall performance of our TV. We're sorry if the bundled remote control did not meet your expectations. You might want to consider checking this link for some troubleshooting steps that will help us solve the issue https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00030297?category=televisions-projectors

Should you need more assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

A horrible remote control for a great TV

RMF-TX200B 03/04/2020 by Ahmedbgil (USA)

After several research for a new TV I ended buying 2 TV. No regrets except for the remote control. Is not even match the modern/ minimalism style of the TV. if you are in the dark "forget it" . I don't have any problem with it, but Sony needs an upgrade ASAP. I got the model X900F.

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/10/2020

Hi Ahmedbgil,

Really glad you like the TV. Sorry you are not as happy with the remote control. I will forward your feedback to our design group. Thank you for buying Sony.

~Ralph

0

Cheap Junk!

RMF-TX200B 02/04/2020 by Jacheart (USA)

Sony has definitely lost its way because things with their name on it used to be synonymous with quality. Not any more. A 75 inch Sony TV purchased on June 17th 2019, has a controller that's deader than a door nail already. The worst part is, major stores like Best Buy, don't even keep extra controllers on hand. The solution: I will make it a point not to buy a Sony product again! We have a PS4 Pro that hasn't been used very much at all that has died as well in under two years. This seems to be the trend.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/06/2020

Hi, Jacheart,

We are sorry to hear that you are having issues with the remote control for your television. We would like to make this right. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent

0

Unacceptable Remote!

RMF-TX200B 01/26/2020 by Hansel20 (USA)

I love the tv. Can't stand the cheap feel, slow response, remote. Sony should be embarrassed by this abomination.

Performance

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/27/2020

Hi, Hansel20!

We regret to hear about this. Let's try to follow some troubleshooting steps to resolve this issue. First, try replacing the batteries on the remote. If replacing the batteries didn't resolve the issue, please try to reboot the Sony product that you're using this remote control with.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Yet Another RMF-TX300U Remote Failure

RMF-TX200B 01/22/2020 by LaurenH (USA)

Model Number: RMF-TX300U This remote failed at 15 months after purchase. Changing batteries doen't fix it. I called Sony to see if a repair or replacement could be done. It is not underwarranty. They said they can't do anything. So, I tried to get an amazon replacement. They look idential, but it doesn't fully work and the quality feels cheap compared to Sony. Additionally, the replacement's voice feature doesn't work. I loved that feature for my Youtube searches. Will be returning. Very disappointed as now I don't know what my options are for the remaining life of this television. The original remote is useless and the replacement just doesn't work right. I agree with another reviewer that sony could use an app for a remote control. Dealing with this and not having a solution is super frustrating.

Performance

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/23/2020

Hi, LaurenH!

We regret to hear about what happened. To help isolate the issue, please refer to the troubleshooting steps on this link:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-43x800e/articles/00030297?model=XBR-43X800E&category=televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-

If still not resolved, service is required. Please refer to our eservice website at https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US.

~Ralph

0

Why does Sony Always Do it Wrong?

RMF-TX200B 01/08/2020 by PremiumSamust (USA)

Spending $4k on a TV that comes with a remote that feels as premium as a Ford Fiesta is disheartening. Other than Google Assistant, this is worse than a convenience store Universal Remote. I have friends who have purchased other Sony TVs and the remotes, while looking similar, feel and perform quite differently. Why????

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2020

Hi, PremiumSamust!

I’m so sorry that you are having an issue with the remote. You may try the following step below to isolate the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00132426

I hope this helps but if you still need assistance, do not hesitate to drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

No model number! No battery compartment!

RMF-TX200B 01/05/2020 by RationalGuy (USA)

Android TV no longer responds to any remote function, so I can't get to any TV menus for other troubleshooting actions. The remote I'm looking at doesn't have an imprinted, model number or a battery compartment! (A disposable remote?!) Presumably, it's an RMF-TX200U or RMF-TX300U. One site for replacement remotes shows that the RMF-TX200U is discontinued. I couldn't replace any batteries, so I tried a Power Reset, but without effect. Haven't tried a Forced Factory Reset, yet, because I'm wondering if a updated version of the remote (with replaceable batteries) would solve the problem.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/07/2020

Hi, RationalGuy!

