Starting at

RRP

€ 1,983.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
637

4.4 based on 637 customer reviews

386
168
41
22
20
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Truly Excellent Product

139 cm (55") 02/16/2018 by KDSH

Having now owned this TV for over 1 month I can honestly highly recommend it. The back lit display is nothing short of outstanding deep deep blacks and incredible detail accross Standard,HD,and of course 4K, HDR content hits what I would call middle ground, Sony deciding not to over saturate colours and brightness indeed all HDR content is reproduced with incredible realism. Turning to sound and for a modern LCD display this TV has very good sound it's not incredible by any means but more than adequate for day to day use. All in all considering it's price point if you purchase this TV you won't be disappointed. On a totally different note can I just say the way this TV is boxed is really brilliant you release the top portion of the box by unclipping four plastic clips lifting off the box to reveal the TV no more reaching inside the box fumbling to remove it (take note other manufacturers) all in all something so small but a little bit of genius that's for that Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Major fault on 50Hz content

123 cm (49'') 11/07/2017 by noggin72

Bought this a month ago. HDR content looks great from UHD Blu-ray and external streaming sources (but the internal Android TV Netflix and Amazon Smart TV apps appear fixed at 60Hz so 24p content is shown with 3:2 pull-down and looks quite nasty) However watching any 50Hz native content (720p50, 1080i25, 1080p50) from Sky, Blu-ray, external Media Player etc. exposes a major motion processing issue (even with Motion Flow and all other processing disabled) On 50Hz content - there are regular and repeatable frames displayed out of order after a shot change, which causes a very noticeable judder. I had 3 within 10" on Strictly on Saturday. This is NOT related to viewing source (it's not just Freeview HD or Sky HD). If you watch BBC News channel you can clearly see the ticker judder after shot changes. This is not related to de-interlacing (as you also see it on 1080p50 and 720p50 progressive sources. Until this has been resolved I cannot recommend anyone to buy this TV.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

637 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Great TV

123 cm (49'') 05/28/2020 by Pete916

I love Sony products and this TV is very good but let down by the internet side of things as it appears to be under developed and full of bugs but i am hopeful Sony will sort it out for me

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good television

139 cm (55") 05/27/2020 by Gmalone98

Had for over one year now. Vision, sound and functionality all amazing. Only disappointment is Sony sound bar that was purchased at same time. HDMI connectivity stopped working and very difficult to get support from Sony. Moved connection to Optical and worked fine after that but was still a headache

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice TV but has power issues

139 cm (55") 05/26/2020 by PaulEssex

Tv has some nice features and good display picture but regularly suffers with known power issues whereby it fails to turn on from standby. The only way to resolve appears to disconnect power supply from tv and allow the panel to clear the fault before plugging in again. The accompanying sony sound bar that came with this purchase also suffers with issues intermittently so it will definitely make me reconsider if I purchase a Sony in the future.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good all rounder

123 cm (49'') 05/22/2020 by Pete123

Good tv - really good at up scalling (I'm even connecting my old Sega Saturn) and very satisfying hdr performance. My main negative are that it hasn't received the Dolby Vision update which was a bit of a let down and it is very difficult to get settings right for watching football. The ball seems to flicker and disappear when moving quickly across the screen. Some settings seem to reduce this issues but seems like quite an odd fault and its not clear what causes it or how it can be resolved.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great performer

139 cm (55") 05/21/2020 by Childsey

Had this tv a while now, but wow what a performer ,vibrant colors and the performance of the black levels is superb, nice easy android operating system especially now the new menu has been updated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality!!!

164 cm (65") 05/08/2020 by RobsterD

Bought last year and am so glad with the purchase. Best tv I have owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best tv I've ever owned

139 cm (55") 05/05/2020 by Kanisrufus

Had this for a while. 4k hdr looks amazing. Apps all work well. More than worth the money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Clarity

164 cm (65") 05/03/2020 by Mr Bossing

I have this TV for a year now and it's excellent.. We're all having good time watching films, etc.. Best buy.. If I could upgrade to latest one would be more fun.. Thanks SONY..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture quality

164 cm (65") 05/02/2020 by Jim ferg

Had this Sony tv for 18 months , great tv. , had no problems with it , plenty of software updates , picture quality excellent, Android features very good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Screen failed after 2 years

139 cm (55") 04/26/2020 by Smoggy

Had it 2 years and screen has failed . Expected more from a top end Sony tv . Luckily got 5 year warranty but can’t get anyone out because of the lockdown !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worst experience ever!

