22

4.6 based on 22 customer reviews

17
2
2
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Beautiful display

139 cm (55") 07/08/2019 by colin77

Really loving the picture on this, deep blacks and has transformed some of the shows and movies we have been watching. Great feature of using tv as centre speaker on the surround sound too. First OLED tv and really impressed so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Bluetooth inoperative

164 cm (65") 07/06/2019 by John29

Bluetooth inoperative, unable to connect to WiFi without cable. Picture is not great for non HD tv channels. :(

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

22 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

High spec, but is it worth it?

139 cm (55") 07/14/2019 by Brigo

Bought this top of the range Oled 4k Sony tv as an upgrade for my Sony HD smart model. Although it performs very well I'm not convinced the overall picture quality is sufficiently better than that on the standard HD tv to warrant the high purchase price.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great TV

164 cm (65") 07/14/2019 by Linny03

This TV is fantastic and I would never consider buying anything else.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just a great TV

164 cm (65") 07/11/2019 by skylinegtr34

I only got it delivered yesterday, but managed to get it out of the box ,and assemble the stand, and have it working by myself. the only problem I have is where to store the empty box it came in, as you need it when moving house etc, But its a lovely TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning picture and sound marred by wifi issues

164 cm (65") 07/09/2019 by SSDB

Overall I am very pleased with my purchase of Sony's 65" AG9 master OLED TV. The picture is stunning and the sound is superb. There is no need for an additional sound bar, in my opinion. The overall positive experience is marred by continuing issues with WiFi connectivity. The TV periodically drops the WiFi connection and the issue is only corrected by a full factory reset.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

fantastic picture

164 cm (65") 07/08/2019 by stacey2222

i dont know about anyone else I don't know about anyone else, but it took me six months to save the money for this tv.so my decision to buy this particular tv was not on a whim, I've been following Sony oled TVs for the last three years after Sony released the A1 that was a great looking tv, but I didn’t buy it because it was sonys first oled I didn’t believe Sony would get things right on their first attempt I think the A9 was proof of that, they had made quite a few changes to the A9. And now the G9 has come along, somehow I cant see Sony going backwards so the G9 must be an improvement on all that has been before. I have read many tv article's in magazine I've also looked at many website reviews ,like most other people, and yes I visited quite a few shops that sell tv, hi end audio, and home entertainment studios, I've seen the Samson's oled TV's with there ever so bright whites ,and yes the pictures look great, but for some reason to me anyway, they seem unreal a little two white maybe. Realism, that’s what I go for when I see a picture, how true to life and I think Sony does that better than anyone else including LG. And yes I know that Sony doesn't build its own panels, I don't care who makes them, I just like what Sony does with the panels.as for the sound all TV's need improvements if you want Dolby at its best, I think Sony has done the next best thing and with acoustic surface it does bring a new experience to tv sound, it does trick your mind into thinking the sound comes for individual objects on screen just like Sony claims, it works it really does. So my Sony screen may not be as black as black can be, or it may not be as white, as white can be, but it is as real, as real can be, every time I turn on my Sony G9 tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Beautiful display

139 cm (55") 07/08/2019 by colin77

Really loving the picture on this, deep blacks and has transformed some of the shows and movies we have been watching. Great feature of using tv as centre speaker on the surround sound too. First OLED tv and really impressed so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

SUPERB PICTURE QUALITY AND SOUND

139 cm (55") 07/07/2019 by KENZI

WAS RECOMMENDED AND WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED, THE BEST TV I HAVE EVER OWNED.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Bluetooth inoperative

164 cm (65") 07/06/2019 by John29

Bluetooth inoperative, unable to connect to WiFi without cable. Picture is not great for non HD tv channels. :(

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Awesome picture

164 cm (65") 07/05/2019 by pkihyg

Excellent picture and sound. Menu very messy and difficult to navigate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Best TV I've experienced!

139 cm (55") 07/03/2019 by MWBD11

Me and my girlfriend bought our 55" AG9 and we absolutely love it! Picture and colours are unreal. Playing on the PS4 has never been better. We were surprised at how good the speakers are, to the extent that we have removed our soundbar and subwoofer. It looks good in our room. Yes it is expensive but it's a high spec, luxury TV and it's worth every penny. Best TV on the market by a long way!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic picture

164 cm (65") 07/02/2019 by Ralphynator

Bought this after reviewing it and i havnt been dissappointed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great looking TV

139 cm (55") 07/01/2019 by Maltese

Great looking and fantastic sound. Not worked out all the functions yet.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Technology made simple

139 cm (55") 06/28/2019 by Geordielad

We've had our Sony KD-55AG9 for just one day but thought leaving a review at the point of registration might be helpful. The picture and sound, as we expected, are first rate. If you viewed the TV before buying, you will know this. Hopefully more 4K content will be available in the near future. The operation of the handset is simple. We decided not to bother without the installation service from the retailer. This was a good move and saved about £50. The assembly and installation was easy and straight forward. Great tutorials were available on YouTube, which made the process that much smoother. We're finding the OLED image quality, in UHD and 4K, completely immersive. At a time when we're advised the reduce TV viewing hours each day, I find myself looking forward to the next time I have time to sit down and look for great programmes and clips to watch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good screen poor interface

139 cm (55") 06/26/2019 by Sveg

I was hoping to get rid of my Apple TV with this but the interface is low resolution and the channel 4 app is not available without Youview/antenna hook up. At least I’m not bombarded with adverts like on my Samsung TV. There needs to be a more slick experience for a £3000 Tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Lovely to use

164 cm (65") 06/21/2019 by Rizla

Lovely to use Picture is absolutely stunning I would recommend this TV to anybody

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The best TV I have owned.

