11

4.7 based on 11 customer reviews

8
3
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12 Customer Reviews

0

great sound

NW-WM1A 10/09/2019 by freddie ace

just got it and i am very happy with it, it does what it says on the box

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful Sound Signature

NW-WM1A 07/25/2019 by PreguntoZombi

I bought the WM1A after spending some time with the ZX300. I’m glad I decided to spend the extra on the WM1A as the sound signature is absolutely perfect to my ears. The Sony ‘house sound‘ is something I’ve always enjoyed but I felt there was something just a little ‘off’ with the ZX300. Nothing bad, but just felt a little bit too thick for me. This is probably because I like to use DD hybrid earphones. The WM1A is a lot more neutral in its signature which, to me, allows for synergy with a greater variety of earphones/headphones. This DAP with be a keeper for me and would only ever replaced with another Sony device somewhere down the line.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent sound for an upmarket player

NW-WM1A 01/19/2019 by Nishy

As a very seasoned music lover and user of top end DAPs (Hifiman 901s being a direct comparator), I took a chance on Sony's WM1A (and also bough Questyle QP2R at the same time). I am delighted with the Sony for its excellent sound (-I much prefer it to A&K models I tried out), very easy and clear functionality (-having got used to absolutely no frills in the superb HM901s, the Sony gives you Bluetooth pairing and various sound options which are quite adequate for me and work as described), and enjoy unexpectedly good battery power (-having been used to swappable batteries for long air trips). The build quality is excellent, it feels heavy (-much lighter than the coveted gold model I would have instantly bought after trying but for the price!) and the touch screen (-after the updates) works perfectly fine...no lags in my 300GB + of jazz albums (600+ albums) in flac/a few in DSD. The OS handles everything without burden, a previous concern. The only irritant is a) it comes with no cover, b) more important the 4.4 balanced output is a pain as one has to match my JH Audio 13R2 Pro (recommended for quality sound) with new plugs etc. and I wish Sony had a more compatible socket or gave some suitable accessories with the player, c) no dock to my advanced amps...so only plain lineout from 3.5mm headphone socket seems possible - big flaw for me as I want to use it also plugged into my extremely expensive headphone amp. The Sony has a wider soundstage to my faithful HM901s which has gorgeous sound but is much less practical than the Sony. All in all, thoroughly satisfied with with 1A as a dedicated portable and hope Sony will keep up with software updates and occasional decent new models. Five stars also (unlike with other manufacturers including Chinese) for the UK Customer Service from Sony - they actually respond professionally to my query, thank you in a marketplace of thousands of MP3/DAP players.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Super happy with the WM1A!

NW-WM1A 01/17/2019 by Amused

Before buying the WM1A I had the Questyle QP2R which I bought bundled with the Focal Utopia headphones. While the QP2R excelled in technicalities and speed, I found its sound signature to be overly aggressive for the dynamic Utopia. So I decided to sell it and get the WM1A instead. Apart from being better built and with a much nicer user interface (including touchscreen), the Sony is extremely musical (something the QP2R lacks) and its bass is simply superb to any other DAP offering I have heard thus far. The soundstage is wide and airy, even through the overall signature is on the warm side. Acting as a server to the Sony TA-ZH1ES headphone amp/DAC (through the Sony BCR-NWH10 doscking station and Lush^2 USB cable), I am in sonic paradise. Just waiting for the Kimer Axios Cu balanced headphone cable to arrive, and then I will have a complete package for many years to come.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Fantastic walkman

NW-WM1A 10/27/2018 by Tonybalony

Sounds absolutely superb, however the software to manage the files on your PC is still sub-par and requires a lot of improvement. iTunes it ain't.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Sound

NW-WM1A 09/13/2018 by MSR HANTS

I've had the WM1A for a few months now. Physically it is well crafted, very robust, and in my opinion a beautiful HiRes DAP. The external buttons are well placed and the hold button (to disengage functions) is simple and well positioned. There are two gorgeous gold jack sockets one for standard 3.5mm and a 4.4mm for balanced cable. To get the most out of the WM1A it is recommended to invest in a balanced cable. The touch screen works fine perhaps lacking a little fluidity when scrolling but I don't find it an issue. There are a number of sound settings. The only disappointment with this device is the 'Gain' limiter incorporated in European version. This prevents the device from being used with some high end headphones (for me Sennheiser HD 800). The Direct Source setting for HiRes music requires IEMs such as Westone W60 to be played at volume between 70-110 with the standard jack but is improved slightly with balanced. To boost sound I use a personal setting with the equaliser. Overall once personal sound settings are set the quality of music is astounding. Well balanced bass, mids and highs, a wide sound stage and excellent clarity/detail. The reproduction for both modern and classical music is very impressive. Apart from the sound 'Gain' issue I am very pleased with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

bedt Sound & build quality, usability needs work

NW-WM1A 07/11/2018 by dajw

This is an absolutely fantastic music player. Everything from the build quality of the unit through to the minimal user interface. The sound quality is exemplary-I listen on some balanced 5 driver custom IEMs and literally everything sounds better through this player. It has a slightly more bass forward profile than other devices I’ve listened to but I like that. I like that the Bluetooth features can be toggled. It works well with an Astell & Kern XB10 for wireless listening. What could be improved? I wish there was a way to suggest improvements to the UI. The ability to group music in compilations separately from the main categories would be good (like iTunes does). Right now any compilations just clutter up the artist view with hundreds of entries I just don’t need. In this regard, iTunes is better. I believe this is available in the metatata so should be an easy feature to add. I would like to improve the Podcast genre - e.g. controls for skip/go back 15s, remember position, mark as played, speed up etc. The startup time is a little slow. The Mac ‘Content Transfer’ app is very basic

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound waves !!

