A50 WALKMAN® A SERIES

Product Reviews

RRP

€ 201.70

(incl. VAT and WEEE)
60

4.3 based on 60 customer reviews

37
15
2
4
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

A55L Review

16GB 12/13/2019 by Seagullbaz

Was given this as a 50th birthday present after putting it on my wish list following fantastic reviews on the web. It has lived up to and exceeded all the web reviews. Perfect!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony - A50 Walkman® A Series

16GB 06/30/2020 by ynot58

I bought this walkman a few days ago and I am still unable to get the volume to work on a blue tooth speaker, I can connect no problem but the volume control just does not work, This is clearly an issue with sony as I have tried two mobile phones and a tablet on the speaker and i can control the volume fine. I have read the manual also gone on line and tried all recommendations but with no success. it should not be this difficult when you are spending £180.00. Quality of Walkman is very good. Disappointed there is no FM radio, when you spend this kind of money you would expect it to be there, and i also see that the remote control function is not available, not impressed. I am seriously considering returning it and buying a simless mobile phone. I see i am not the only person with this issue. Sony please correct this with a soft ware upgrade. Also forgot the mention that I tried connecting to my car audio, blue tooth connected ok, but again volume did not wok.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

60 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent sound but a little tricky to use

16GB 11/23/2020 by Cat39

The sound is superb and it brings out aspects of my music that I've never noticed with my older CD player. The use of removable, standard storage (micro SD card) that can be read by Windows etc is so much better than the iTunes/Apple approach. On the downside, it's a small device, almost too small for easy handling, and the text size is minute. And because it creates its database anew on each power-up, it can be a frustrating wait when you simply want to hear a track.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice feel good quality

16GB 11/13/2020 by 77punk

So good to have this dedicated music player...love the crisp sound and the array of options for getting the sound to suit your needs..must add that the battery life is extremely important to me and this player does not disappoint..very pleased

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

16GB 11/08/2020 by Cwoo

I have only 2 drawbacks for the Sony NW-A55L, the 1st is the charging cable is very very short, 2nd, you cannot buy a tempered Glass protector in case you accidentally drop it. Those aside, I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Best Walkman Yet.

16GB 11/08/2020

Having read many reviews on the A-55, I decided to buy this to replace my A-27 which gave up on me recently. Really pleased that I did. All those 5 star reviews were accurate. The build quality is obviously good, for a small unit there is reassuring amount of weight to it but still comfortable to use in the hand. Once you have learned to navigate the touchscreen it is easy to find your way round, moving between the many features and settings that are built into it. I like the fact that it is possible to customise the sound to suit your own unique choice. I’m using the A-55 with a pair of Shure SE425’s, and having the Clear Audio+ setting on with them I have a great sound reproduction. This combo handles Judas Priest’s “Painkiller” with ease, and that is a challenge for most of today’s portable sound gear. Not sure about the battery life at the moment, but this could be because my 425’s take a bit of “driving” and I do navigate between albums and artist’s a lot, so I’ll see how this goes. 16GB system may seem a bit small for some, adding an SD card sorts that out. Good price as well for what you get. Well done Sony, all the high praise reviews are right.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound -through jack plug!

16GB 11/07/2020

Sound is fine, but so far only my iPhone will connect through Bluetooth. Tried my Sony SRS-XB41 speaker and Panasonic ear-buds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Much better than an iPod!!!