139 cm (55") 04/23/2020 by CustomerLT

I bought this products 2 years ago and I was happy with the product and came one day when a small bar appeared on the LED panel. Exactly 3 months after the expiry of the official guarantee. I contacted a Sony center and official repair center who said nothing could be done. I searched the internet and found that such a failure occurs often and it looks like it is a defect in the production of an LED panel of this model. Between the lines it was recommended to throw away the item for which I paid a lot of money. Shame on you Sony, I did not expect such an approach.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing clear picture

139 cm (55") 04/23/2020 by Johnbie

Have it for over 2 years and really pleased with picture sound and ease of setup and use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great tv

164 cm (65") 04/15/2020 by Snnkkt

Had this tv for well over a year, it's been a superb purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 55 android

139 cm (55") 04/11/2020 by Martin123Miamoo

I bought this tv a month ago and it is a fantastic tv Really please with the ease of use The set up The apps The picture quality Very good purchase for a midrange Sony android tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not as good I’d like

123 cm (49'') 04/06/2020 by Folo30

This tv would be far better without android tv. Android tv is so clunky and slow as operating system shame as it tarnishes the Sony brand

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

screen flicker

139 cm (55") 03/27/2020 by mariusisss

After update screen flicker issue. Do not know coincidence or not. Tv was updated 202-03-10. Tv almost 1,5 year of using. Picture quality good, but screen flicker issue with interval about 15 min makes me mad. Will wait few months then take it to dealer, because warranty 2 years in our country (Lithuania)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture and connectivity

139 cm (55") 03/23/2020 by Uisneach

Love the TV. Am a home cinema enthusiast and very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not as happy as I hoped

123 cm (49'') 03/23/2020 by Gazbag

Can't fault the picture but the internet side of things is very slow. Already had to have the main board changed. You can't record straight from YouView. Voice search never works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Can't FinD CBS n Horror Bites Apps!

123 cm (49'') 03/20/2020 by DaveI

Had tele couple of years now 'it's a tele' The info on how to do things bit vague and hard work to get through Had an update one day had apps for CBS n Horror Bites next time I looked had gone! Sent emails to all and sundry no reply.........................

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent but big problem

123 cm (49'') 03/12/2020 by Lee366

Decent TV. But the TV's software updates caused an extremely irritating streaming service refresh rate bug (simplest way of describing). It doesn't always do it, but when it does, it won't stop. Also Android TV is extremely laggy and slow. As a result of these problems I have had to buy a third party media box to watch streaming services...thanks Sony!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great TV great picture

123 cm (49'') 03/11/2020 by johnree

Great TV great picture the best tv ive Brought in years

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing tv

123 cm (49'') 03/08/2020 by Brett9577

I have always owned Samsung televisions previously, but I’m now fully converted to Sony. The picture quality and features are awesome and Sony will be my go to for future tv purchases

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

139 cm (55") 03/08/2020 by Grantlad83

Bought this tv because I watch a lot of sport and this tv had very little to no ghosting. Only giving 4 stars as the new update removed the live football mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very temperamental

139 cm (55") 03/08/2020 by Laurie56

Will not turn on sometimes, have to unplug it and plug it back in to get it to work. Sony doesn’t update the the software, they just concentrate on the next product. Have to use other products to get Amazon Prime to stream correctly. Very poor product.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great 4k TV

164 cm (65") 02/26/2020 by Zulifkar_1981

I read a lot & watched lots of videos on YouTube before i brought this & i have to say it was one of the best TV's i brought the picture quality is amazing as you would expect from any sony tv The menu is pretty easy to navigate & you link your Google account to your tv very easily as it uses android I brought the 65" & for sure a big TV it was pretty light compared to my old 46" Sony HD TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality, poor smartTV performance

164 cm (65") 02/20/2020 by socrocs

Great picture quality for the money but frustratingly slow OS.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Lovely picture

123 cm (49'') 02/19/2020 by MickyD

Really great 4K tv . Only issue is the battery live in the remote control used different types drain very quickly .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

139 cm (55") 02/16/2020 by Andyp74

All working well and happy with the product. Everything I need

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV, just a few software bugs.

