A20 WALKMAN® A SERIES

Product Reviews

Starting at

RRP

€ 288.00

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
37

4.5 based on 37 customer reviews

21
14
1
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Superior alternative to an iPod

16GB 01/05/2016 by skullfunkerry

Got this as a Christmas present as my iPod needed a new battery and I couldn't find anyone to do it for me. Have to say, I prefer the Sony in every way: the navigation is simple (bit of a throwback to old phones, in fact - not necessarily a bad thing!), and the addition of a MicroSD slot means that I can easily fit my whole music library on the device. The sound is awesome - between the custom EQ settings, predefined surround options and the DSEE/etc presets, there's definitely a setting for whatever your preference. I'm using my own Sennheiser earbuds rather than the Sony ones that came bundled with the player, but the bundled ones sound great too - very crisp and clear: I just prefer the added "Oomph" of my Sennheisers. All in all, I'd recommend this player in a heartbeat to anyone who wants a new player, whether they're a fan of Apple or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Bluetooth not connecting

16GB 07/21/2016 by sftburto

This is a lovely device, easy to use, but two problems. Firstly, I bought this primarily to connect to my in-car system. despite spending a long time on various occasions trying to connect I gave up. The bluetooth was the reason I purchased it. There does not appear to be anywhere on Sony support to speak to anyone. Secondly, I have set up some playlists which I like to use set up on playmode as playing on a loop. Unfortunately, as soon as the playlist finishes, it move to the next playlist rather than go back to the beginning which is annoying.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

37 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

sony walkman

16GB 09/28/2018 by fincacortesin

Good size, good sound, battery last long time. highly recommened.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Works well

16GB 05/18/2017 by Raiza90

I need a portable hi-res player in low-mid price range. This is the best find. It plays the hi-res music impeccably. The digital noice cancelling works wonder if you do not have a good headphones to play it with. The clear audio feature really does augmented the file to play in 'higher sound' than when I play it in another player. From sound pov (which is the most important), it is perfect. I do not give five star because of some 'minus' such as : the outdated screen, inavaibility of easier playing now playlist, and the ease to import the music. I found the division of internal and external memory importation to be annoying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent music player

16GB 04/13/2017 by John1811

Very good reproduction and easy to use. The site won't accept a review as short as the first sentence even though it constitutes the entirety of my review. Thus, I have to add this which tells you nothing about the product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

First rate player

16GB 01/21/2017 by charlie79

Purchased just after Christmas and I am delighted with the quality of the unit and sound reproduction particularly via my Sony bluetooth wireless speaker ie SRS-XB3.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Small Gadget, Big Sound

16GB 01/10/2017 by Perfect Pits

I received this for Christmas, replacing another Sony Walkman I have had for 6 years. So far, I am very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A lovely little player

16GB 01/09/2017 by StellaArtoisSr

I have had over the years a few Sony products and have always been impressed with the quality of them, and this is no exception. I was in need of a stand alone player as I don't like killing my phone battery and when I saw this unit it fitted my needs. I wanted quality sound, a big memory, and with the addition of a SD card it has that. I wanted a small but easy to view machine as I never wear my glasses, I can easily see the information on it.The size of the machine is small enough to tuck away in your pocket.I wanted easy to understand, no fuss software to put my music on the player, it certainly does that. I wanted good battery life and I have been pleased with that as well. It does not come with a touch screen, but I am happy about that, it is very easy to operate selecting the buttons, and because of that the screen is not covered in dirty finger marks. The only thing I was not 100% happy about was the headphones,I could not get the bass out of them that I like, but that didn't matter as I have a pair which can. Although I have only recorded MP3 format at the moment I am impressed with the sound quality. Overall I am delighted with this Walkman and really pleased I chose this model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Two serious flaws

16GB 12/13/2016 by Peter1946

The Home/Back and Pwr/Off are far too small and fiddly. To only be able to charge the unit via a USB port linked to a PC/Mac or laptop is ridiculous. You should supply a mains charger or at least have one available as an extra. These are supposed to be portable devices. My old NWZ- S765 beats this more expensive model hands down on both of these accounts

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

5

0

Great sounds.