16GB 10/28/2020

Bought the Sony Walkman NW-A55L to replace my old Apple iPod. I had originally shopped around and compared the latest iPod models with various other MP3 players. The Sony Walkman sounded like it could do, at least, everything that any iPod could do. And for a much more reasonable price. I've had it for nearly a fortnight now and can honestly say I definitely made the right decision. The Sony Walkman is so easy to use and its associated app, 'Music Center for PC' (Sony equivalent of iTunes) is also very easy to use. Transferred all my albums over from iTunes and it also managed to retrieve the Album Art that iTunes had failed to. The Sony Walkman paired successfully to my Bose bluetooth speaker without a problem and the sound is perfect. All-in-all I would say the Sony Walkman NW-A55L is every bit as good as an iPod and is, in fact, MUCH better value for money!! I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Buy one and you won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

MP3 Player

16GB 10/24/2020 by PHBH

Early days but have found the software for importing easy to use. Sound quality good and easy to use. Have not used any of the more advanced functions or options as I need to work my way through the instruction manual before I do so.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound, great price!

16GB 10/24/2020 by richfish11

I bought this model at a good price and have been impressed with the sound quality pretty much straight out of the box (although tweaking the equaliser settings improves things). Coupled with my new Sony noise cancelling headphones, well, it's a match made in heaven! Very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pocket sized DAC with BT and good battery life

16GB 10/16/2020 by J450N

Small enough to fit in a pocket but not so heavy as to distort the cut of your shirt, balanced with a large enough touch screen to see all the customisable features. One of the few DACs to be able to play the higher quality files through BT as well as a cabled connection. Can also be used as a pass through unit so files from your phone or PC can benefit from the higher quality audio chipset on board. Some personalisation possible for audiophiles that prefer a subtle difference in tone or bass is possible too. I’m using Cambridge Audio Melomania BT earphones which paired with the device without issue, but online reviews did mention some devices struggle to pair, so check BT compatibility before assuming all BT headsets or EarPod variants will work.I have a set of NC Bose over ear headphones which also connected without issue. I read some reviews about low volume outputs in Eurozone prior to purchasing, but the only real difference I heard was based on the input files original volume settings, the volume was plenty loud enough if the original file was mastered to avoid clipping and maximise volume. The only down side to this is the necessity for a PC for some editing before uploading to the device.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Seems good so far

16GB 10/13/2020 by AMcB

I’m pleased with the Walkman so far. Some albums have transferred in two or three parts with 3 or 4 tracks in each part. The Bluetooth has dropped off on occasions, seems to be when in enclosed areas. Connects easily to headphones, speaker and car.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect for my needs

16GB 10/04/2020 by Planc

I purchased the red version of the A55 and I think it looks very nice. The size feels perfect in hand and also in a trouser pocket. I have not put any Hi-Res audio on however I purchased this to put flac CD rips into it. The A55 connects to my Tangent Amp via BT with ease and has a solid connection. Flac, WMA and MP3 file's sound considerably better than my iPod Nano or any phone. I have a 256GBP Sandisk card and transferring files is very easy via the Sony Music Centre. The sound can be adjusted via present equalizer's or there are two customisable options. At the moment I have some Sony in ears, Betron in ears and some Panasonic over ears phones and I feel all of them produce totally different audio experience and the equaliser needs to be changed as I change to different phones. I feel none of the ear phones I have can match the player so I will look in to a set that can. Overall I like the feel, find the OS is very simple to use and the sound is superb. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Could be louder

16GB 10/03/2020 by JohnGS

Excellent sound quality and ability to play Hi-Res files. Volume is not as good as my previous Sony MP3 player. Needs high sensitivity headphones ?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Super Sound Quality And Easy to Use

16GB 09/24/2020 by Vivid47

I bought a few days ago to replace and older Sony unit because i needed more storage. It's not the cheapest in town but the quality of reproduction through my Bose bluetooth earbuds is first class. The menu structure needs some getting used to but not really a problem after a while. I would recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent player

16GB 09/23/2020 by GlasgowCraig

The sound quality is great. I have spent a fair bit of time saving 130 GB of my favourite CDs to it, in FLAC format, and am very impressed with the sound. My tastes are pop, rock, acoustic, classical, dub reggae and more, and it all sounds great. Battery life so far is also very good, the device looks good, is light as a feather and most music features the correct artwork. I’m not fussed about anything but having large amounts of music in good quality in a gadget that easily fits in a pocket, and this does it all. Money well spent. It’s worth experimenting with the eq, etc to get it sounding how you want. After that, there is no learning curve. Sony have been good at all this for a long time, and I was not disappointed with this cool little thing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best purchase for a while