139 cm (55") 06/20/2019 by Raresole

I bought this a few weeks ago to replace my old SONY LED TV. I love that there is hardly any bezel around the screen which looks very elegant now it is wall mounted, sitting closer to the wall than my previous model. The OLED screen quality is the first notable difference with a far better range of colour and contrast than my old LED screen, providing a very pleasing image quality even when viewing non 4K video. I have not been able to detect any halo effect when watching fast moving sports action. Outstanding is my best description for this screen Next is the sound quality. On my previous 42 inch LED model I used a Bose Solo Sound system which a necessary addition to obtain the desired sound quality. The new OLED model uses the screen itself as a speaker and the depth of sound is stunning. My Bose Solo is now redundant as, for me at least, the sound from the TV does not require any further enhancement. I am not a great one for the Smart TV option, but once again this set excels at the quality and quantity of available applications and I seem to be using more of the smart options as they are a lot easier to access and use than they were on my previous SONY. The price may put some people off, but you get what you pay for, exceptional screen quality and stunning sound quality which I would highly recommend to someone wanting to purchase a truly exceptional TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

excellent picture

164 cm (65") 06/15/2019 by maxvilla1

excellent tv. needs to make remote compatible with sky Q.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent picture

164 cm (65") 06/12/2019 by msquared

High quality picture and I love the fact that I can use the vibrating screen technology as the centre speaker within my AV surround sound system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Amazing definitely 5 stars all round

AG9 Series 06/02/2019 by Lukefry99

This television should not be overlooked, it is packed with features for your viewing and listening pleasure. It has the android 8 operating system and is extremely easy to use from initial start-up. It is a fully guided process and I had it up and running in no time at all, especially as I just paired my android phone to it and it basically used my phone to set itself up, as I said so easy. It also offers a large variety of streaming services and games and you can cast your other devices straight onto the screen, there are guides and tutorials on the main menu to help you make the most of the many features on offer. Not only does this television have a lot to offer it is quick at it too you can go from switched off to watching a film on Netflix in literally seconds unbelievably fast. The display panel itself is exquisite it is less than half the thickness of my little finger and it gives you a screen to blow your mind. 4K, UHD, HDR, OLED, WCG what does it all mean, it means the most clear and sharp image with the highest contrast of vibrant colours and shading I have ever seen in my life and the perception of depth is also truly outstanding, it's like looking through a window. I have also taken advantage of the 1080P 120hz refresh rate by connecting my PC to it in enhanced HDMI mode and it takes gaming to a whole new level. The sound, this display panel basically has speaker type actuators directly behind it so sound comes directly from the screen itself, along with several other speakers built in to the rear it gives a fully immersive directed audio experience that surrounds you. All of this from a television that is built to perfection in every way, I particularly like the small metal surround around the edge of the screen rather than plastic, it is easy to unpack and manoeuvre around, it does also have a guide to assist on how to lift it, I got my teenage daughter to help me lift mine up onto the wall and it is stunning to look at even when it is switched off. A fantastic addition to my lounge.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

17

7

0

My Ultimate TV!

AG9 Series 05/28/2019 by Ken4321

I previously owned a Sony TV prior to this new TV and was very happy with it. This AG9 TV is a massive upgrade in every way The packaging was very well designed and I mean that it all disassembles bit by bit. The main problem I had was that the quick set up instructions whilst ok, they should have used real colour photos rather illustrated drawings. This is because the add on panels for the back of the TV didn’t have an after picture so was a bit tricky to put together but once you knew what to do it was easy enough to finish. The next tricky bit needs two people to fit the TV to the stand but I think we managed it in two attempts. It’s not that heavy but care needs to be taken when handling the screen whilst fitting it to the stand. This was the hardest part so overall good so far. Plugged in the satellite connector and my PS4, switched on and then followed the on screen installations. I skipped a few options but you can go back to set up things like google assist, apps etc. Wi-fi set up was pretty straight forward though from memory I had problems trying to insert a character in the middle of the password due to me missing a character. I had to delete the characters, insert the missing character and then put back the remaining characters. After that I started to watch a Sky HD Chanel and made two changes I switched to vivid picture and Dolby sound After this tweak my picture quality was amazing! The blacks were solid and watching programmes in a night scene were fantastically clear! The colours were just as impressive. Super strong vibrant colours on my TV The Sound was something else, watching a movie the sound felt almost like cinema quality. The sound quality just surpasses my previous TVs but it has to be heard to really appreciate it. I’ve not mentioned any of the other features but having built in Chromecast, google assist, Wi-fi and Bluetooth solves a few problems I had to use add on products on my old TV to solve. My Sony Bass plus’s Bluetooth Headphones paired quickly and worked as expected and no need to keep pairing them! I can cast my iPhone to my TV and no need for any additional add ons. So overall this saved my having 2 extra plugs. To be able to speak to your remote to call up songs or videos on YouTube is pretty cool. I asked about the weather and told me what it will be like today, so cool! You can add apps too via Google Play, If you have Netflix then Via the remote click the Netflix button and after signing in the first time you can then access Netflix easily. There are so many other things I have yet to try out but I have to say the picture and sounds are this amazing TVs best features everything is just a massive bonus. The set up instructions could be improved by using real colour photos of parts and before/after photos of those add on parts would speed up the process Would I recommend this TV ? Of course, it’s my ultimate TV!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