We don't recommend using a different remote control model for your television.

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
Sincerely,
David

0

Remote stopped working

RMF-TX200B 01/03/2020  (USA)

A little over a year in and the remote stopped working. I tried swapping out the batteries but after a few different brands of new batteries I feel confident it is the remote. Based on the ratings and the reviews I can tell that this is a common issue. I regret ever purchasing Sony. The XBR75X850D 4K Ultra HD Smart TV was over-priced but I purchased it to cut the cord and join Playstation Vue. A few months in Playstation Vue's price went up significantly and now my remote is dead. I tried submitting a claim for my extended warranty but it turns out even though the remote comes with the TV it is counted as an accessory and is not covered by the warranty. The remote model is RMF-TX200U. I would recommend staying clear of these products.

Performance

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2020

Hey DanTho,

I'm sorry to hear that you're having an issue with the remote control of your TV. Let's try to isolate this by performing some troubleshooting steps provided on this link https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-75x850d/articles/00030297?model=XBR-75X850D&category=televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-.

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Remote Buttons To Small

RMF-TX200B 12/19/2019 by LadybugRed (USA)

The remote is not made for the elderly. The buttons are so small my husband and I can barely see them; then when we push a button we sometimes hit two buttons because they are so small. Love the TV but I'm trying to find another remote and was hoping Sony had an upgraded model but after reading the Reviews I guess I'm out of luck.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/23/2019

Hi, LadybugRed! We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. We value your feedback and we will surely take note of this for the betterment of our products. ~Ralph

0

Poorly designed remote

RMF-TX200B 12/03/2019 by jzone777 (USA)

The TV is great, I am very satisfied with my purchase and will purchase Sony again. The remote functions well but has an awful design which appears must be improved. A little bit of thought that just by touch we should be able to know the topside. buttons are so small and located at the bottom ridge. Almost need two people to function one with a light and one to hold it still while looking for the tiny pause button on the bottom. I am hoping to finally get to look for a replacement remote which there is none on sony.com but I stumbled on this review option with hope Sony would read and when I buy my next Sony tv I will find a well designed remote.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/10/2019

Hi, jzone777!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Remote won’t work...

RMF-TX200B 12/03/2019 by Robert_L (USA)

Like many others who have written reviews, the remote stopped working on my XBR65X850E tv less than a year after purchase. The remote model is RMF-TX300U. Tech support is awful. Won’t trouble shoot with me by phone and refers me to articles to read. And why doesn’t Sony make a Mobile app to use as a remote control? I’m very frustrated and like many others will likely never buy a Sony tv again.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony Social Support
12/07/2019

Hello, Robert_L!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Doesn't Last

RMF-TX200B 10/12/2019 by bierman (USA)

My TV is less than 3 years old and I need a third remote! On the one hand, I'm glad to see that MANY people have the sam problem, so I don't need to buy a new television set. However, if so many people have the problem, why doesn't Sony fix it and give me a better remote?

Performance

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

11

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/13/2019

Hello, bierman!

We're sorry you are having an issue with your TV remote. Let's try to isolate this by performing some troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00030297

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Outdated and slow

RMF-TX200B 08/29/2019 by Jakbjor (USA)

This is by far the most outdated remote control on the market. The buttons are near impossible to push and its as big as a brick. It does have all the functions you need, i´ll admit, but that does not make up for the lack of effort that went in to the design process of this thing.

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/02/2019

Hi, Jakbjor!

We greatly appreciate your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services.

