Starting at

RRP

€ 2,299.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
23

4.2 based on 23 customer reviews

15
3
1
2
2
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Stunning Picture!!

AG8 Series 05/27/2019 by Mat 77

Opening the box on the Sony AG8 was for me like being a kid on Christmas morning again. I have dreamed of owning an OLED TV and here it was! The unboxing didn’t disappoint. The TV is sleek and simple in its design, which results in a feel of quality and class. It doesn’t in any way feel over designed or over complicated in any of the aesthetic features. The screen is almost edge to edge, with only a 3mm frame around the outside. The design of the stand is sleek and minimalistic and has a feature to place the TV with a gap underneath for people who have a sound bar that they want to place under the screen, or close to the stand where there isn’t a sound bar. We haven’t got a sound bar so opted for the lower setting. Nothing about the design detracts away from the screen itself, which is absolutely how it should be. Setting the TV up was simple and easy to follow using the onscreen instructions. It’s useful to know that you will need login details for the various TV services you subscribe to, as its good to get these all set up at the initial phase. It took me around 10 mins to install everything and get watching. The Android operating system is user friendly and easy to navigate. There is logical functionality in terms of moving around the different apps, and getting back to the home page. It felt like there had been lots of thought given to the number of clicks to get to any given area of the menu, making it quick and fluid to use. Obviously I couldn’t wait to get a glimpse of the OLED 4K HDR content so I could really get a sense of the picture quality in comparison to my existing Sony LED TV. I chose an episode of Our Planet on Netflix to showcase the full capabilities of the screen. First impressions did not disappoint. The picture quality is absolutely stunning. More so than I was even expecting, and you’re talking to someone who has spent many an hour in electrical retailers stood in front of OLED TV’s lusting after having one myself. And this was better! The vividness of the colours, the depth of the blacks and the overall crispness of the picture is jaw dropping. The children even commented that they felt they could reach into the screen and touch the jungle. There is a depth to the picture that is almost disconcerting. How it is achieved is beyond me. People may ask why you would spend extra on a TV when a TV is just a TV. I would suggest they need to sit and watch a programme like this and they will have their answer. I went on to watch football in HD, which again didn’t disappoint. The screen coped really well with the level of pace and movement via the live feed and there wasn’t any noticeable ghosting that you sometimes get with sport on other TV screens. In terms of the sound quality, I’m glad I don’t have a sound bar because I feel I really got a sense of how the sound feels coming from the screen rather than via conventional speaker outlets. This is a unique feature of this TV and something I was excited to witness. The sound doesn’t come from any one place, it just projects into the room, resulting in an immersive and engaging sound experience. I am sometimes disappointed by the sound quality on TV’s, which pushes the use of a sound bar. However in this case, I feel the sound is crisp and clear, with sufficient base. Speech sound is good, music sounds well balanced and the sound quality in films offers good depth and cinematic drama (without losing sound quality when turned up high). One aspect I have been slightly disappointed by is the remote control. It doesn’t have the feel of being advanced in terms of its technical design and capability (to match the TV), and its a busy and dated aesthetic. It is pretty conventional when I feel it could be more minimalistic with maybe offer some touch functionality to allow for multiple use of each button. Some of the regular use buttons are at the bottom of the remote and are very small which makes use of them more tricky. For instance, the play/pause/rewind/fast forward buttons should be further up the remote and they need to be bigger. One of the other things i have found really frustrating is using the fast forward and rewind buttons. The picture jumps forward and back either too slow or suddenly so fast that you can’t ever stop the programme exactly where you want to. This has been a frustration for the entire family. I do however like the voice functionality of the remote. It works well to search for programmes in the main menu which can then navigate you to the relevant apps. We haven’t found any issues with interpretation of speech, which is often an issue with voice activated functionality. Overall, I am blown away by this TV and have continued to be impressed by the picture and sound quality, and ease of use of the menu. If you are thinking about buying this TV I would say you won’t have any regrets, so bite the bullet and go for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

So overpriced for so little in return

139 cm (55") 06/25/2019 by Skidders

Very disappointed to be honest. Picture is marginally better than our daughter’s other brand at quarter of the price. “Go to” buttons Netflix and Google only (I don’t want Google videos). Also it has rebooted itself several times when turning on my Humax Freesat. I would save your money.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

24 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Fabulous picture. Exceptional coloutrs

139 cm (55") 07/17/2019 by AP 1

The new TV is everts I hoped for and more. GOOD SOUND , Colour and easy to operate.. A pretty important feature for a 82 year old buyer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Jury out

139 cm (55") 07/14/2019 by Nilocnave

All good apart from switching itself off on irregular basis. Changed settings so wait and see result.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

so far so good!

139 cm (55") 07/14/2019 by milo1

We have only had the TV few weeks but impressed so far .