16GB 12/12/2016 by JohnatNo4

Purchased this Walkman after reading Which? reviews, and also purchased Cambridge speakers to compliment, again a Which? recommendation. Very pleased with the result.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Easy to use product

16GB 12/11/2016 by cath21_98

I bought this for my son, as it has Bluetooth and can pair with his Sony headphones. It is easy to use and the quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Well worth it

16GB 12/05/2016 by Uggh

Beats Apple Ipod hands down. Far better quality, yep

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent mp3 player+

16GB 12/04/2016 by fopjpl

Very pleased with this product, would prefer DAB radio iso FM

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Does everything I want

16GB 11/26/2016 by CHLeam

I bought this recently to replace an old Walkman which had given up the ghost. It is so easy to use and I have been able to put all my music (including folders) onto it. Compared to my ipod touch it's a breeze!! Sound quality great and can play through my audio system. Very neat and easy to carry around.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sound quality is wonderful...clear and sharp

16GB 10/05/2016 by NikkiK

Sony NW-A25HN High Res Audio Walkman....I got this Sony Walkman as it had a very good write up. I have not been disappointed with the quality of the sound or workings of this Sony NW-A25HN High Res Audio Walkman. Sound quality is wonderful...clear and sharp with both ACC, MP3 & 4 files...and when FLAC files are used it get's better. Layout of the workings on the product is easy to master and get around. Also like the fact the product is smaller & thinner than other audio players. I have yet to really try the noise cancelling headphones that comes with the product.... in the right environment. But the options the unit & headphones offer in certain environment's to ensure quality if playback is not lost has been thought about. Then there is storage size..product comes with about 16gb but with the addition of a micro memory card can be taken to larger sizes..no problem. If you are looking for just a very good high quality music player without the massive price tag or all the fancy additional applications. This is one to consider. Over all design of the product is also smart.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Another great Sony product

64GB 09/14/2016

I've had an 4gb Sony mo3 player for years and use it on the train but I broke an earphone cable and decided to change the kit. Oh boy what a difference a few years makes! This NW-A27HNB is a fantastic piece of electronic wizardry with awesome sound beautifully rendered across the whole sound range. Every note is audible. I purchased a hi res classical album and here it comes into its own. I cannot believe that such a tiny piece of is is so brilliant. I rip to FLAC so that makes a difference but if you seriously want a great sounding beautifully made music player get this one or one of the other Sony devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Prefer it to my i-pod classic

16GB 09/12/2016 by roux50

I haven't had a lot of time to play with this yet, but the one thing I know is that I was able to transfer my i-tunes library onto it, which was the reason for buying it. It hasn't got the amount of memory that I would have liked and I couldn't afford the next model up, but I can buy an SD card to improve this, which is what I will do. So far I'm very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Sony Walkman

16GB 09/05/2016 by GordonO

I was pleased with this, it was good that a memory card 128GB could be added. I have now re recorded my CDs as FLAC and the sound is improved. It works well with Media Go, better than whatever the last one was. Volume seems on the low side, there agin that might be the state of my hearing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

GREAT PLAYER---CHARGING A PROBLEM

16GB 08/06/2016 by GSB 1948

I BOUGHT THIS PLAYER RECENTLY. EVERYTHING IS VERY GOOD, BUT WHY DO I HAVE TO TAKE MY LAPTOP ON HOLIDAY, IN ORDER TO CHARGE THE PLAYER?????? WHY NOT A SEPERATE CHARGER WITH PLUG, LIKE MY LAST PLAYER!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

5

3

0

Sony Walkman

16GB 07/22/2016 by Ballon Buster

I have only had this product for about 2 weeks so really can not write a reveiw. Happy with to date though

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Bluetooth not connecting

16GB 07/21/2016 by sftburto

This is a lovely device, easy to use, but two problems. Firstly, I bought this primarily to connect to my in-car system. despite spending a long time on various occasions trying to connect I gave up. The bluetooth was the reason I purchased it. There does not appear to be anywhere on Sony support to speak to anyone. Secondly, I have set up some playlists which I like to use set up on playmode as playing on a loop. Unfortunately, as soon as the playlist finishes, it move to the next playlist rather than go back to the beginning which is annoying.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Excellent Machine

64GB 07/08/2016 by annoyed by this question

I bought this player or my Wife to use to store her Zumba Music on in readiness to use on her Bose Speaker 3. We are both delighted with the ease of use and the availability of the Bluetooth function. The appearance is pleasing and it's a delight to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great storage

16GB 07/05/2016 by Kepa

Good sound, easy to transfer music , only downside is I don't like the way you have to alter volume after every power down.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Impressive hi-res sound quality

16GB 06/27/2016 by hfish

The Sony NW-A25 MP3 player is a great unit - impressive quality which really delivers on providing clear and crisp sound and great attention to detail. Its a decent build but also very compact and light so great for portability. The noise cancelling does not completely isolate all background noise but provides adequate reduction - especially when coupled with a decent pair of closed back headphones. For the price, I would definitely recommend this product if you are looking for high-res sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Good but could have been great

16GB 05/16/2016 by Wobblyone

The Walkman has good battery life, button controls, many options for sound quality, good song format compatibility. The software used for managing the song content is not intuitive, songs can only be deleted when the device is attached to a PC, organising playlists is difficult, no search available for individual songs

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

BIG LEAP IN MUSICAL QUALITY

64GB 05/11/2016 by SCOTTP

I have had the HiRes Walkman for a week or two and am very pleased with what it can do - Battery life is excellent and so is sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent MP3 Player