Regards,
David

0

So smart its dumb

RMF-TX200B 07/29/2019 by Deeznuts (USA)

Bought tv last year. Barely broken in. And the remote doesn't even work anymore. Well the button to do the voice light comes on then the microphone doesn't pick up anything I'm saying. Freezes the tv and goes away. Not 1 other button works after normal use. No damage done. Then u try to do everything there long extensive troubleshooting and to no prevail after hours of trying. Days even. Coming back praying to the Sony gods that maybe. Just maybe this might b the day where it registers something. But no. It doest. Downloaded an app on my phone to update the tv and was the worst decision ever. Now Im stuck with open privacy policy to continue. And cant use the app to do it. Remind u I cant use the original remote... and heres the best part. Theres 3 buttons on the tv to do anything but turn it off which brings me back to this screen. Volume, change channel and input.... none help me move forward. So i have a 75” tv sitting in my living room i cant do anything with. Great job. Very smart move with the no buttons on the tv. Like what a leap forward into the future with that decision. Having no buttons really took away from the design of this “SMART” tv

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/01/2019

Hi, Deeznuts!

We're very sorry for the inconvenience that you've experienced. To fix the issue with the remote control, try following the steps below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00030297

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Sam

0

Non-Ergonometric, Simply Awful Design and Function

RMF-TX200B 07/23/2019 by Stan1234 (USA)

This is an awful, extremely non-ergonometric design. Sony should take a look at the Verizon remotes to see how a proper one should be designed. Considering the quality of their TV's (just got the 65A8F) I am utterly amazed how bad this remote is. Sony gives you the option to use this remote to also control your DVR or set top box. I would never do this. I use the Verizon remote to turn on/off and to change channels. The only time I use the Sony remote is to access Amazon Prime and the tiny close-spaced buttons on the bottom make this difficult. Hopefully, Sony Corporate will hear all of these criticisms and come up with a proper 21st century remote as a replacement.

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/26/2019

Hello, Stan1234! I sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with our product. Your feedback has been duly noted to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Thank you much for your time sharing this feedback. - Romeo

0

Only lasted one year

RMF-TX200B 07/23/2019 by Kathy08782 (USA)

This remote actually the rfm-tx220u came with my mother's Bravia Tv. She liked the larger buttons and ease of accessing Netflix and slightly more complicated Primevideo. After just one year it failed, and the TV was frozen until I could go over and unplug it and replug. Then the Cox cable remote sufficed for TV, but no netflix, etc. Purchased a generic replacement, but buttons are hard to use. Now am seeking the OEM replacement even though it probably will be short lived. VERY difficult to find OEM, appear to be a lot of imitations out there on popular sites.

Performance

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/24/2019

Hi, Kathy08782!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please try following the troubleshooting steps on the link below to isolate the issue.

Remote: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00030297
TV: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00032661


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Erin

0

Lacks backlight feature

RMF-TX200B 07/05/2019 by johnnypNY (USA)

This remote needs a key backlight feature so that I can see the keys in the back. XFINITY remote already has this feature, SONY is way behind on adding this feature/function.

Performance

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/08/2019

Hi, johnnypNY!

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We'll make sure this reaches a proper team for the betterment of our products.

-Erin

0

Remote

RMF-TX200B 06/22/2019 by Yonkersddd (USA)

I bought the remote controller and it only lasted 6 months

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/24/2019

Hi, Yonkersddd!

We are sorry to hear that the remote did not live up to your expectation. Please try following the steps below to correct it.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00030297

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

Didn’t last, short on a key feature

RMF-TX200B 06/12/2019 by fidh (USA)

Worked well with my 78 inch tv. But it died in 14 months. Worked with chat support to trouble shoot, looks like IR just stopped working. So waiting on support to send out replacement I hope. Also I believe the remote is missing a key feature. The keys should be back lit. Watching tv in low light and if you want to make a change you have to light up the room to see the remote... doesn’t make sense especially when people are investing thousands on the hog end tv. So it worked, for awhile, wasn’t as user friendly as it could be. Back lighting would be a great improvement along with better durability.

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/14/2019

Hello fidh,


We apologize for any inconvenience this had caused you. Rest assured that your case is being handled properly. Your feedback has been duly noted to improve the performance and quality of our products and services.