139 cm (55") 02/12/2020

Brilliant TV glad I made the purchase, only issue are some software bugs which means having to restart the tv sometimes to get the sound back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Quality TV

123 cm (49'') 02/01/2020 by ALLANJT

Great picture and sound. Easy to use and I like the video tutorials on how to use apps etc

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent Picture, So So Android experience

139 cm (55") 01/28/2020 by jb1971

I bought this nearly a year ago and am impressed with the quality of the picture and the sound. But security on the Android TV is so so as it is not updated regularly.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Grear buy

123 cm (49'') 01/18/2020 by Evilrob

Have had this tv over a year now and i love the picture quality. My only quibble is the OS since the last update is a bit clunky. Still would recommend it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Generally very happy with this product

123 cm (49'') 01/14/2020 by Watty70

The sound bar I bought with it greatly enhance the sound and without that we would struggle to hear everything comfortably. The screen is sometimes a little dark in some presentations but i think that both of these issues are common to many moderns 'flat screen' television and not helped by much of the modern presentations which seem to use dark shots for mood purposes.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Waste of Money

164 cm (65") 01/04/2020 by jord22

I bought this a year ago. Huge WASTE OF MONEY! Samsung is so much better. The TV is SLOW. The picture is ok, but the 65inch samsung (which we paid £1000 less for) is just as good, if not better. Built in sound is terrible too. Quite literally the worst purchase ive made in my entire life.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great features

139 cm (55") 12/30/2019 by Nerius1978

It's amazing TV because it have clear picture and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV but...

139 cm (55") 12/28/2019 by Agentmulder

I bought this TV 2 years ago. It has great features, but... The bad thing is that sony doesn't offer with the following firmware update for alexa app. Such a shame...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slow remote response time

123 cm (49'') 12/21/2019 by DoraHen

Bought around 13 months ago. For me, it’s a super TV, hangs on the Wall ok but it’s a bit deep, so does not sit as flat against the wall as I would like. Have not really learned about all the fine features as I find all the flicking aro7nd annoying, so as I don’t really use them so can not comment. Works well with Chromecast on my computer. Sound is ok, and I use it for the radio a lot too. The light indicating ‘on’ at the bottom middle of the frame is too large and bright for me, very distracting. The one thing that has always bugged me and the family is the slow remote response time - it’s just not instant, so there is a second or so lag.......and I can’t seem to find a fix, nothing in the manual or on the internet seems to work. A pity this one little thing has such a big impact to bring down the review to less than the TV, and Sony, deserve

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Avoid the E and F series with oreo update

139 cm (55") 12/18/2019 by Wardy277

I bought this TV and white great had a minor issue so decided to update to oreo. Massive mistake and huge disappointment I use arc with me av receiver and they doesn't work after a reboot. Needs a quick off on cycle to start working The kicker is that now, after any period of being on standby (e.g 3 hours or more) turning on the TV will cause a crash and reboot. Sony, while having a fantastic display decided to put an underpowered out of date processor inside. Still string to get a refund or replacement

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

First class tv

139 cm (55") 12/11/2019 by RoddyA

Another great tv from Sony. Spent some time looking for a new TV but didn’t want to pay the price demanded for OLED. At £800 this tv picture is stunning and beats it’s competitors hands down. Highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

not worth

139 cm (55") 11/19/2019 by cemoxi

It has very slow operation system. Frequently freezing and all updates are garbage.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great screen

139 cm (55") 11/13/2019 by Philw47

Really happy with the screen , very impressive screen, bright and good for dark colours. Can't fault the display. Love watching high resolution films and nature shows on this TV. Built-in android Chromecast, so can simply cast from phone. Has youview built-in which I find a bit fiddly to use. And the Freesat doesn't come with a UK TV guide. Has built-in GooglePlay, netflix and primetv plus can install other apps, we don't watch much broadcast TV on it, just sporting events and the news. Good number hdmi ports and usb for power.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent TV

123 cm (49'') 11/08/2019 by Rugby

Had this for over a week & very pleased picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

123 cm (49'') 10/26/2019 by Dave3414

Really nice TV with great picture and great features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Well Designed- Product

123 cm (49'') 10/04/2019 by emmjay1

My Sony Android Tv would not update to Oreo 8.0 via internet, but with technical assistance from your Customer Support Officer - Oma, I have been able to update using firmware download onto a USB memory stick successfully. I my Tv is now much easier and pleasurable to use. I was delighted to receive “follow-up” call from Sony ,a couple of days later, to ask if everything was now fixed ! Thank You.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great picture quality and connectivity

189 cm (75”) 10/03/2019 by M1tel

I bought the tv coming up to a year ago and the only issue is the is can be Glitchy and can need a soft restart but otherwise a great piece of tech

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great TV

139 cm (55") 09/11/2019 by AMintern

This television has been excellent in my ownership. The one thing I can give it a fault on is that it tells me that the OS is up to date but there is a new version of the software available. I am looking in to upgrading software via USB and the TV still works fine. Picture quality is amazing and it's easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good image

123 cm (49'') 09/09/2019 by Razvan77

Very good TV o ly let down by Android keeps blocking resets from time to time . Needs to long to boot after turned on. Sometimes is not changes the channel and you need to put it off from socket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very good mid range TV.

