Starting at

RRP

€ 999.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
35

4.3 based on 35 customer reviews

24
5
3
0
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Well Worth Waiting For!

108 cm (43”) 04/15/2019 by Friscokid

I received my Sony KD43XG8396BU a few days ago having placed a pre-order last month, and I have to say that I couldn't be more pleased with its performance. I previously had two consecutive 2018 model KD43XF8796BU TVs and both were faulty - i.e. not many days after setting both of them up they lost their ability to log on to the internet due to exactly the same fault - and so I couldn't access any of the Smart features. The first of them also even developed a tiny hole in the screen within a month! I was aware that the KD43XG8396BU is essentially the 2019 version of the KD43XF8796BU and given my experience with the previous sets, frankly I wasn't expecting the picture quality or the Smart functionality of this year's TV to be all that much better than last year's - even though it costs a good £350 more. How wrong I was!... First of all the Smart features work perfectly on my new KD43XG8396BU - which is a big relief, but the picture quality is also noticeably improved now that (according to a chap at Sony that I 'chat'ted to online recently), the processor has been 'Tweaked'. I had no idea what the word 'Tweaked' meant in this particular context but I have to say that the image is noticeably sharper, the contrast is stronger and the colours, although they aren't at all garish, are definitely deeper and seem to 'Pop' a bit more on the KD43XG8396BU. It's hard to find the right word to describe how exactly the colours on the KD43XG8396BU are better, but they definitely are! So; after having no end of trouble with the two previous KD43XF8796BU TVs, my faith in Sony TVs is how completely restored. The bottom line is that if you have limited space and you're looking for a really good quality 43" 4K Ultra HD TV, you probably won't do better than the KD43XG8396BU. BUY WITH CONFIDENCE!!

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

34

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Best picture in store

108 cm (43”) 07/30/2019 by Danspan

Bought because it compared well with other TVs for picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

35 Customer Reviews

8 Models

Models

0

Poor user interface and poor sound on Sound bar

108 cm (43”) 08/07/2019 by GeoffH6

I bought this TV in June 2019 and was initially very happy. In July there was a software update which then changed the user interface. When I switch the TV on, instead of getting a TV station I get a screen full of Apps. Don't seem to be a way of just getting the TV come on without having to select an "app". I also bough a Sony sound bar and consider the user interface on that is very poor and the sound unclear. In addition, I am unable to sync the sound with the picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

My Review KD-49XG8305

123 cm (49'') 08/05/2019 by Goochiecoo

I got this TV from Sony as a replacement TV..extremely fast and efficient service from Sony..The TV is incredible with immense depth and colour, the Triluminous display as well as the HDR function together are unbelievable!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GOOD BUT FLAWED...

108 cm (43”) 08/03/2019 by Blackdog54

Picture is good, but we have also just purchased a Samsung TV and the set up on that was a piece of cake. The set up on this Bravia is awful and unintuitive and based on that we would not buy another on. Based on this I wish we were able to buy a Samsung at this size with Sony picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Great features

108 cm (43”) 07/31/2019 by Reviwer

Bought it three weeks ago and the picture is fine sound is as expected.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Best picture in store

108 cm (43”) 07/30/2019 by Danspan

Bought because it compared well with other TVs for picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great TV

108 cm (43”) 07/29/2019 by Dude100

This is a great TV Should have bought it a long time ago. A1++++

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent tv

108 cm (43”) 07/27/2019 by Jubar

Bought this TV to watch Wimbledon and Open Golf. Brilliant colours. Will enjoy watching for years. We always buy Sony tv. The best!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great product

123 cm (49'') 07/26/2019 by Basel

Amazing product ,high picture quality , highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony tv review

108 cm (43”) 07/23/2019 by Roybyy

Bought this 2 Weeks ago Very pleased good quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good images with easy to use features