Many thanks,

Romeo

0

Remote is a piece of trash

RMF-TX200B 05/21/2019 by Samsunger (USA)

It didn’t last more than 2 months . Stopped responding and I troubleshooted until my face fell off. Sony customer service sucks. I’ll never buy a Sony product again.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/22/2019

Hi there,

I understand that you're having issues with your remote control. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00030297

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Case Number:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

awful piece

RMF-TX200B 05/01/2019 by Mikeoa (USA)

This remote is not working at all. the bottoms just do not respond in fact its nothing. i have been trying just to even buy a new one but can not find it any where, my family have worn me several times and how frustrated they are now my son just throw it into the dumpster yes am serious he just throw in the big trash bucket.I need a replacement that works even if i have to pay smh.

Performance

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
05/01/2019

Hello Mikeoa,

We regret to know that you are having some issues with this remote, please check the link below and follow the steps provided to isolate the fix the issue:


https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00030297

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Defective in under 2 months

RMF-TX200B 04/24/2019 by Neo3535 (USA)

So I bought this tv around 2 months ago and I was there watching Netflix on it and turned it off to have dinner with my family and I go back to watching it and the controller doesn’t turn on at all

Performance

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/25/2019

Hi Neo3535,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, model number of the TV, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Sam

0

The voice microphone stopped working

RMF-TX200B 04/22/2019 by Krystalreese (USA)

I received the tv and remote as a gift from my father. Let me start by saying I’m in love with the tv but..... I’m no longer able to use the microphone part, it literally stopped working that night. I looked at replacing the remote but it’s very expensive and as I looked at the reviews I’m not the only one having this problem. Everything works fine but that and I’ve completed all the troubleshooting tips so I’m confused.

Performance

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/23/2019

Hi Krystalreese, we are sorry to hear what happened. Let's troubleshoot the issue by following the steps below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00030297


Regards,
Erin

0

Worked for a year...

RMF-TX200B 04/19/2019 by Ekillips (USA)

We’ve had this TV & remote for about a year and it just randomly stopped working. We’ve tried all the different troubleshooting options and it just won’t work. The light at the end won’t even light up when pressing any buttons even though there’s new batteries. Microphone button still works but then you can’t select anything further. Not sure what else to do. Never had a problem before now. Help!

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/22/2019

Hi Ekillips, we regret to hear that your TV failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.


Regards,
Erin

0

NEED HELP

RMF-TX200B 03/24/2019 by GrammyFL (USA)

Have been using my comcast remote but want to start using the one that came with the tv. Where can I find information on the yellow, blue, red and green buttons on the remote and what they do?

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
03/27/2019

Hello GrammyFL,

The function of those buttons depends on the application that you are using on the television. Please refer to the link below for more details:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00157696


Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Remote control broke so fast

RMF-TX200B 03/19/2019 by Roland L (USA)

Bought a Sony 60" TV from Video and Audio Center back in 12/9/2018. after 2 months the remote control stopped working. Replaced the battery, checked if some of the buttons were not in the right position. didn't find any. Is there warranty for the remote control? it's still less than a year.

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
03/23/2019

Hi Roland L, we regret to hear what happened. Please follow the recommended troubleshooting steps below to fix the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00030297


Regards,
Erin

0

confusing,user unfriendly remote

RMF-TX200B 03/05/2019 by suresh s (USA)

I bought sony bravia KD-55X9000E.very good tv but very very vad remote. totally scrap. user unfriendly. accuracy is not good. you have to hold exactly towards tv to work this remote. distance is also poor.Its high time you sony to upgrade this remote. LG has very simple and user friendly computer mouse like remote. I think you will listen to my feedback. Atleast suggest where I can find and which air mouse wireless remote is compatible to my sony tv. Please reply

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
03/07/2019

Hi suresh s, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.


Regards,
-Erin

0

Poor remote design

RMF-TX200B 02/27/2019 by Not happy Sony (USA)

The remote is so bad I wish I didnt buy the TV. It does not connect to Comcast cable box with IR blaster at all, should have issued a code number to enter.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
03/02/2019

Hello Not happy Sony, we regret to hear what happened and our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused. To further help you with this, kindly email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Regards, Erin

0

Remote was fine until it stopped working suddenly

RMF-TX200B 02/09/2019 by Matt1985 (USA)

I bought the TV this past fall. Great TV! Unfortunately the remote just stopped working altogether. Changed the batteries and tried buttons numerous times. No luck. I hope I won’t need to pay $50 to replace a remote that is only a few months old.