123 cm (49'') 08/25/2019 by Razor123

One of the best mid range TVs of 2017. Has most of the functionalities you could want for this class . A better OS could have made this TV to really shine. Android took the fifth star from this review - not a big fan of Android.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy Set Up and Wonderful 4K Picture

123 cm (49'') 06/23/2019 by Oak3231

I bought this just over a month ago and I don’t regret my purchase ... the picture quality of this tv is outstanding and the sound quality is also excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality

139 cm (55") 04/13/2019 by Mykal

Great TV, picture quality is really sharp. The apps like Google play, Netflix work well. I am problems however with BBC iplayer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture but android can be slow and flakey

139 cm (55") 04/11/2019 by HAL9001

Great picture, but the android os 7.0 is a little slow and there are problems when running the restricted profile. The hdmi doesn’t switch as normal and the graphic for the volume sometimes disappears.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome tv! Best thing I’ve ever bought

123 cm (49'') 04/09/2019 by Lukey12345

This is a real masterpiece, Powerful and such high quality. Bought mine 1.5 years ago and still love it! Well done Sony, best bit of kit of owned. Worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All is well apart from Android that runs it

123 cm (49'') 03/03/2019 by Lostinvain

Love the tv but not the Android runing it. Android is glitshy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality

164 cm (65") 02/27/2019 by Trucker99

Bought this 65 inch 4k tv to replace 10yr old 42 inch Samsung. Picture is great, need to fiddle with settings to start but once set it's fine, normal HD picture does tend to get a slight haze, i'm still not using all functions and apps on it yet, but getting there slowly. chromecast is a good feature

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

189 cm (75”) 02/23/2019 by Vicky27

I bought this 10 months ago and im super happy... android Update are delayed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good picture quality slow interface

139 cm (55") 02/12/2019 by Dc13

Tv functions poor compared with others on offer at similar or even cheaper price points. Very sluggish interface + why on earth have sat enabled if no freesat interface. Recording function a joke and no recording function when using YouView. The only saving grace is the picture quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great tv with slight downside

139 cm (55") 02/09/2019 by Sarpz

Had this tv for 6mths now and I love it. Best tv I have ever owned. Picture is amazing and really pops on all modes. My slight disappointment are the apps. Amazon prime UHD is basically buggy. HDR on YouTube doesn't work.. Netflix is fine however. Don't let this put you off what is a great tv in all other aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

a great tv.the best i have bought

123 cm (49'') 01/31/2019 by carlo2552

I have always bought sony televisions.they have all been great.This one is the best yet.I cannot fault it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic picture quality let down by Android tv

123 cm (49'') 01/27/2019 by Oracleoftruth

Best picture quality for the price range. Amazingly deep blacks and realistic colour and motion. Best LED TV available, this is more than worth it. Unfortunately the android TV implementation is slow and laggy with Sony refusing to update European customers as quickly as their American customers. Android TV needs work and spoils and otherwise near perfect TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Dissapointed

123 cm (49'') 01/24/2019 by EvilSmoothie

I purchased this TV in November 2017. I watched a lot of reviews and did a lot of homework. I couldn't fit anything bigger than 50" where I wanted the TV to sit and the XE9005 came highly recommended. It is advertised as a HDR TV and is listed as HDR10 compatible, which was was a major factor in choosing this TV. However, when watching HDR content there are large grey bars top and bottom, which one would expect to be black. When watching in a dark room they are too off putting and totally ruin the experience of the movie, to the point where I turned HDR off. This TV was supposed to sit at the top of the mid range TV's, if not entering into the high end TV bracket and as such I feel this is unacceptable. Sony have written this off as a hardware limitation and have no proposed fixes for it. It's a shame as it could have been a great TV, but as it cannot handle basic HDR10 properly, I have to rate it as poor. Could have purchased a TV without the HDR spec for much less, and there really was no need to spend the extra for a HDR set, therefore I believe this TV to be poor value for money.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Stunning picture quality.