16GB 09/17/2020 by Denise21

Bought this a few weeks ago and so happy I did. Previously used my phone for audio along with everything else but I got this little Sony purely for audio and downsized my phone and what a difference. Not only are there no distractions but the audio is of a far better quality, even when using Bluetooth. Normally use with RHA headphones, both wired and Bluetooth. The unit is easily pocketable, discrete, easy to use and the UI is lovely. With a large memory card it holds my entire music collection so can be taken anywhere but I can also connect with my Mac and with my Sony AV amp via an Oppo DAC (can't seem to find the right Sony cable to buy anywhere for direct connection). Audio quality seems to be improving as more hours are played on it so I am a very happy bunny. My ONLY niggle is that it has to Create Database every time it powers back on - I understand if it has been updated or new titles added but surely it could do a quick check to see if anything has changed without having to do a complete rebuild each time?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great product.

16GB 09/16/2020 by Wobbler1

Very happy with this which I use when running. It replaces an older Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great product easy to use great sound

16GB 09/03/2020 by maccca 66

i bought this a couple of months ago great sound easy to use great features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

MADE FOR THE JOB

16GB 08/30/2020 by Dave Emm

Bought this to put all my (40+) own albums on. Easy to use. Perfect sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

My Review for A50 Walkman® A Series

16GB 08/22/2020 by Dave 65

I bought this to replace an ageing iPod Classic that was long past its best. The i pod was excellent and very easy to use but you were limited to the amount you could put on 160 gb This seems to be better in that area. I paired this up with a Sandisk 200Gb MicroSD card and it provides plenty of room for all of my music. for some reason it will not accept all that i have put on? it shows they are there on the disk but will not play them. I don't like having to put the on a into a folder either it should just go on the player The user interface is not easy enough to use, and needs redesigning. some of us are not tech savvy just normal. The sound quality is excellent, and I particularly like that you don't have to use any "walled garden" software. The battery life is decent and seems to last a good long while in-between charges (for me it's easily 10+ listening hours before it needs charging again?) This could have been great . But it's not, i'm very disappointed. Please consider , easy to navigate/use /transfer music easier i have had a Sonywalkman and Diskman and they were great. Sony are one of the leaders and with I pods no longer available could clearyup in this market area, just look at the amount of I Pod customers you have and could get.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

Just very good all round

16GB 08/18/2020 by ticketyboo

Bought to upgrade my previous Sony MP3 now 16 years old and still going strong

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

BLUETOOTH

16GB 08/07/2020 by Trigger3562

Disappointed with Bluetooth, will not connect to my headphones which is unusual as all my other devices will connect to the headphones

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sounding Hi Res player

16GB 08/05/2020 by Penzanceboy

Had this bought for my birthday - well, actually chose it for myself for my wife to buy - and so glad I did. Although physically small when compared to a phone, it feels substantial and the music it produces sounds fantastic as my first foray into Hi Res. The Sony Music Centre app also makes it so easy to transfer existing files from my PC, although I have downloaded my CDs into FLAC for better lossless sound and I'm hearing so much more in each track; they are so clear and detailed. Simple to pair my Bluetooth earphones, Airpods and Sony Bluetooth speaker. The ability to expand the capacity using a microSD card (I've gone for 256GB and at 150 albums haven't more than "tickled" the SD card) is fantastic. Plenty of storage capacity which can be expanded further. The battery life on early indications looks really good - I felt I'd rather have the longer battery life than have a player which allowed streaming (and therefore eat the battery's capacity far too quickly) as I could still do the latter via my phone if I really needed. A great balance between build and sound quality, features and price point. Welll done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Quality Player

16GB 08/01/2020 by NobbyH

After a month long research into mp3 players, I finally decided on the Sony A55 as the best value for money & performance. It hasn't dissapointed, great sound with no need for an additional DAC amp to my AKG over ear headphones. Excellent value for money. However, not that impressed with Sony's own media player which they recommend to use as music transfer medium. Overall, very happy & would recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Plenty of Room for All Your Music...