123 cm (49'') 07/22/2019 by Roddy123

Picture quality very good and tv very easy to set up with other input sources

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality picture

108 cm (43”) 07/19/2019 by Barry10

I bought this a week ago and very pleased with picture quality and easy to install instructions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony XG 43”

108 cm (43”) 07/17/2019 by Golightly158

Picture excellent. Normal operation 100hz. Design let’s it down and screen tilts slightly back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony 4K TV

108 cm (43”) 07/16/2019 by Liz135

Bought tv 2 weeks ago and still getting used to the phenomenal picture quality. Amazing technology.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture and sound

108 cm (43”) 07/13/2019 by Debbie 2

Really pleased excellent highly recommend picture surpur

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Criticism

108 cm (43”) 07/12/2019 by Randogne

Overall I am very pleased with television however my biggest criticism is that the "manual" is extremely scanty. At first glance it looks as if it could be quite concise, unfortunately upon opening it, one finds there's 3 or 4 page in the English language followed by the same in a myriad of other tongues. I then looked on the internet to try and download a "easy to use" instruction manual, to no avail I'm afraid. Some people, including myself, want a simple to understand guide as to the features and operation of the machine which does not require a university degree in telecommunications. For example, on the rear of the television there are USB ports, but no precise instruction as to which one the cable from the DVD plugs into, does it matter which one, I don't know, trial and error springs to mind. In response to the question below, "How would you rate the features of the product", I can't answer that because I can't find out what they are !! Overall the television is very pleasing but the instructions are extremely poor. I would recommend this product if it was more user friendly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Very pleased

108 cm (43”) 07/10/2019 by fiona55

Only just had fixed on wall. Satisfied so far though took some time to tune in. I do not yet know how to record programmes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Faulty first set replaced

108 cm (43”) 07/10/2019 by PeterHarvey123

First set refused to switch on after only two days. Replacement seems OK. However, great picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Great Television

123 cm (49'') 07/08/2019 by Johnny657

A very good television, packed with excellent features.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Would recommend

123 cm (49'') 07/05/2019 by Cosmic 7

Great tv , no complaints , all it lacks is a scart input for people with vhs recorders like myself who have family holidays and many memories of the children on video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound dropouts & Black screen

123 cm (49'') 07/04/2019 by Snapjack

I had my TV delivered and installed by Curries PC World. So far it looks like it has to be returned as the troubleshooting info in the manual has been followed. Turning off and on again brings back the screen/sound but that’s not much help when using Amazon Prime or Catch-up channels where you have to start the programme from the start.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great

108 cm (43”) 07/03/2019 by Debs2

Brought just recently excellent picture quality excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality but...

108 cm (43”) 06/30/2019 by ghijk

Great picture quality but we were told by Currys that it had freesat. It has a satellite socket but if you use it you can't use YouView to connect to internet services like ITV Hub. You need a freeview aerial.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great tv

123 cm (49'') 06/27/2019 by Rob 62

THIS TV IS A LOT FASTER THAN THE PREVIOUS 2016 MODEL I'M STILL FINDING THINGS OUT BUT SET UP AND EASY TUNING GOT TV UP AND RUNNING SO FAR SO GOOD

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great TV

108 cm (43”) 06/26/2019 by Big Strong and Handsome

I brought this to replace my old Sony Trinitron, that had given me 18 years of loyal service. The picture quality of the Trinitron was excellent, with a warmth and depth that modern flat screens find hard to replicate, but the XG83 does come close.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Superb

108 cm (43”) 06/25/2019 by Exsparky

Early days, we are sure that we have made an excellent purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

best picture

108 cm (43”) 06/24/2019 by RIDGERS13

Very happy with our Sony TV. The picture is really sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very impressed!