123 cm (49'') 12/23/2018 by Timbo 62

Purchased a month ago and just amazed at the quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

At last a really great TV

123 cm (49'') 12/19/2018 by Welshwiz54

Since buying this model after extensive research I have been amazed at the quality and pleasure it has given me, very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great screen, terrible software

139 cm (55") 11/20/2018 by AberaSteve

Bought a month ago. The screen is excellent - crisp, bright, everything you'd want from an UHD HDR telly. However, I have a satellite dish for my standard broadcast channels (no Freeview here) so bought this TV on the advertised features of 'satellite tuners' and 'EPG' on which it utterly fails to deliver. The key missing feature is a functioning EPG for satellite channels. All that is provided is 'now and next' for the currently-selected channel. I'm truly amazed & disappointed Sony thought this was acceptable. This is not only a failure of Sony's engineering but also of it's marketing which fails to make this clear at all. Sony obfuscations about it's lack of Freesat support (which is of course not made clear anywhere apart from on complaint forums) are just that - obfuscation. My 10-year old non-Freesat Panasonic had a perfectly functional satellite EPG. The UI is fair but not as intuitive as it could be - it does it's job except for the EPG. The built in Google Cast functionality is prone to hanging on adverts - perhaps an issue with firmware. As a UK satellite TV user, It's not possible to get channel 4 or channel on-demand as those channels don't provide a standalone app for Android TV, relying on the YouView App, that needs a Freeview terrestrial signal. It's a shame that those channels don't offer standalone apps on Android Other folk have criticised the remote for rubbery keys; I've found it fine apart from the smallness of some of the buttons (it's tricky to spot & select the commonly-used 'mute', 'pause and 'play' buttons for example). And I've still not worked out how to use voice commands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Full of glitches Sony tv 9005

139 cm (55") 11/16/2018 by Mark1969

Read some good reviews online about this tv ,but living with this tv is a different matter. So the remote is rubbish you press buttons and sometimes nothing happens. If I leave it on standby for a day it goes into google play store and will not come out no matter how many buttons I press ,so I have to unplug and it’s mounted on the wall. The tv channels disappear so again unplug reset and on they come. I own 2 other Sony TVs and camera and camcorder but I think this android software is the problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Good quality

123 cm (49'') 11/07/2018 by Wizzy46

2nd Sony I’ve had in succession and am not disappointed. Both picture and sound quality are excellent. Only slight quibble I would prefer a paper copy instruction manual

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Product However

123 cm (49'') 11/05/2018

Very pleased with product, however Due to wireless issues in home We invested in a "Orbi RBK50 mesh system, all products will connect wirelessly (average 60mbps download speed BT only give 59Mb hard connection ) but TV will not connect to it! Have had to hard connect via BT Hub 6 for streaming services. Check your wireless availablity before considering

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic picture quality.

139 cm (55") 10/31/2018 by CNB engineer

Really pleased with all aspects of the Sony tv, except the start up time. Press the remote on button, then go and make a cup ot tea, because if you sit and wait, it feels like ages. That said, once it is on, the picture is fantastic, the sound is very good for a flat screen tv, the remote has a nice feel, but has to be aimed fairly accurately for it to work. The programme guide is not as nice as our last Sony tv, that gave the programme detail on the same page as the guide. To sum up, the whole family love it, if start up time was improved we would give it 5 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simply Great

139 cm (55") 10/26/2018 by Crackers

I purchased this TV two weeks ago and I am impressed. The picture quality is fantastic and the sound isn't bad either. It comes with four HDMI sockets. Still working my way around the Android system, but so far so good. Access to Amazon and Netflix is very esy with the in built apps. When comparing this model in the showroom the only TV's that had a better picture were OLED that were over £1,000 more expensive. I would have preferred a user manual that explained some of the advanced technology eg. how to set/best setting for HDR10.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV average build quality, needs dolby vision

164 cm (65") 10/21/2018 by Fatclock

I bought this TV on back of amazing reviews and conversations with Sony reps. The TV delivers a fantastic picture but I would've liked to of seen a faster operating system as the interface can get laggy. I the build quality is questionable though, initially all seemed good, that was until summer come around and little black flies managed to get inbetween the screen causing visible black specks on the screen. You would think at £1500 it would be a sealed unit. Dolby vision should be made available on this unit considering it is just a firmware update of an algorithm.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great screen, easy to operate

123 cm (49'') 10/19/2018 by Zacgold

Bought this TV a year ago. Easy to use and setup. Few commands work with Alexa. Beautiful picture and build in wifi

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY KD-65XE9005

164 cm (65") 10/16/2018 by MTRSK

Perfect picture and high quality TV...................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing quality BUT

164 cm (65") 10/13/2018 by ThinkingFit

The TV is extremely impressive with all of the features that are included and the quality of picture/blacks are the best IMO. BUT It’s is very frustrating that whilst in the Prime App whatever i am watching will lag & sometimes freeze when turning the volume up or down. Updates for the Tv has improved this slightly so it does not lag as much, but it is still there a year down the line of owning the XE90. This being said I’m being very picky. Worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0