16GB 07/29/2020 by Apollo2020

It took me a couple of days to load 1,826 songs onto this device, pretty good I would say. Now, all of my music is on the Walkman and I can play anything at all on any paired BlueTooth device. Excellent.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sounds are excellent quality

16GB 07/26/2020 by Moscow22

I bought this at beginning of July Some great features plus battery life Shame it advertised with headphones on purchase but none in box And poor instruction on music conversation together high res recordings Still only songs that came with it high res

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

instructions???????

16GB 07/21/2020 by meandyou

brilliant piece of equipment. but the set up instructions that come with it are woefully lacking. it took me hours before i realised that you have to access the online instructions and then you have to download the sony music player to allow you to upload your music to the walkman. this could have been explained in the instruction that come with it and saved me many hours of frustration and wasted time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Outstanding

16GB 07/21/2020 by Nessyjr

These headphones will transform your music collection, whether vinyl, CD, mp3 or streaming. Quite simply, they are the best headphones I've ever owned. With easy setup and extremely comfortable, they bring unimaginable depth and clarity to everything I've played. Absolutely outstanding

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

VERY QUIET

16GB 07/05/2020 by Spider789

Not really happy with volume have to set to max to hear anything. my old sony mp3 player was very good and only needed volume set at 4, not 120. The menu system is also very poor, takes ages to find tracks that I want to listen to. I am finding very hard to get tracks from my pc onto this player.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Sony - A50 Walkman® A Series

16GB 06/30/2020 by ynot58

I bought this walkman a few days ago and I am still unable to get the volume to work on a blue tooth speaker, I can connect no problem but the volume control just does not work, This is clearly an issue with sony as I have tried two mobile phones and a tablet on the speaker and i can control the volume fine. I have read the manual also gone on line and tried all recommendations but with no success. it should not be this difficult when you are spending £180.00. Quality of Walkman is very good. Disappointed there is no FM radio, when you spend this kind of money you would expect it to be there, and i also see that the remote control function is not available, not impressed. I am seriously considering returning it and buying a simless mobile phone. I see i am not the only person with this issue. Sony please correct this with a soft ware upgrade. Also forgot the mention that I tried connecting to my car audio, blue tooth connected ok, but again volume did not wok.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Excellent product, easy to use.

16GB 06/30/2020 by Pdre

The title says it all really. I like to carry favourite music around with me and I wanted a device that offers quick Bluetooth connectivity to a speaker. It delivers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great player - poorly supported

16GB 06/30/2020 by Torihermione

I really like the player. It’s my second Sony music player and overall it’s look, feel and most importantly sound are decent. But, the device is terribly supported - especially for Mac. The Content Transfer software is very out of date (but updated for two years) and incompatible with Mac OSX 10.15 and the new replacement for iTunes. It’s made it almost impossible to drive value from the player and have had to work around these issues constantly. It’s frustrating and was very close to returning the device. What is a good player and device is ruined by the incompatibility and poor software support. It’s overshadowed the rest.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

excellent

16GB 06/29/2020 by jalow

sony nw-a55l excellent product great sound ,ease of use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic value.

16GB 06/26/2020 by DannyNP

Great machine. I was looking about at other offerings from brands at this point but went for the Sony. Overall, it has been fantastic. The negatives I have are relatively small; I don't like the charging cable as it's not the easiest to find if you break yours, Music Center for PC has some really stupid choices on which songs are which genre, and I wish the device would display the time. Other than that, the device sounds great, has brilliant features, Bluetooth works well, the battery life is good, the SenseMe channels are fun and I'm very happy with my purchase. Great job Sony, keep it up!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Final Verdict? another quality product by Sony.