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Remote is awful

RMF-TX200B 02/02/2019 by DHall30044 (USA)

Remote has stopped working. Buttons do not engage and the mic doesn't work either. A replacement is $50. There is an issue when a well respected brand has the same issue repeatedly. And Sony, please do not post the same generic response about trying to isolate the problem using your troubleshooting link. If this many customers are saying the same thing, your remote is the issue. For this reason, I would rethink ever buying a Sony product again. I have other TVs and the remotes have never failed.

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

0

0

not so happy

RMF-TX200B 01/19/2019 by Zepp1 (USA)

I bought this tv a year ago the remote failed several times for the last month, replaced batteries and so far is working now hope not to find any surprises in the future

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

Hardly works

RMF-TX200B 01/09/2019 by Odbenji (USA)

Microphone doesn't work. Stopped working a couple weeks after I bought the TV. I have to push buttons numerous times to get them to work.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony Social Support
01/11/2019

Hi Odbenji,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this remote. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00030297

0

stopped working in a year

RMF-TX200B 01/08/2019 by M_i_k_e (USA)

suddenly stopped working and Sony would not replace. very unhappy

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

Response From Sony Social Support
01/11/2019

Hi M_i_k_e,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

0

great

RMF-TX200B 12/30/2018 by mikeyracine (USA)

This came with My Sony XBR55850d TV I love it works GREAT........

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Changing batteries every two weeks!

RMF-TX200B 12/28/2018 by Joel D (USA)

Just read the other reviews of this remote and they validate the problems we’ve been having. Our remote burns through two AAA batteries every 10-14 days. I had planned to buy a replacement but now understand the problem is systemic. So disappointing as we paid $2,500 for the TV this remote is supposed to control.

Performance

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

12 months and 5 remotes

RMF-TX200B 12/27/2018 by twlyons1 (USA)

This is getting ridiculous we have owned our TV for just over a year and have gone threw 5 remotes. They just quit working!!!! So fed up with it.

Performance

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/27/2018

Hello twlyons1, we do apologize for the inconvenience. To isolate the issue, please refer to the link below and follow the troubleshooting steps provided:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors/articles/00132426
Regards, _Bob

0

Extremely disappointed. Remote stopped working.

RMF-TX200B 12/26/2018 by kingmed (USA)

This happened a couple days ago and when I found out the replacement is almost $60 I almost fainted. The TV is now stuck on HDMI 1 and only lets me change inputs between the menu. I have absolutely no idea how to get back to the home screen to use my apps. I have had this TV for two years and required no replacements or services.. had I known the remotes had issues I would have asked for a replacement before the warranty expired. This is awful. Without a remote I can’t access the home page to get the TV on wifi to use my phone app at least. With SONY/Bravia TVs i expected a certain kind of manufacturing standard with product life.

Performance

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Remote Never Worked

RMF-TX200B 12/11/2018 by AHGDMG (USA)

My remote never worked properly from day one. Every time it stops working I have to take the batteries out and put them back in to get it going again. Seems like a recurring theme.

Performance

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/11/2018

Hello AHGDMG, we're sorry to hear that. To isolate the issue with the remote control, please refer to the troubleshooting steps provided below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-55x900e/articles/00132426
Regards, _Bob

0

Awful Remote

RMF-TX200B 12/10/2018 by Drew37 (USA)

I've had this remote for a solid year now and with a quality TV, I expected a pretty decent accessory. Upon unboxing my Bravia, it had a cheap feel and I knew there were going to be issues. Not sure why Sony would pair such a sub-par remote with their TV's. The remote IS 100% a part of my media and audio experience. Everything needed to operate it is done through the remote so why not have a reliable and well designed product. The voice option only works half of the time, and the buttons are starting to not respond. I guess they don't mind my money going to 3rd party companies for universals, which is a shame.

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/11/2018

Hello Drew37, we do apologize for the inconvenience. You may troubleshoot the remote by simply following the troubleshooting steps provided on the link provided below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-55x900e/articles/00132426
Regards, _Bob