5

7

0

Spectacular Television

AG9 Series 05/28/2019 by Maz65

I received my TV a week ago & I have to say I am incredibly impressed with it. Visually it is very neat , extremely tidy at the rear & unobtrusive. It was very easy to set up & connect to the internet, & I am not technical at all. The colours are exceptionally vibrant & the sound is superb. The tv has several apps , Google, Prime Video & you tube to name a few. The TV is very easy to navigate around with the remote control. There are several hdmi & USB ports. All in all a wonderful addition to any room in the home.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

8

11

0

Serious Master Series

AG9 Series 05/27/2019 by AdeB

This is my second Sony OLED, I opted for this screen type after viewing a friends and comparisons with LED in shops, which admittedly isn’t the best environment. However my first OLED convinced me that I had made the right choice. OLED, in my subjective opinion, is startlingly real. Reality was the effect that I was after, not super brightness and “hyper reality” that some units favour, Sony did not disappoint. So onto this latest Master series iteration. The packing was simple to deal with even single handed, and initial start up was easy. A Red Dot design award is rightly held, as this is a slim, elegant television, with a barely there border, subtle and classy logo with an equally subtle power LED. There are no speakers to contend with as most are aware Sony OLED have gone for tech that uses the screen itself as the speaker….dark magic but having experienced it already I’m a fan, I forget to use my sound bar on my other screen, it is that good. The rear of this unit is slimmer that my last, and with covers in place its tidy even though it’s hidden. I’ve currently got it on a pedestal but I’ll be wall mounting it as it is now so slim. Finally, Sony has updated and improved their remote. It may seem minor but the remote is the link between you and your new pride and joy. With fewer buttons and a metal facade its not a quantum leap but the update is most welcome and finally looks like it belongs with a top end TV. This unit is loaded with Oreos as an OS, which seems tidier than the android OS running on my AF8. However, I’m aware that Sony paused the roll out of Oreos as an update for other screens and whilst it may be user error at this early stage, I’ve had a couple of issues with non-responsive apps on this AG9, most notably BBC iPlayer. Although I’ve currently got the TV running on iPlayer as I’m writing this and it’s been stable so hopefully it’s a case of bedding in. Of note though is how much faster it is, responding to any button presses and App loading. Wether it’s a mixture of the newer X1 ultimate processor and the new OS or one or the other is academic, but responsive it is. Notable continued exceptions in the licensing/sharing of platforms with differing companies Apps means no NOW TV and no Apple TV. I have an Apple TV 4k for these and it is excellent using its Dolby Vision setting. It’s my preferred source. What did I do with (some, maybe too much of) my long weekend? To start of course I couldn’t resist comparing this AG9 with my slightly older model. I watched a variety of sources using the “out of the box settings” but found the picture not to my liking. Sony ’s Master series is aiming for a consumer range that provides the viewer with the same experiences of people in the media industry using monitors costing significantly more. It may well achieve that with the factory settings but I am not a media professional so I made a few adjustments using the recommendations from online AV sites for the previous Master series model. For me, the picture was now much more to my liking easily matching my current screen. Now onto different sources: Sony’s upscaling for all non 4k/UHD is impressive in the extreme, although once you do watch a 4k source you realise just what the panel is capable of. SD is completely watchable, and no one would complain I’m sure but it’s a waste of its talents; HD (OTA broadcast) is the first hint at how good upscaling is; Blu ray is simply stunning; 4k/UHD streamed from Apple or Google Play is impossible not to watch in awe. My comparison was flawed inasmuch as the tv’s were not in the same position in the room so there were variations in lighting and viewing angle. What I noted was the vaunted improvement in localised upscaling and increased brightness. However this was not revolution but evolution for me, even if a notable one. The sound tech copes well with action, quiet scenes and good balanced bass. Shortcuts to change this is nice and easy thanks to the new OS. Then I finally did what one should with any new consumer product and simply watched and enjoyed; forgetting comparison, analysing darkness, brightness or motion flow. I love this TV. And yes much more than my AF8. It’s simply better, bigger than the sum of its parts and improvements. The whole picture draws you in, the OS makes operation easier and faster. You will watch your favourite films and documentaries with new eyes, disbelief suspended and immersed in the drama or the reality. If you’re in the market for investing in a screen that will do justice to modern film technology and upscale your old favourites then this I’m sure will be hard to beat.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

13

7