16GB 06/23/2020 by SATL

Very easy to transfer music from PC or Chromebook, just plug it in and fill up your 256 GB sdcard! the screen is extremely small so if you got big hands then you might accidentally press something or change a setting that you didn't intend to.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Impressive Device

16GB 06/17/2020 by BrianCG

This is very compact but has excellent features; with the SD card there is plenty of storage. Sound quality is very good and the interface is clear an easy to navigate. I haven't had this long enough to be able to comment on durability, but with a Sony product I expect good quality construction. The only minor problem so far is that I haven't been able to connect to Bluetooth headphones; I have tried more than one pair but without success. It is, however, no problem to use them with a wired connection. It may be that I am missing something in the setup process. I still feel that this is worth an 'excellent' rating for the design, storage and sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Perfect music player for under £200, very happy.

16GB 06/15/2020 by BriocheBaps

I’ve had this for two weeks now and I am very happy with it. The CD ripping and library management software is first class, easily outclassing iTunes on windows - ripping to FLAC is painless and a pleasure. Music playback on the device is great, simple intuitive interface - rich in features such as EQ, audio processing effects and playlist organisation. Sound is very neutral and true to recording, adding EQ or effects to taste can elevate the experience. In an age of streaming it’s great to go back to buying physical media and building my own library of music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

An Excellent, User-Friendly, Player

16GB 06/04/2020 by Ian681

Bought to replace an old MP3 player, I compared this with the Cowon Plenue D2. Listening to FLAC files I could not discern any significant difference between the sound of the two players. (Younger ears than mine might discern a nuance of difference). I opted for the Sony because it is much more user-friendly and has a few more features. The phone-like shape of the Sony player is preferable to the Plenue D2, the screen is better and the interface much easier to navigate. It is a pity that the Sony does not play OGG files, but with storage limitations a thing of the past I shall probably use FLAC files most of the time. Of course, the Hi-Res sample files provided with the Sony sound very good but unless you are playing the output through a top flight hifi system would you notice the benefit? The mobile environment is often not conducive to enjoying music at its best, even with noise-cancelling headphones, but this player certainly provides a satisfyingly good experience. There is no need for Sony to have a proprietary connector on the base of the player rather than a standard USB C socket: another manifestation of the 'Apple disease'! It is also a shame that this EU version of the Sony player does not have FM radio - apparently a consequence of EU DAB radio laws! However, if you want to listen to good music on the move, or in the comfort of your armchair, this player fits the bill very well. Very much recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good but not great

16GB 06/04/2020 by Dogs Bowlocks

I bought this Walkman to replace my Cowon X7 purely because I wanted to use wireless headphones and the X7 was too old to support current versions of Bluetooth. I just wanted a dedicated music player which this is and bought some JBL reflect flow ear buds true wireless to go with it. However, I made the mistake of assuming Bluetooth is Bluetooth which it is not. The JBL ear buds lost volume control when paired with the Walkman due to the Bluetooth profile used which was not supported by the Walkman. Result was I had to buy replacement ear buds and am unable to get a refund on the JBL due to them being unboxed. In terms of the Walkman you have to use an app called music centre to transfer music via your laptop. This app is not great as too often it becomes slow and even unresponsive. The Walkman itself is very slow when turning it on as seems to have to create a database every time. Overall it rates as good in my eyes now I have my files loaded but it could be better.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love it

16GB 06/03/2020 by Herdman

Love the sound and easy to understand touch screen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Mp3 player