108 cm (43”) 06/21/2019 by anfield ace

Overall I'm very impressed with my new TV, especially with the 4K graphics!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good picture and sound, but a dreadful smart TV

123 cm (49'') 06/15/2019 by Chris P

I have just moved into a small home with a large lounge, so decided to invest in a reasonably high-spec smart TV. After lots of searching, I went with this one from Sony. I expected outstanding quality from a very expensive television from a trusted manufacturer. Unfortunately, my experiences have been middling to poor. The TV does have several good points. It is very attractive, with a slim profile yet a sturdy frame. I like how the legs conceal slots for your HDMI cables, so it looks very tidy in situ. The picture and sound quality are both very good, with rich colours, sharp details, and breadth of audio. For the first time ever, I felt no need to fiddle with the settings out of the box, as everything looks and sounds great. But, the TV is totally let down by its operating system and interface. The Android OS is very slow, crashes regularly (meaning the TV refuses to even switch on), and loses its internet connection several times a week (the TV is hard-wired to the router, less than a foot away). Meanwhile, the YouView EPG is even slower, often missing channel information, and laughably restrictive. This TV has two Freesat tuners, but they are both disabled because YouView only supports Freeview, so you miss out on about 500 channels! If it wasn't for Netflix and other streaming TV services looking near their best, and the sheer inconvenience of packing it all up again, I would be returning this TV. If you are into streaming, gaming, or only watch TV via a satellite service with a set top box, you'll be fine. If you need a decent smart TV, steer clear, because this one is about as 'smart' as Homer Simpson.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

5

2

0

Very good product

123 cm (49'') 06/10/2019 by Nigel84

Quick to install and easy to use.Extremely good picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good product

108 cm (43”) 06/04/2019 by Sonic19

Had for two weeks now ,easy to set up happy with the product , not the price!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It’s a Sony!

108 cm (43”) 05/30/2019 by KevB1

I have not purchased a tv for 10 years which was a Sony and is still working. I wanted the latest smart tv so decided on another Sony. The picture quality is excellent with bright colours in HD. Still getting used to all the features but i am very pleased with my new purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Only one remote now

123 cm (49'') 05/29/2019 by Silver ghost

Great picture and internet features for all your Prime and Netflix. Only down side Now TV not available, steel need box, but still only one remote needed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great TV !

108 cm (43”) 05/26/2019 by Rosie 73

So many features , lovely picture , Really happy with it !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great picture quality

108 cm (43”) 05/19/2019 by Mitha

Great quality of sound and picture. Easy to install

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Well Worth Waiting For!

108 cm (43”) 04/15/2019 by Friscokid

I received my Sony KD43XG8396BU a few days ago having placed a pre-order last month, and I have to say that I couldn't be more pleased with its performance. I previously had two consecutive 2018 model KD43XF8796BU TVs and both were faulty - i.e. not many days after setting both of them up they lost their ability to log on to the internet due to exactly the same fault - and so I couldn't access any of the Smart features. The first of them also even developed a tiny hole in the screen within a month! I was aware that the KD43XG8396BU is essentially the 2019 version of the KD43XF8796BU and given my experience with the previous sets, frankly I wasn't expecting the picture quality or the Smart functionality of this year's TV to be all that much better than last year's - even though it costs a good £350 more. How wrong I was!... First of all the Smart features work perfectly on my new KD43XG8396BU - which is a big relief, but the picture quality is also noticeably improved now that (according to a chap at Sony that I 'chat'ted to online recently), the processor has been 'Tweaked'. I had no idea what the word 'Tweaked' meant in this particular context but I have to say that the image is noticeably sharper, the contrast is stronger and the colours, although they aren't at all garish, are definitely deeper and seem to 'Pop' a bit more on the KD43XG8396BU. It's hard to find the right word to describe how exactly the colours on the KD43XG8396BU are better, but they definitely are! So; after having no end of trouble with the two previous KD43XF8796BU TVs, my faith in Sony TVs is how completely restored. The bottom line is that if you have limited space and you're looking for a really good quality 43" 4K Ultra HD TV, you probably won't do better than the KD43XG8396BU. BUY WITH CONFIDENCE!!

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

34

0