16GB 04/27/2016 by Adamssski

We wanted a compact, high quality MP3 player to use in the car. It had to have enough storage capacity for our large music collection (over 12,000 files currently) and Bluetooth connectivity - which is not that common. We also didn't want to be tied into iTunes or other software. This Walkman ticks all those boxes and more. It is very compact and lightweight but the display is very clear and bright. It is not touchscreen, but the interface is so straightforward that this has never been an issue - in fact, it is probably better because there is no danger of accidentally changing tracks. The system uses higher bandwidth Bluetooth, so the audio quality is amazing - you would not tell it wasn't playing straight from CD. If needed, the storage capacity can be upgraded by purchasing a memory card. Even with our vast music library, the search is efficient and lightning fast. Above all, the Sony build quality is obvious. We are very pleased with our purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Meet expectation

16GB 04/25/2016 by FlyCat

It is perfect working item, great design and functionality, i just can wait for mdr-1abn to connect to it, but still even without it sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Hi Res Walkman

16GB 03/30/2016 by Hailsham27

Purchased to replace my old Ipod classic which had finally died. Wanted something small with large memory and with the ability to use Hi Res. So far quite impressed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Good to look at

64GB 03/21/2016 by Getstuffed

I bought this a month ago and I am happy I did ,this is my second Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Great player

16GB 03/09/2016 by keyboardnut

Great sounding device but headphones do not fit my ears even with all there earbud choices

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Pleased

16GB 02/26/2016 by C30no

I wanted a player with quality sound and this is great. It is easy to navigate. I would like to be able to delete items from the player itself, maybe I can but the instruction book is large. The Sony media go app is good for transferring music, I am still learning about transferring pod casts. I am a total beginner but am very happy with my walkman overall.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Great option if you want to escape Apple

NW-A25 02/18/2016 by Spiki67

I bought this after I got totally fed up with Apple and its relentless drive to force users to take their music online. The decision to further restrict the iPod line was a bridge too far for me - all I want is a music player that sounds good. Wifi, photos and all other other stuff are fine on other devices but I don't want them interfering when I want to listen to music. This Sony model does just that and the sound quality and built in noise cancelling is a real bonus. The micro SD card slot is great - I have a large music library and bought a 16GB device and a 128GB micro card, which nearly holds it all. The controls take a bit of getting used to and are not as intuitive as touch screen controls but that's a minor inconvenience. Overall this is a great music player and points to what the iPod classic could have become if Apple had bothered to develop a pure music player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

easy to use

16GB 02/15/2016 by Lasaltiere

Very pleased with this walkman. The software Media Go that can be downloaded I find is easy to use and had no difficulty in transferring my CDs to my walkman. The tone is excellent and the screen is easy to navigate. The various options on how you want to hear your music are also excellent and overall am very happy with my choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Love this Walkman!

16GB 02/15/2016 by Mozy

I got this Walkman as a Christmas present from my fiance and love it so much that I decided to buy him one for his recent birthday. I just love the look, feel, sound and functionality of it. Not a bad word to say on it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic sound

16GB 01/12/2016 by IAN58

A stylish design with fantastic sound and far better than anything I players has to offer. Earphones could do with being more fitted to the contours of the ear (more angled less straight) but are good. Paired with my Bluetooth speaker the sound is fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superior alternative to an iPod

16GB 01/05/2016 by skullfunkerry

Got this as a Christmas present as my iPod needed a new battery and I couldn't find anyone to do it for me. Have to say, I prefer the Sony in every way: the navigation is simple (bit of a throwback to old phones, in fact - not necessarily a bad thing!), and the addition of a MicroSD slot means that I can easily fit my whole music library on the device. The sound is awesome - between the custom EQ settings, predefined surround options and the DSEE/etc presets, there's definitely a setting for whatever your preference. I'm using my own Sennheiser earbuds rather than the Sony ones that came bundled with the player, but the bundled ones sound great too - very crisp and clear: I just prefer the added "Oomph" of my Sennheisers. All in all, I'd recommend this player in a heartbeat to anyone who wants a new player, whether they're a fan of Apple or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great sound, a bit glitchy.

64GB 12/15/2015 by MS50

Very hard to find product and bought because it has Apple Mac compatability. Could have done with more storage and less glitchy OS. It doesn't cope well with moving around lots of different tracks and albums but if you just leave it to play, the sound is world class. Very nice to have noise cancelling and headphones included.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

1

0

Rich hi resolution sound

16GB 12/12/2015 by carl777777

So happy with my new walkman, the standout feature is the sound quality and the compact design, the hi res audio is so much deeper and richer than any other device. It is also great to have a genuine Walkman, the brand that started it all. It is very small and compact and intuitive to use, I recommend ! You also get the noise cancelling headphones in the pack and I have also bought the hear on headphones . Love the colours too, I went for viridium blue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1