16GB 06/02/2020 by Stem49

My music collection was scattered all over the place. Some on iTunes, some on Amazon music, old cd's etc. So I wanted to gather it all into one place. So far this little Walkman has proved to be very efficient. It's easy to navigate and transferring music to it is fairly straightforward. But, you do have to work out how to get your music from iTunes, Amazon, cd transfer into the walkman as once you've downloaded music from various sources, they tend to appear in either Documents or Downloads where you can then drag and drop. Anyway, I love it, but I did pay £180 which I think is a little expensive to be honest.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nifty device

16GB 05/30/2020 by SuNW

Small and very portable way of storing all my music (CD) collection in a way I could easily access and able to Bluetooth connect to my car music system. 256GB memory card used, lots of space still to add more content.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good player - but frustrating PC software & set-up

16GB 05/16/2020 by MelleMel

Good player - now I've finally managed to get it set up. I find the Music Centre software frustrating / annoying - perhaps I'm comparing it with the simplicity & logic of using iTunes & iPod which I've progressed from. Tip: Read all of the online help first. And then read it all again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Fantastic

16GB 05/11/2020 by Amnesia

My new Walkman NW-A55L. Build quality, looks, feel, ease of use, player features and sound are all exceptional. Having replaced my Walkman NWZ-A818 which has served me for many years, my expectations were very high and as usual Sony have not let me. Many thanks John W.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Ok but some Bluetooth issues

16GB 05/08/2020 by JohnR567

Struggled to connect to my vehicle media player via Bluetooth. Instructions should be made clearer to aid this. Also my Bluetooth headphones (not Sony) seemingly get a weak signal from the Walkman so can get distorted sound when outside. I don't get this issue with the headphones when paired to my Samsung phone. But managed to transfer all my mp3 files over easily enough but again disappointed to see a lot of the 16Gb memory is taken up by internal software leaving me just around 9 - 10 Gb for music.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Excellent sound & build quality.

16GB 05/01/2020 by Freddie7

This little player is an excellent all-rounder. The sound quality is amazing for this price bracket. The build quality is also great. The screen navigation is pretty simple & easy to use. Bluetooth connection is instant & extremely stable. Ultra portable. All in all, I don't think you'll find a better "budget" MP3 than this little Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

4th Walkman mp3 player

16GB 04/27/2020 by Bombtruck

My 4th, this is my first touchscreen version so I had no difficulty adapting as it looks the same as the tactile versions. As usual, sound quality is the best on the market. I like the return of a decent FULL volume, previous player was physically limited. I'm not seeing/hearing the price difference between this and the tactile versions. But I've only had it one day!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Walkman

16GB 04/25/2020 by Tabbist36

A beautiful, well crafted and modern take on a pop culture icon. I love it. Price is sensible and much more affordable than sum of the more extravagant offerings. Really delighted with the Walkman A55.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great sound

16GB 04/22/2020 by jjjg

Bought as a replacement for old Sony walkman two weeks ago, thrilled with updated easy to use controls.Much lighter to carry, bluetooth addition excellent feature for gym use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Doesn't connect to stereo

16GB 04/20/2020 by star100280

not impressed so far as intermittent sound when connect to stereo, still awaiting my buds so hope these connect properly otherwise will be a waste of.money

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Everything I hoped and more.

16GB 04/15/2020 by Tandemar57

As a constant pedestrian and avid music lover this was one of the best purchases I have made. It ticks every box, the sound is amazing, the functions easy, even for a dunce like myself. I cannot recommend this little beauty enough!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

MP3

16GB 04/07/2020 by mojo46

Had this for almost a month now. Nice build and solid feel. Good sound and volume. I still find adding music much more difficult than it needs to be. My last player was an iPod and transferring music was much simpler.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Mp3 player sony

16GB 03/16/2020 by Mern

Bought it to listen to music on holiday good player and nice sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sounds Good

16GB 03/04/2020 by Seamansam the fourth

Great sound and tone. Great with earbuds or headphones whilst out and about. Clear audio is fantastic and it organises tracks for different times of the day and evening in a sort of playlist. Absolutely delighted with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0