NW-WM1A 05/17/2017 by bombay welshman

Purchased over a month ago and generally very happy with the product. The instruction leaflet is very clear, (mainly illustrations). Probably better suited for child or female fingers rather than male, as control buttons are very close together. Sound at max is not very loud when swimming but otherwise very good. Overall, I'm quite happy that it does what it said it would do!!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

26

0

Just enjoy the music!

NW-WM1A 03/30/2017 by Lingjie

There are of course products with better sound in the market. But to me at this price range WM1A is the best choice, taking UI, design & battery life into consideration as well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

0

0

Great Sound & Features

NW-WM1A 02/27/2017

There are good things about the 1A Walkman and a few bad. First the good. Great sounds and packed with features. A balanced connection. Well constructed. A screen that doesn't smudge. The bad. Well the worst for me is that the UK model has the high gain setting removed. Over ear headphones need a high gain setting to power them or you end up turning it up full for a normal sound level. I have faith that Sony will give us a Firmware update soon to reinstate it. No problem. The other is the 4.4mm balanced cable. I have a pair of Sony Z7 headphones with a 3.5mm dual balanced cable. Sony should give all registered Z7 owners a cable upgrade for free. I managed to get a 4.4mm adapter cable from Moon Audio for it. I had previously gotten a balanced Silver Dragon V3 for it. The Sony OS is good. Some of the settings could be more better explained. Like the Type A and B DC Phase Linearizer. What's different about them. When you use the balanced connection you get DSD which is great. We just need Sony to reinstate the high gain setting and give registered Z7 owners a 4.4mm balanced cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

50

3

0

Superb build, great sound - I'm delighted!

NW-WM1A 02/02/2017 by Lemieux66

I bought the NW-WM1A a few weeks ago and am delighted with it overall. Firstly, the build quality is exceptional - no visible screws, just high grade brushed metal and solid buttons with an excellent non-marking touchscreen. The leather back stops slippage on surfaces but is obviously not a good choice for vegetations. Synthetic leather would've been a better choice there. I'm not good with computers so was relieved to find the bundled Media Go software was genuinely easy to use. I've imported CDs, downloaded tracks from Hi-Res music stores and MP3s from Bandcamp too and it was all very simple to do. The User Interface is not as snappy as my iPhone 6+ but it has a certain charm in being unrushed! The options are intuitively laid-out and you have a choice during playback of Album cover art, spectrum analyser or analogue level meters. The EQ and other sound-enhancement options are comprehensive and effective. The ability to play so many file formats is great - even DSD downloads work faultlessly and an SD card slot really cokes in handy with these big files. The sound via the 3.5mm output driving my B&O H6 is the best I've ever heard them. I usually think headphones make the biggest difference to sound quality but here the WM1A delivers a definite boost. I suspect the amplifier quality has a lot to do with this. The music is big and precise, with good deep bass and uncoloured midrange for vocals. The highs seem to be perfectly balanced too. I've not yet been able to try the new Balanced 4.4mm output which promises more power output. I have a pair of Audeze LCD-3 here which should benefit from Balanced drive once I get the necesssry cable. Having said that the LCD-3 still sound great with the 3.5mm output. Complaints? Not many and mainly focused on accessories I'd like to see for the WM1A: There's no docking cradle available in the UK. The BCR-NWH10 works great but is available in Japan only. The digital output cable WMP-NWM10 is also deprived from UK customers. I'd really like to see these accessories released outside Japan to make the most of the WM1A. Also, as the new 4.4mm connector becomes more common, hopefully more Sony headphones and In Ear Monitors will be available with this connector. The range is currently only two models plus after-market cables which, again, are kept from UK customers. Hopefully it's just a matter of time for Sony to deliver here. So overall I'm very pleased with the WM1A. It's my first taste of true high-end portable music players and it does everything I want whilst sounding great and being of superb build quality. Recommended for people who love great sound and portable luxury. It's a real pleasure to carry around with you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

7

0

Awesome sound

NW-WM1A 01/27/2017 by PT88

Bought this to replace my iPod Classic the difference in sound quality is night and day very easy to transfer my lossless tracks from iTunes to the Wm1a solid quality piece of kit, love it, my Etymotic er4p sounded great connected to my iPod. Connected to the wm1a they sound awesome, problem now is I will have to re rip all my CD,s to lossless to get the full benefit of this fantastic hi res Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

14