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture and sound quality

164 cm (65") 07/12/2019 by onehotpuppet

Crystal clear images particularly when viewing UHD channels. Deep blacks. Easy to set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture but freezes on occassions

164 cm (65") 07/12/2019 by Ralph121

I thin this is a great tv. The only fault is that on occassions the screen goes blank. The only way to ovoercome this issue is a restart. Can a keboard and mouse be added? This would ease the use of the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great tv

139 cm (55") 07/09/2019 by Zippy1

Had my TV on 7.7.19 and found it easy to set up. The picture and sound is fantastic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality picture , poor sound

139 cm (55") 07/06/2019 by JONTY BLUE

I was disappointed with the sound quality . The speakers vibrate under certain conditions maybe problems with accoustic screen. After contacting Sony they sent me a memory stick with a system update which has not fully resolved the issue. The other problem was difficulty streaming catchup tv although after a phone call to Sony they corrected the problem over the internet. The picture quality is excellent. I wanted a good quality television and paid a lot of money for what i thought was the best available, still not completely happy with the tv. Sorry but would not recommend to others

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features

139 cm (55") 07/06/2019 by Webbsy

Had this Tv for about 2 weeks and really glad I bought it. Excellent picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Waste of money, couldn’t be more disappointed

164 cm (65") 07/02/2019 by RichKC

Replaced an old TV after lightening damage. Don’t thousands to replace everything. Thought I’d splash out and get this TV. And...... find that the sound doesn’t work properly. Apparently a known fault you can’t use any of the apps because the sound doesn’t work. 2 jobs a TV must do, show a picture and allow you to listen to it. Don’t have the packaging so can’t take back now stuck with a £1400 version of my 12 year old plasma tv I just binned.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great quality. Superb picture.

139 cm (55") 07/02/2019 by RB54

Didn’t go out to buy tv but saw this beauty and had to buy. Even other half liked quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

164 cm (65") 06/27/2019 by MGM 08

Bought three weeks ago and still learning about all the features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor picture quality

139 cm (55") 06/25/2019 by Lewisc

I have a better picture quality on my 4 year old Sony, will be returning this shortly.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

8

0

So overpriced for so little in return

139 cm (55") 06/25/2019 by Skidders

Very disappointed to be honest. Picture is marginally better than our daughter’s other brand at quarter of the price. “Go to” buttons Netflix and Google only (I don’t want Google videos). Also it has rebooted itself several times when turning on my Humax Freesat. I would save your money.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Superb TV

139 cm (55") 06/18/2019 by Ken3966

I have had this a couple of weeks now and it is a fantastic improvement over my old 46" lcd. When fed a 4k source the picture is superb and on a good HD source excellant. However I now have more or less given up on a lot of the mediocre SD transmissions. Just aren't worth watching.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great features

164 cm (65") 06/16/2019 by Men22

Excellent picture and sound quality,simply the best TV in any range or makers,just like being at the event.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb quality picture

139 cm (55") 06/16/2019 by Tom 2940

As a long time fan of Sony TVs with six of varying sizes in use in the house, I felt the need to upgrade the main set after moving from Sky Plus to Sky Q, so as to take advantage of the 4K picture quality. Having had it in use for the past two weeks I am absolutely delighted with the entire package but particularly the picture quality. There are a number of features which I have not yet used and may never fully use but overall our family viewing experience has been greatly enhanced by this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great 4K picture and sound

139 cm (55") 06/13/2019 by Lanterna

4K picture quality and superb and the sound quality is also good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Disappointing definition

139 cm (55") 06/09/2019 by Banogue

Despite the overall quality of Sony products, the definition on most channels is disappoint despite having the installation being made by PC World/Currys. Sky channel is really poor and with my previous Sony TV picture quality was perfect. Sound quality is not as good as l expected it to be.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

great TV

139 cm (55") 06/06/2019 by leslie08

I bought this TV a week ago easy to set up great picture it needed 2 of us to put up on the wall

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

PICTURE AND SOUND QUALITY EXCELLENT

139 cm (55") 06/05/2019 by STEW5

JUST AN ALL ROUND EXCELLENT PRODUCT.HAS OUTSTANDING PICTURE AND SOUND ALSO LOOKS SMASHING.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Stunning Picture!!

AG8 Series 05/27/2019 by Mat 77

Opening the box on the Sony AG8 was for me like being a kid on Christmas morning again. I have dreamed of owning an OLED TV and here it was! The unboxing didn’t disappoint. The TV is sleek and simple in its design, which results in a feel of quality and class. It doesn’t in any way feel over designed or over complicated in any of the aesthetic features. The screen is almost edge to edge, with only a 3mm frame around the outside. The design of the stand is sleek and minimalistic and has a feature to place the TV with a gap underneath for people who have a sound bar that they want to place under the screen, or close to the stand where there isn’t a sound bar. We haven’t got a sound bar so opted for the lower setting. Nothing about the design detracts away from the screen itself, which is absolutely how it should be. Setting the TV up was simple and easy to follow using the onscreen instructions. It’s useful to know that you will need login details for the various TV services you subscribe to, as its good to get these all set up at the initial phase. It took me around 10 mins to install everything and get watching. The Android operating system is user friendly and easy to navigate. There is logical functionality in terms of moving around the different apps, and getting back to the home page. It felt like there had been lots of thought given to the number of clicks to get to any given area of the menu, making it quick and fluid to use. Obviously I couldn’t wait to get a glimpse of the OLED 4K HDR content so I could really get a sense of the picture quality in comparison to my existing Sony LED TV. I chose an episode of Our Planet on Netflix to showcase the full capabilities of the screen. First impressions did not disappoint. The picture quality is absolutely stunning. More so than I was even expecting, and you’re talking to someone who has spent many an hour in electrical retailers stood in front of OLED TV’s lusting after having one myself. And this was better! The vividness of the colours, the depth of the blacks and the overall crispness of the picture is jaw dropping. The children even commented that they felt they could reach into the screen and touch the jungle. There is a depth to the picture that is almost disconcerting. How it is achieved is beyond me. People may ask why you would spend extra on a TV when a TV is just a TV. I would suggest they need to sit and watch a programme like this and they will have their answer. I went on to watch football in HD, which again didn’t disappoint. The screen coped really well with the level of pace and movement via the live feed and there wasn’t any noticeable ghosting that you sometimes get with sport on other TV screens. In terms of the sound quality, I’m glad I don’t have a sound bar because I feel I really got a sense of how the sound feels coming from the screen rather than via conventional speaker outlets. This is a unique feature of this TV and something I was excited to witness. The sound doesn’t come from any one place, it just projects into the room, resulting in an immersive and engaging sound experience. I am sometimes disappointed by the sound quality on TV’s, which pushes the use of a sound bar. However in this case, I feel the sound is crisp and clear, with sufficient base. Speech sound is good, music sounds well balanced and the sound quality in films offers good depth and cinematic drama (without losing sound quality when turned up high). One aspect I have been slightly disappointed by is the remote control. It doesn’t have the feel of being advanced in terms of its technical design and capability (to match the TV), and its a busy and dated aesthetic. It is pretty conventional when I feel it could be more minimalistic with maybe offer some touch functionality to allow for multiple use of each button. Some of the regular use buttons are at the bottom of the remote and are very small which makes use of them more tricky. For instance, the play/pause/rewind/fast forward buttons should be further up the remote and they need to be bigger. One of the other things i have found really frustrating is using the fast forward and rewind buttons. The picture jumps forward and back either too slow or suddenly so fast that you can’t ever stop the programme exactly where you want to. This has been a frustration for the entire family. I do however like the voice functionality of the remote. It works well to search for programmes in the main menu which can then navigate you to the relevant apps. We haven’t found any issues with interpretation of speech, which is often an issue with voice activated functionality. Overall, I am blown away by this TV and have continued to be impressed by the picture and sound quality, and ease of use of the menu. If you are thinking about buying this TV I would say you won’t have any regrets, so bite the bullet and go for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

10

0

0

Superb Sony Bravia 55 " Oled TV

AG8 Series 05/24/2019 by ZackChipDaisy13

My review for the Sony Bravia Oled 4K Ultra Smart TV. As a new user of a Oled TV, I have to say that I find the colours amazing. So vivid and bright. It has dolby sound, so audio is crisp. The TV is lovely and streamlined. So thin.... unbelievable. I have put ours up on the wall, and TV viewing is now like being in the cinema. It is very easy to navigate through the channels. There is a handy voice feature too. I find it very easy to find any channel we may need, or surf over and view Netflix etc. We already own a standard Sony Bravia 49" TV, and the difference is outstanding. Superb quality. Once you have your brain engaged, we found it very easy to set up and install the TV. The Oled TV is great for watching TV, or for a great film experience with that at home cinema feeling. Negative points.... Could do with a longer mains lead. It just reaches wall socket. For all plugs, jacks etc to be on one side. For easy access when wall mounted. No scart connections. Other than that, I would like to say this is a brilliant Oled TV. Yet another fantastic product from Sony. Would highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

8

0

0

Fantastic picture,

AG8 Series 05/22/2019 by LeeJC

This is a great TV, having had a few Sony TVs over the years, the upgrade to this OLED TV, is quite fantastic, great depth picture considering 55 inch TV upgrade. Recently upgraded software has made the TV extremely ease to use, the build quality is as you would expect from a Sony TV. The set up for the TV was intuitive and sync the sky and Alexa was easy. Sound quality is what you would expect of the premium product. A well and truly named Smart TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

6

0

0

Amazing tv well worth the money

AG8 Series 05/21/2019 by Fitzy80

Just got this Sony 55 inch OLED tv about week now and have to say hands down the picture quality is unreal. You would think that the person is actually in the living room with you.All the apps are on the home page which is very handy so you can flick to what ever you would like to watch.even my wife who is not to good with technology finds using this tv very straight forward. The colours are very vibrant and the visual detail is outstanding.built this my self with just a lift to set it on its stand about 15 mins and it was up and running. The design of this tv is very slick with maximising screen size over all a classy look and fits in well with the living room.The sound quality of the tv is very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

9

0